• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Biophilia Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Icelandic actress/singer-songwriter's latest album of experimental music was partially recorded on an iPad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    100
    Biophilia is one of Bjork's best and most challenging records; it's in a galaxy all its own, one that's not for the faint of heart.
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    90
    This music really doesn't need any window dressing because it's as good a collection of songs as she has put her name to in ten years.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Biophilia the "Bjork album" stands with the best of them.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    It's certainly restless and innovative, but Biophilia never feels like hard work, however much the accompanying bumf tries to convince you it is.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    From the ashes of Volta, an album that occasionally felt like a career-killer, has come an album of startling beauty, furious invention, and inviting, warm atmosphere.
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    75
    At the heart of it though, we're still left with what's Björk's been doing for most her whole life: music.
  7. 40
    The only reliably engaging elements of the compositions are the wonderful choral arrangements that provide most of the mortar connecting Björk's voice to the instrumental parts.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 64
  2. Negative: 7 out of 64
  1. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    Biophilia is wonderful. I have never heard Bjork's voice sounding better. Only Vespertine can rival it for her greatest work. The space, theBiophilia is wonderful. I have never heard Bjork's voice sounding better. Only Vespertine can rival it for her greatest work. The space, the power, the wonder - this is reaching, ambitious music. Bjork's writing is often contradictory - almost impossible sometimes - but how she has managed to produce something as simultaneously close and expansive as Biophilia astounds me. I didn't really enjoy a lot of Medulla or Volta, but for me at least, Bjork is back to her absolute best. Beautiful. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    While at first this album may seem to be disconnected; listen closer...the music becomes both familiar and unique. Bjork has done a great jobWhile at first this album may seem to be disconnected; listen closer...the music becomes both familiar and unique. Bjork has done a great job of finding uncommon moments in a song to connect on a broader scale. On a personal level i was worried it would be just as disjointed sat volta...however it seems to find its own grounding. While not as beautiful as Vespertine or as mysterious as Medulla; it stands alone in a body of work with a formidable future. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after someThis is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    It might be too early to make an informed judgement, but I'm thoroughly enjoying this record so far. Both more minimal and more intricate thanIt might be too early to make an informed judgement, but I'm thoroughly enjoying this record so far. Both more minimal and more intricate than Volta, it's more of a combination of the best bits of Homogenic and Vespertine - no bad thing, as far as I'm concerned. Virus is particularly beautiful. Best of all, Bjork doesn't allow her voice to be consumed by the instrumentation. Her vocals are still the main instrument, and they sound better than ever. The mutations that she goes through on Mutual Core are stunning. There is nobody quite like her in the music world, for which we should give thanks. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    A strong album, still containing the rangy and sometimes rough, discordant sounds of Volta and the Drawing Restraint 9 soundtrack whileA strong album, still containing the rangy and sometimes rough, discordant sounds of Volta and the Drawing Restraint 9 soundtrack while managing to bring in some of the organic smoothness that made Medulla such a pleasure. In my opinion Bjork's sound is still a little too rough--the songs have been so opened up, and the melodies pushed so far back, that it occasionally comes across as sung poetry. Which isn't the worst thing, for although her lyrics have never been her strongest point. Bjork has always had a masterful flair for delivery that makes most of her head-scratching, primal lyrics convincing. And all this blistering roughness-- from the somehow industrial and volcanic Mutual Core and Thunderbolt--makes the moments when she swings back towards melody, like the cooing vocals towards the end of Moon, like refreshing aloe vera on a skinned knee. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Es mentira que volverá a sacar algo como Debut (1993) o Post (1995), hay que acostumbrarse (y aplaudir) al sonido que haEs mentira que volverá a sacar algo como Debut (1993) o Post (1995), hay que acostumbrarse (y aplaudir) al sonido que ha trabajado en estos últimos años, cada vez más profundo y experimental. Algunos dicen que se le va la mano con tanto experimento, podría ser cierto, pero a ella pocas cosas le salen mal. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    The f*ck she's think she is doing? I don't know why critics love her so much... she stands for the Japanese culture like she's Japanese orThe f*ck she's think she is doing? I don't know why critics love her so much... she stands for the Japanese culture like she's Japanese or something... I really don't know why of this. Look to my album "Bounty", have so many different meanings but its attend culture as universal, not the exaltation of a single one. You better stop being hypocritical, Björk, just a tip... Expand

See all 64 User Reviews