Biophilia - Björk
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 140

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this CD. It is among her best work, I think. I was very disappointed with Volta. There are some stunning moments on Biophilia - Virus, Mutual Core, Hollow, Dark Matter. In fact, there is not one song that I dislike or would rather skip. It is a lovely straight through affair. The music is often minimalist but not lacking complexity. She sounds wonderful and in a few songs employs refreshingly, atypical straight-forward vocalization. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    A great record with that deals with unusual subjects and uses innovative instruments. It takes time until you get used to it, but once you discover its beauty, you won't be able to get it out of your head. The songs are either very quiet and laid-back or really loud and aggressive but there are tracks that combine both ('Mutual Core', 'Sacrifice'). Highlights include 'Crystalline', 'Cosmogony', 'Dark Matter', 'Virus' and 'Sacrifice'. A good album overall. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    It might be too early to make an informed judgement, but I'm thoroughly enjoying this record so far. Both more minimal and more intricate than Volta, it's more of a combination of the best bits of Homogenic and Vespertine - no bad thing, as far as I'm concerned. Virus is particularly beautiful. Best of all, Bjork doesn't allow her voice to be consumed by the instrumentation. Her vocals are still the main instrument, and they sound better than ever. The mutations that she goes through on Mutual Core are stunning. There is nobody quite like her in the music world, for which we should give thanks. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    This CD feels like Bjork reached a perfect balance between her more intimate musical discovery that was "Vespertine" and the more robust sonic experiments that were "Medulla" and "Volta". It's unlike anything else and simultaneously very much like her own universe. Beautiful and rewarding upon multiple listens.
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    You never really know what to expect from a Björk album except to be challenged and almost forced to break out of your musical paradigms. Biophilia is no exception, leading a journey through the cosmos, the tectonic plates or even human DNA, this album has it all and is another welcome turn in her career. A new era where Björk shows herself as interesting, admirable and seductive as always. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    While at first this album may seem to be disconnected; listen closer...the music becomes both familiar and unique. Bjork has done a great job of finding uncommon moments in a song to connect on a broader scale. On a personal level i was worried it would be just as disjointed sat volta...however it seems to find its own grounding. While not as beautiful as Vespertine or as mysterious as Medulla; it stands alone in a body of work with a formidable future. Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    The opening "Moon" enchants with minimalistic, hypnotic composition and passionate vocal. Thunderbolt brings dark mood and exciting combination of choir, organ and electric discharges. Cosmogony with Bjork pure voice and spacy musical background is another highlight. Virus charms with beautiful gameleste. Mutual Core surprises with energetic techno parts. Solstice calms down and leads the album to the end. It must be written Biophilia is demanding record, not for an average listener. It's really far step from joyful Debut. With its dark mood and ambitious concept Biophilia is mostly similar to equally beautiful Medulla. One of her best albums. Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    If "Volta" is Bjork's failed experiment, then surely "Biophilia" is her warm reassurance that she's still the master of modern music. It's everything good art should be: innovative, endlessly creative, probing, daring, and completely in the control of the artist (no matter how out-of-control it sometimes may seem). I am thrilled and pleased to report to anyone who will heed that this is the single greatest record I've ever heard. It's masterful, gorgeous, and the logical progression of fire from "Volta's" ashes. A flat-out masterpiece. Expand
  10. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    One of Bjork's best records, and my favorite since Vespertine. It in no way approaches the accessibility of Homogenic, actually it surpasses both in complexity and depth all of her previous work. The music theory work behind the album's structure is beyond innovative. Her sometimes-gabber, sometimes-early-dubstep styled IDM breakdowns spaced between verses of her poetic cooing add a significant element in complementing the structure... The chaotic instrumentals throughout the album are where it shines, truly. Absolutely ambitious and abstract. In my top five picks for the year's best, so far. Expand
  11. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    Biophilia is wonderful. I have never heard Bjork's voice sounding better. Only Vespertine can rival it for her greatest work. The space, the power, the wonder - this is reaching, ambitious music. Bjork's writing is often contradictory - almost impossible sometimes - but how she has managed to produce something as simultaneously close and expansive as Biophilia astounds me. I didn't really enjoy a lot of Medulla or Volta, but for me at least, Bjork is back to her absolute best. Beautiful. Expand
  12. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    If this isn't her best album, it is damn close. Undoubtedly, another classic that will be remembered. The real innovation here is the extremely detailed compositions - especially in terms of how she musically paints a picture of what she is saying in each song. She creates so many layers of meaning, and says so much about the human condition, while delivering gorgeous music. On an academic level, this album can (and probably will be) written about. A trained musical theorist would have much to analyze and discover. This album really blurs the line between classical music and popular music, and because of that, pushes the state of popular music forward into new realms. Those who have less of an academic understanding of music may not enjoy this album as much as others, but this suggests that the average listener should inform themselves more about music. Expand
  13. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Biophilia is unlike anything released this year. It's a brilliant conceptual art piece that is extremely brave in a music scene that obsesses over quick hooks. She truly pushes herself this time and experiments with time signatures tat are strange and foreign. At point she seems to sing against the music and it's less melodic but the songs contained really let you explore each layer. It combines elements from all her past works while using a concept leagues ahead of the things shes done before. She's truly captured natures wonders Expand
  14. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    What a tortured musical landscape it is this year. People have been unduly harsh to any albums that take work, and this one is no exception. This is easily her best album since Medulla, and in some ways is on par with it. It's entirely original and exciting, which in and of itself should be enough. But more than that, it gives you an experience, and a pleasant, deep one at that. 9.5/10.
  15. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Transmutating proteins. Internal nebula. The Atlantic Ridge drifting. The new, eighth studio album by Björk sounds like an ultimate science geek feast. Indeed it is as it comes with a series of apps to be played on your iPad that bring together knowledge and fun. Musically, Biophilia is a sister of Björkâ
  16. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    At the first word of the ambitious goals of the Biophilia project, I wasn't expecting much more than a batch of non-songs stretched to fit an uneasy concept, particularly in light of the focus placed on the app element of the project. Fortunately it's much, much more than that - it seems to take the best aspects of Homogenic and Vespertine, her two strongest albums. Maybe not 'album of the year' (Tom Waits' album has yet to come out) but definitely one of Björk's most accomplished works. Expand
  17. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    I think that, in every single CD, Björk changes her style. II think Biophilia is not her best work, but at least, is better than Volta. I also enjoy the "plot" of the songs; Dark Matter, it seem that Bjork wants you to think of all that dark unexplored depths of space; Cosmogony, Björk wants you to think about the origin of the Universe... every single song has a "plot". And the music style is different than in other record , she has never done something like Hollow or Mutual Core... Expand
  18. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    an album for those who have not remained stuck years ago. A record that requires concentration and has interesting points about the relationship between man, nature, biology and human emotions
  19. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This album is not the better but this is album is amazing too. After Bjork only Radiohead with ok computer, but id like this album becouse is new e solid.
  20. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba.
  21. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    This album is one of Bjork's best. Articulate, mesmerizing, as well as challenging; the Icelandic singer "gave it all". Obvious standouts include Virus and Mutual Core, but given time, Hollow and Dark Matter's charm will shine through. With more songs to be written into the project, we can expect more little gems to come. 10/10
  22. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Bjork's venture into even more experimental styles has been her greatest, in my eyes. I'm not her biggest fan, mostly because I didn't particularly enjoy her music, except the ones that became very popular, of course. I don't remember how I came across Biophilia, but I was first introduced to Mutual Core, which remains my favorite. It's originally calm tone escalates into an electro crescendo which you could class as IDM, drum n' bass e.t.c although I prefer to coin gabba. Some of the other songs also follows a similar set-up. A more calm basis that changes throughout the song, such as Crystalline, which has a drum n' bass finale. The lyrical content of the songs may be considered quite strange. Virus talks about, well, Viruses and similar things. Mutual Core about tectonic plates. Cosmogony about celestial bodies. I adore her for this. Most musicians now a day follow lyrics of love or hardship, while she completely departs this.
    I think her experimental side has really done well here. The album is an eclectic mix of music that is presenting in an unusual way, adding to the intrigue. The lyrical contents also add to the albums curiosity, where complex ideas are deconstructed in song.
    Expand
  23. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    This is definitively one of the best albums of 2.011, the concept of what Björk did on this album is just a proof of musicians still can be creative and get mature while the process. There is no other artist that stay faithful to its artistic instincts like Björk does. Great album, easily enjoyable.
  24. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    There are always great moments I go through when listening to Bjork's work; although I enjoy her music even more when I watch her videos, make me go through the perfect musical/artistic experience. Frankly I love ALL her albums and for me I think that she has been consistent, each album gives you a different feeling, Volta was amazing! Wanderlust and Dull Flame of Desire were mesmerizing! Biophilia is another wonderful project, I LOVE itâ Expand
  25. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    A great return for one of the greatest artists of the last 20 years! The concept is good and the songs are well done (except "Solstice" and "Crystaline", which seem to be B-Sids of "Vespertine"). Gaga, Britney and all the others sh***y pop singers: learn from her, not from Madonna, who made only one good album ("Ray of Light") and can't even sing!
  26. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights are Crystalline and Mutual Core, in my opinion.
    Björk is a stunning music icon who is still at the top of her game after decades in the Music industry.
  27. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Uno de los mejores albums de Bjork en mi opinion , Para mi esta al nivel de Homogenic y vespertine que sin duda son uno de los mejores discos de su carrera
  28. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    A great album from a great artist that takes time to get in to, but once you do you will love it.The songs are experimental with fascinating instruments and of course Björk's wonderful voice.My favourite tracks are Crystalline and Sacrifice.I hope to see Björk one day and thank her for her original innovative unique music and voice.9.5/10.
  29. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Bjork's Biophilia feels like an experiment. With minimalism and metaphor abound, Bjork crafts an intricate collection of tracks that challenge traditional musical concepts, while still feeling organic. Not as intimate as Vespertine, or as beautifully idealistic as Medulla, but Biophilia is its own. Like nature itself, Biophilia does what it feels to be right. Songs seem to flow randomly and freely, like water rushing to fill in gaps in the rocks. Bjork's vocals are side by side the instrumentals in this Album, meshing the human element with non-human.

    It's not traditional, and sometimes it can be difficult to listen easily to, but there's no denying Bjork has crafted something truly unique. Biophilia feels natural, as if it were crafted and formed through the natural geological processes that shaped the earth. Like nature itself, Biophilia is random, intricate, and beautiful.
    Expand
  30. Dec 17, 2012
    9
    Whilst certainly better than the disaster of Volta, Biophilia is just too sparse and without a soaring voice to glide through the strange instruments sonically embellished by an artist who has conceived the project first and the actual melody as an afterthought. Disappointing to say the least.

    UPDATE After a year since its release I have began to fully appreciate what Bjork was
    attempting here, and whilst I still contend that the middle group of tracks bog this album down the book ends of this project are amongst Bjorks best work post-Vespertine. Expand
  31. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    Biophilia is a great album. Not one of Bjork's greatest releases, but it's amazing. Electronic music lovers will definitely like it.
  32. May 12, 2013
    10
    Hypnotic and wonderful. All the effort shows how Bjork is growing and trying to make different things. I love how she compared the "true biophilia" with casual things.
  33. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    An absolute grower. At first Björk seems a little bit sparse here, but the pounding electronic instruments and the incredible choral arrangements evoke the forces of nature with brutal strength. Well-balanced between quieter, moving tracks (Moon, Cosmogony, Virus and Solstice), darker songs (Thunderbolt, Dark Matter, Hollow, Sacrifice, Mutual Core) and the bright, direct Björk we know (Crystalline and bonus-track Náttúra). Björks lyrics have never been more ambitious and, once you listen to them multiple times, never have hit home harder. Here's an all-new galaxy of stupendous creativity and unbelievable power. Expand
  34. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    When you are used to listen really... "easy" songs, commom and weak, Biophilia can sounds different in fact. Not too much if you use to listen Björk. This album is really (really, really, really, really) complex. I have listened it too much times and finally I can get the missing melodies and different instruments - that is exactly what makes Biophilia one of the bests.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 90
    Biophilia is an excellent addition to her glorious discography.
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    Biophilia is a delicate and highly tactile treat, a unique gem of innovation (pipe organs driven by computers, the mallet-tickled gameleste) and gentle real soul whose breathy endearing heights Bjork hasn't touched in a minute.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    Despite some flaws in its execution, Biophilia does succeed in pushing beyond the already established album-singles-videos model, and the creation of a digital experience to compliment the music feels like a natural progression in the way that music is packaged and consumed.