• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Biophilia Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 246 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Icelandic actress/singer-songwriter's latest album of experimental music was partially recorded on an iPad.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    100
    Biophilia is one of Bjork's best and most challenging records; it's in a galaxy all its own, one that's not for the faint of heart.
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    90
    This music really doesn't need any window dressing because it's as good a collection of songs as she has put her name to in ten years.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Biophilia the "Bjork album" stands with the best of them.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    It's certainly restless and innovative, but Biophilia never feels like hard work, however much the accompanying bumf tries to convince you it is.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    From the ashes of Volta, an album that occasionally felt like a career-killer, has come an album of startling beauty, furious invention, and inviting, warm atmosphere.
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    75
    At the heart of it though, we're still left with what's Björk's been doing for most her whole life: music.
  7. 40
    The only reliably engaging elements of the compositions are the wonderful choral arrangements that provide most of the mortar connecting Björk's voice to the instrumental parts.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 73
  2. Negative: 8 out of 73
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    At the first word of the ambitious goals of the Biophilia project, I wasn't expecting much more than a batch of non-songs stretched to fit anAt the first word of the ambitious goals of the Biophilia project, I wasn't expecting much more than a batch of non-songs stretched to fit an uneasy concept, particularly in light of the focus placed on the app element of the project. Fortunately it's much, much more than that - it seems to take the best aspects of Homogenic and Vespertine, her two strongest albums. Maybe not 'album of the year' (Tom Waits' album has yet to come out) but definitely one of Björk's most accomplished works. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    You never really know what to expect from a Björk album except to be challenged and almost forced to break out of your musicalYou never really know what to expect from a Björk album except to be challenged and almost forced to break out of your musical paradigms. Biophilia is no exception, leading a journey through the cosmos, the tectonic plates or even human DNA, this album has it all and is another welcome turn in her career. A new era where Björk shows herself as interesting, admirable and seductive as always. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after someThis is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights areI love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights are Crystalline and Mutual Core, in my opinion.
    Björk is a stunning music icon who is still at the top of her game after decades in the Music industry.
    Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    8
    Bjork's vocals are as great as ever, but some songs felt scattered and incomplete.
    Virus, Hollow and Crystalline are some of the shining
    Bjork's vocals are as great as ever, but some songs felt scattered and incomplete.
    Virus, Hollow and Crystalline are some of the shining examples of Bjork's talents.
    Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2017
    7
    Björk volta mais eletrônica que no Volta (k k k). Agora ela está mais adequada a sonoridade da década de 2010, voltada para o eletrônico, masBjörk volta mais eletrônica que no Volta (k k k). Agora ela está mais adequada a sonoridade da década de 2010, voltada para o eletrônico, mas sem deixar sua essência de lado. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    The f*ck she's think she is doing? I don't know why critics love her so much... she stands for the Japanese culture like she's Japanese orThe f*ck she's think she is doing? I don't know why critics love her so much... she stands for the Japanese culture like she's Japanese or something... I really don't know why of this. Look to my album "Bounty", have so many different meanings but its attend culture as universal, not the exaltation of a single one. You better stop being hypocritical, Björk, just a tip... Expand

See all 73 User Reviews