Biophilia

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Oct 11, 2011
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 229 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 229
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    This is not one of Bjork's better efforts. Vespertine,Homogenic,even Medulla are
    far superior.I tried to like it and there are some songs that are interesting but
    I just cannot get into it.

    I really like Bjork alot but it seems her best work is sadly behind her.
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    5
    It took Bjork over four years to finish this, but frankly I have no idea what was she doing all that time. "Biophilia" is better than the 2007 disaster called "Volta", but the album feels strangely empty and unpolished. There are some great ideas here and moments of beauty, yet the CD as a whole is not as engaging as her best stuff - Homogenic, Vespertine and Medulla. And I really have aIt took Bjork over four years to finish this, but frankly I have no idea what was she doing all that time. "Biophilia" is better than the 2007 disaster called "Volta", but the album feels strangely empty and unpolished. There are some great ideas here and moments of beauty, yet the CD as a whole is not as engaging as her best stuff - Homogenic, Vespertine and Medulla. And I really have a feeling that Bjork cares more about being weird and avant garde than making good music. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2015
    6
    I don't think I've ever been so massively disappointed by an album the way I was with this one and I am probably Bjork's #1 fan. Someone once told me that it'd grow on me but it hasn't to the extent that I actually like it. Crystalline, Cosmogony, Virus, Mutual Core and Solstice are the only likeable tracks imo, I just absolutely cannot fathom how this album has 10/10 reviews. Virus isI don't think I've ever been so massively disappointed by an album the way I was with this one and I am probably Bjork's #1 fan. Someone once told me that it'd grow on me but it hasn't to the extent that I actually like it. Crystalline, Cosmogony, Virus, Mutual Core and Solstice are the only likeable tracks imo, I just absolutely cannot fathom how this album has 10/10 reviews. Virus is probably the best song on the album. I just get such a hollow feeling from listening to this material as a whole. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    I feel like Biophilia is going to be somewhat of a marmite album, like Volta and Medulla before it. I can see why people could like it, or even love it, but for me it doesn't capture the essence of what I personally enjoy about Bjork's music. Perhaps the cosmological concept of the album doesn't lend itself well to Bjork's usual trademark intimacy, as I feel like the songs come across asI feel like Biophilia is going to be somewhat of a marmite album, like Volta and Medulla before it. I can see why people could like it, or even love it, but for me it doesn't capture the essence of what I personally enjoy about Bjork's music. Perhaps the cosmological concept of the album doesn't lend itself well to Bjork's usual trademark intimacy, as I feel like the songs come across as being sterile and unmoving -- with the enthralling 'Virus' being one of the few exceptions to that.

    That's not to say that I don't think it's a well crafted album. In fact I feel like I have a decent grasp of what Bjork was trying to accomplish conceptually, and the mood is very unique. Personally? It does very little for me, and each listen leaves me wanting something more focused and substantial than what Biophilia offers.
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2011
    4
    One of the weakest of Bjork career, "Biophilia" is very ambitious, yet musically it sounds flat and boring. Her vocals are nothing special as well, she screams in stead of singing. This is not the Bjork I was waiting for all those years.
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    OMG, another hardboiled album from Bjork. What has she got against playful tunes and proper rhythms? Does she take a strange pleasure in making records that sound like an orchestra of alliens playing Chopin on the laser pendulum harps? I just don't get this.
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    Well, after volta almost anything would be welcomed as a good album, but biophilia is just mediocre, a cd that doesnt leave anything lingering with the listener after the end of the last song.
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    5
    This Bjork I dont like. It better to Volta but not good much. The songs dont sound nice. I want Bjork to sound nice. Please Bjork, make a good record again!
  9. Oct 28, 2011
    4
    It is good to know when to leave the stage while you're still at the top of your fame and the music you make is awesome. Bjork should have quit her career after Medulla. After that album every next record is worse than the previous one. Biophilia is a giant on clay feet - such a spectacular PR, such a bad album. These songs are among the most annoying songs she ever recorded. The lyricsIt is good to know when to leave the stage while you're still at the top of your fame and the music you make is awesome. Bjork should have quit her career after Medulla. After that album every next record is worse than the previous one. Biophilia is a giant on clay feet - such a spectacular PR, such a bad album. These songs are among the most annoying songs she ever recorded. The lyrics are pretentious and the way she sings feels laboured and tired. Even the album cover feels superficial. Bjork, what's wrong with You, girl? Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 90
    Biophilia is an excellent addition to her glorious discography.
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    80
    Biophilia is a delicate and highly tactile treat, a unique gem of innovation (pipe organs driven by computers, the mallet-tickled gameleste) and gentle real soul whose breathy endearing heights Bjork hasn't touched in a minute.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    Despite some flaws in its execution, Biophilia does succeed in pushing beyond the already established album-singles-videos model, and the creation of a digital experience to compliment the music feels like a natural progression in the way that music is packaged and consumed.