User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ds
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    The reviewers who gave Prince a bad rating don't understand - they probably on listened to it once. Yeah, with only one listen it seems no up to par w/ RZA's genius cuz there's no club or MTV singles, but, yo, this was the crisp perfection and wisdom i've been waiting for - every track is ill. no joke.
  2. troyw
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    must buy! instinct classic! a taste of the to come.."the cure""!!!
  3. [Anonymous]
    Dec 14, 2003
    10
    Knowledge!!!
  4. ElijahS
    Dec 17, 2003
    8
    This is a definte puzzle piece. The next one will be amazing when he, in his story reaches self lord and mastery. So I overerstand peoples misunderstanding.
  5. marcusb
    Dec 10, 2003
    9
    A great album, mutch slower than the bobby digital records, but still good. His a master producer and rapper. heavy lyrics!
  6. jux
    Jan 16, 2004
    9
    What makes this album so good is that it continues to get better and better with each track. The Rza is still on top of his game, no question. I don't know for everybody else who's into "beg for mercy" please!, of Jay-Z's Wack album oh I mean the black album but the birth of a Prince is something I can relate to in many different ways. Keep on bangin' em Wu
  7. henryj
    Jun 23, 2004
    9
    his style on this album is beautiful. about the first half of it sounds like he tweaked different mainsteam ideas and did them his way. the last half is just sick. all in all i think its his best.
  8. SpikeJ
    Sep 29, 2005
    8
    Ingenius, album. Can't give it a full 10, because he has yet to outdo Enter the 36 Chambers. Rza's flow has matured on this albums and the contributors were perfect for each track.
  9. bmasta
    Mar 23, 2004
    8
    Not the greatest effort put into this album as previous ones go (in stereo & digi bullet) - few tracks really bring out the potential within Rza both lyrically / production wise. Overall Wu Headz - this is one 4 ya shelf... First timers - check previous efforts rather than jumping in at tha deep end. b-masta peace.
  10. Ale?S
    Mar 29, 2004
    8
    there´s one more thing i want to add:last but one song called The Birth is not important only for the coherence with the album title,it is undoubtedly one of the strongest hiphop track ever made.sad as the flight of the pigeon,melancholic like the eye of the moon in deep silent night. really,it reminds me the great soundtrack which rza made for brilliant Jim Jarmusch movie Ghost there´s one more thing i want to add:last but one song called The Birth is not important only for the coherence with the album title,it is undoubtedly one of the strongest hiphop track ever made.sad as the flight of the pigeon,melancholic like the eye of the moon in deep silent night. really,it reminds me the great soundtrack which rza made for brilliant Jim Jarmusch movie Ghost Dog-The Way of the Samurai.Short scream,mood keyboards,great beat,perfect rza´s flow and production-enter to the world of shivering music and remember:all of us,ever since our births,we had no one to care.peace. Expand
  11. Ale?S
    Mar 29, 2004
    8
    there´s one more thing i want to add:last but one song called The Birth is not important only for the coherence with the album title,it is undoubtedly one of the strongest hiphop track ever made.sad as the flight of the pigeon,melancholic like the eye of the moon in deep silent night. really,it reminds me the great soundtrack which rza made for brilliant Jim Jarmusch movie Ghost there´s one more thing i want to add:last but one song called The Birth is not important only for the coherence with the album title,it is undoubtedly one of the strongest hiphop track ever made.sad as the flight of the pigeon,melancholic like the eye of the moon in deep silent night. really,it reminds me the great soundtrack which rza made for brilliant Jim Jarmusch movie Ghost Dog-The Way of the Samurai.Short scream,mood keyboards,great beat,perfect rza´s flow and production-enter to the world of shivering music and remember:all of us,ever since our births,we had no one to care.peace. Expand
  12. Wutangsfirstlady
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    It's Rza enough said.
  13. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    A great album for any RZA fan, rugged NY beats, sounding a lot like Wu-Tang's ones and RZA's good presence on the mic. We pop and Grits are definitely highlights one the album. Worth adding to your hip-hop albums collection.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. RZA still sounds determined, but his rhymes are self-obsessed, repetitive, and dulled by constant calls for drugs and women.
  2. For Wu-Headz, this is the piece of the RZA puzzle we've been waiting a decade for. It's that important.
  3. On most of this album he doesn't sound completely off his game, just uninspired, both as an MC and a producer.