Biophilia

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Biophilia Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Icelandic actress/singer-songwriter's latest album of experimental music was partially recorded on an iPad.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    100
    Biophilia is one of Bjork's best and most challenging records; it's in a galaxy all its own, one that's not for the faint of heart.
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    90
    This music really doesn't need any window dressing because it's as good a collection of songs as she has put her name to in ten years.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Biophilia the "Bjork album" stands with the best of them.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    It's certainly restless and innovative, but Biophilia never feels like hard work, however much the accompanying bumf tries to convince you it is.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    From the ashes of Volta, an album that occasionally felt like a career-killer, has come an album of startling beauty, furious invention, and inviting, warm atmosphere.
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    75
    At the heart of it though, we're still left with what's Björk's been doing for most her whole life: music.
  7. 40
    The only reliably engaging elements of the compositions are the wonderful choral arrangements that provide most of the mortar connecting Björk's voice to the instrumental parts.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    Biophilia is wonderful. I have never heard Bjork's voice sounding better. Only Vespertine can rival it for her greatest work. The space, theBiophilia is wonderful. I have never heard Bjork's voice sounding better. Only Vespertine can rival it for her greatest work. The space, the power, the wonder - this is reaching, ambitious music. Bjork's writing is often contradictory - almost impossible sometimes - but how she has managed to produce something as simultaneously close and expansive as Biophilia astounds me. I didn't really enjoy a lot of Medulla or Volta, but for me at least, Bjork is back to her absolute best. Beautiful. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    While at first this album may seem to be disconnected; listen closer...the music becomes both familiar and unique. Bjork has done a great jobWhile at first this album may seem to be disconnected; listen closer...the music becomes both familiar and unique. Bjork has done a great job of finding uncommon moments in a song to connect on a broader scale. On a personal level i was worried it would be just as disjointed sat volta...however it seems to find its own grounding. While not as beautiful as Vespertine or as mysterious as Medulla; it stands alone in a body of work with a formidable future. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after someThis is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    It might be too early to make an informed judgement, but I'm thoroughly enjoying this record so far. Both more minimal and more intricate thanIt might be too early to make an informed judgement, but I'm thoroughly enjoying this record so far. Both more minimal and more intricate than Volta, it's more of a combination of the best bits of Homogenic and Vespertine - no bad thing, as far as I'm concerned. Virus is particularly beautiful. Best of all, Bjork doesn't allow her voice to be consumed by the instrumentation. Her vocals are still the main instrument, and they sound better than ever. The mutations that she goes through on Mutual Core are stunning. There is nobody quite like her in the music world, for which we should give thanks. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    One of her best albums. Cosmogony is like a big bang; Virus is so beautiful, one of the songs of my life; Crystalline is encouraging, butOne of her best albums. Cosmogony is like a big bang; Virus is so beautiful, one of the songs of my life; Crystalline is encouraging, but Hollow and Dark Matter are terrible. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    Björk proves that ambition and effort, rather than competition and recognition, will find way to its destination, especially onBjörk proves that ambition and effort, rather than competition and recognition, will find way to its destination, especially on her most recent catalogue of ten science-concept tracks. If you're deep into science, you will appreciate this masterpiece. If you can't get into complex arrangements or orchestrations, then this isn't for you. Biophilia isn't an easy listen; in fact it's quite challenging so to fully get it, you have to listen several times. In my personal opinion, it's Björk's worst and slightly dull completion (so I rate between an 8.0-8.5) only because I can't relate or somehow connect to science much but it's an interesting topic that requires patience and critical thinking. Maybe, it will grow on me more sooner or later. However, I find Biophilia to be one of Björk's strongest, respected, and highly innovative works but also Medúlla and Homogenic too. Almost no other artist can reach this level unlike how Björk and others do. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    The f*ck she's think she is doing? I don't know why critics love her so much... she stands for the Japanese culture like she's Japanese orThe f*ck she's think she is doing? I don't know why critics love her so much... she stands for the Japanese culture like she's Japanese or something... I really don't know why of this. Look to my album "Bounty", have so many different meanings but its attend culture as universal, not the exaltation of a single one. You better stop being hypocritical, Björk, just a tip... Expand

See all 71 User Reviews