Biophilia - Björk
Biophilia Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Icelandic actress/singer-songwriter's latest album of experimental music was partially recorded on an iPad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    100
    Biophilia is one of Bjork's best and most challenging records; it's in a galaxy all its own, one that's not for the faint of heart.
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    90
    This music really doesn't need any window dressing because it's as good a collection of songs as she has put her name to in ten years.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Biophilia the "Bjork album" stands with the best of them.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    It's certainly restless and innovative, but Biophilia never feels like hard work, however much the accompanying bumf tries to convince you it is.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    From the ashes of Volta, an album that occasionally felt like a career-killer, has come an album of startling beauty, furious invention, and inviting, warm atmosphere.
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    75
    At the heart of it though, we're still left with what's Björk's been doing for most her whole life: music.
  7. 40
    The only reliably engaging elements of the compositions are the wonderful choral arrangements that provide most of the mortar connecting Björk's voice to the instrumental parts.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 7 out of 58
  1. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba sumba, sumba,Sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba, sumba. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    While at first this album may seem to be disconnected; listen closer...the music becomes both familiar and unique. Bjork has done a great jobWhile at first this album may seem to be disconnected; listen closer...the music becomes both familiar and unique. Bjork has done a great job of finding uncommon moments in a song to connect on a broader scale. On a personal level i was worried it would be just as disjointed sat volta...however it seems to find its own grounding. While not as beautiful as Vespertine or as mysterious as Medulla; it stands alone in a body of work with a formidable future. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after someThis is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Collapse
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights areI love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights are Crystalline and Mutual Core, in my opinion.
    Björk is a stunning music icon who is still at the top of her game after decades in the Music industry.
    Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    8
    as well as delivering a collection of deeply scientific lyrics, Bjork's Biophilia also has a deeply scientific sound about it. And the thingas well as delivering a collection of deeply scientific lyrics, Bjork's Biophilia also has a deeply scientific sound about it. And the thing that makes this album such a minor treasure, is how, putting aside some of those more boring parts to the start of the album, Biophilia manages to place itself as a rather touching album. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Es mentira que volverá a sacar algo como Debut (1993) o Post (1995), hay que acostumbrarse (y aplaudir) al sonido que haEs mentira que volverá a sacar algo como Debut (1993) o Post (1995), hay que acostumbrarse (y aplaudir) al sonido que ha trabajado en estos últimos años, cada vez más profundo y experimental. Algunos dicen que se le va la mano con tanto experimento, podría ser cierto, pero a ella pocas cosas le salen mal. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    0
    Bjork has always been overrated from her first album up until this current release. I don't understand the hype. Her music is boring and weirdBjork has always been overrated from her first album up until this current release. I don't understand the hype. Her music is boring and weird for weirdness sake. Only hipsters and critics like her. Avoid this garbage. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews