• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Biophilia Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Icelandic actress/singer-songwriter's latest album of experimental music was partially recorded on an iPad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    100
    Biophilia is one of Bjork's best and most challenging records; it's in a galaxy all its own, one that's not for the faint of heart.
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    90
    This music really doesn't need any window dressing because it's as good a collection of songs as she has put her name to in ten years.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    Biophilia the "Bjork album" stands with the best of them.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    80
    It's certainly restless and innovative, but Biophilia never feels like hard work, however much the accompanying bumf tries to convince you it is.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    From the ashes of Volta, an album that occasionally felt like a career-killer, has come an album of startling beauty, furious invention, and inviting, warm atmosphere.
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    75
    At the heart of it though, we're still left with what's Björk's been doing for most her whole life: music.
  7. 40
    The only reliably engaging elements of the compositions are the wonderful choral arrangements that provide most of the mortar connecting Björk's voice to the instrumental parts.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 62
  2. Negative: 7 out of 62
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This album is not the better but this is album is amazing too. After Bjork only Radiohead with ok computer, but id like this album becouse isThis album is not the better but this is album is amazing too. After Bjork only Radiohead with ok computer, but id like this album becouse is new e solid. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Transmutating proteins. Internal nebula. The Atlantic Ridge drifting. The new, eighth studio album by Björk sounds like anTransmutating proteins. Internal nebula. The Atlantic Ridge drifting. The new, eighth studio album by Björk sounds like an ultimate science geek feast. Indeed it is as it comes with a series of apps to be played on your iPad that bring together knowledge and fun. Musically, Biophilia is a sister of Björkâ Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after someThis is an album that will certainly musically challenge you. When I first heard it I thought "what the hell is that?", but after some listening I found the beauty hidden within it. This reminds me of Radiohead's "Kid A", which was so different from it's predecessors that I had a hard time liking it, but then again that is one of my favorite albums of all time. To sum up, don't judge this album when you first heard it, let it speak to you and when it does you will be amazed, no doubt about it. Collapse
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights areI love this album. Biophilia, for me, is almost perfect. To experience it fully, you've got to listen to it as a whole. The highlights are Crystalline and Mutual Core, in my opinion.
    Björk is a stunning music icon who is still at the top of her game after decades in the Music industry.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    A strong album, still containing the rangy and sometimes rough, discordant sounds of Volta and the Drawing Restraint 9 soundtrack whileA strong album, still containing the rangy and sometimes rough, discordant sounds of Volta and the Drawing Restraint 9 soundtrack while managing to bring in some of the organic smoothness that made Medulla such a pleasure. In my opinion Bjork's sound is still a little too rough--the songs have been so opened up, and the melodies pushed so far back, that it occasionally comes across as sung poetry. Which isn't the worst thing, for although her lyrics have never been her strongest point. Bjork has always had a masterful flair for delivery that makes most of her head-scratching, primal lyrics convincing. And all this blistering roughness-- from the somehow industrial and volcanic Mutual Core and Thunderbolt--makes the moments when she swings back towards melody, like the cooing vocals towards the end of Moon, like refreshing aloe vera on a skinned knee. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2014
    7
    It is fascinating and pure magical. Bjork's Biophilia is a different take on contemporary music. Therefore, it might not appeal to everyoneIt is fascinating and pure magical. Bjork's Biophilia is a different take on contemporary music. Therefore, it might not appeal to everyone subsequently there will trolls and haters. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2011
    0
    Bjork has always been overrated from her first album up until this current release. I don't understand the hype. Her music is boring and weirdBjork has always been overrated from her first album up until this current release. I don't understand the hype. Her music is boring and weird for weirdness sake. Only hipsters and critics like her. Avoid this garbage. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews