Bitchin'

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlrikL.
    Oct 6, 2007
    5
    I'm mainly into metal but The Donnas always struck a chord in my heart. "Spend The Night" was an all -out rocker whereas "Gold Medal" expanded their artistic boundaries and , in my book, added more variation. The new album is on autopilot, sure enough there are beefy riffs and some nice drumming. Lyrics have never really been The Donnas forté, but on "Bitchin" they're I'm mainly into metal but The Donnas always struck a chord in my heart. "Spend The Night" was an all -out rocker whereas "Gold Medal" expanded their artistic boundaries and , in my book, added more variation. The new album is on autopilot, sure enough there are beefy riffs and some nice drumming. Lyrics have never really been The Donnas forté, but on "Bitchin" they're downright childish and seem to serve as overcompensation due to the fact these ladies are closing in on the big 30! The tracks are allround mediocre, not bad, but simply not enjoyable enough to listen to in the long run. I fail to see any potential live-favourites in this bland mix of "hungover-written" material. I still love the Donnas but something radical has got to happen. You can do better than this. Expand
  2. JohnR.
    Sep 22, 2007
    7
    "Smoke You Out" is awesome and has the most whacked-out lyrics of any Donnas song ever. "Love You Till It Hurts" is awesome, too. Chick cock rock! But throughout, the crisp, hooky songwriting of "Spend the Night" just isn't here. The swagger's in full effect, but the songs are just lacking. Also, the guitar sound was better on "Spend the Night." This album's better than "Smoke You Out" is awesome and has the most whacked-out lyrics of any Donnas song ever. "Love You Till It Hurts" is awesome, too. Chick cock rock! But throughout, the crisp, hooky songwriting of "Spend the Night" just isn't here. The swagger's in full effect, but the songs are just lacking. Also, the guitar sound was better on "Spend the Night." This album's better than "Gold Medal," though. Expand
  3. EricG.
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    This is a great Donnas record (and I've heard them all, Jake). The Donnas delve heavily into their hair metal and arena-rock fetishes and pump out surprisingly solid rock jams. Critics may cringe but they also gave Paris Hilton's CD good reviews so they can suck it. I would venture to guess that The Donnas have actually outgrown the expectations placed on them to become an This is a great Donnas record (and I've heard them all, Jake). The Donnas delve heavily into their hair metal and arena-rock fetishes and pump out surprisingly solid rock jams. Critics may cringe but they also gave Paris Hilton's CD good reviews so they can suck it. I would venture to guess that The Donnas have actually outgrown the expectations placed on them to become an amazing rock band. Let the rockers unite in the glorious shadow of The Donnas. Expand
  4. MikeD
    Oct 22, 2007
    3
    This record is a disgrace. The Donnas were always a band you could count on to make a honest, straightforward rock album that worshiped at the altar of Kiss, AC/DC and Motley Crue. The biggest inspiration for this nonsense seems to be Winger and Warrant and they should've never inspired anyone. it's nothing but slick production, big guitars and no songs. What's all the more This record is a disgrace. The Donnas were always a band you could count on to make a honest, straightforward rock album that worshiped at the altar of Kiss, AC/DC and Motley Crue. The biggest inspiration for this nonsense seems to be Winger and Warrant and they should've never inspired anyone. it's nothing but slick production, big guitars and no songs. What's all the more sad about it is how they seemed to be maturing as a band so well on the last record (Gold Medal). If you think Vixen rocks, you'll love "Bitchin". Expand
  5. RossN.
    Oct 24, 2007
    4
    I'm disappointed in this album. To me it sounds like the band is uncomfortable with their new guise and the material. I actually thought Gold Medal featured some of the best songs the Donna's have recorded and was possibly their best CD, along with their first and Get Skintight. This one seems laboured and not fun. They make the moves and play the part of 80's rockers but I'm disappointed in this album. To me it sounds like the band is uncomfortable with their new guise and the material. I actually thought Gold Medal featured some of the best songs the Donna's have recorded and was possibly their best CD, along with their first and Get Skintight. This one seems laboured and not fun. They make the moves and play the part of 80's rockers but there just isn't any heart in this music. Expand
  6. ChrisH.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    A solid effort as usual. There's a lot more here than most reviewers pick up on. Pretty typical. The Donnas get a bad rap as being "just a party band" but they deserve more. People respect AC/DC and Kiss. They should respect The Donnas in the same way. They're just as accomplished as those bands, if not more so given the obstacles they face as a female act.
  7. EllenD.G
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    This album is not to be compared with previous Donnas albums. The band has gone for a completely different sound and has obviously been influenced by 1980's rock music. The Donna's have successfully achieved to produce an album that has individualistic ideas and melodies that come together to form Bitchin'. The Donnas have created an interesting contrast between tracks. This album is not to be compared with previous Donnas albums. The band has gone for a completely different sound and has obviously been influenced by 1980's rock music. The Donna's have successfully achieved to produce an album that has individualistic ideas and melodies that come together to form Bitchin'. The Donnas have created an interesting contrast between tracks. Most noticeably between "Smoke You Out", "Bitchin'" and "When the Show is Over". This album is outstanding and rocks hard. Expand
  8. MattD.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    I have all of the Donnas' other albums, and this one is just as good. Harder, yes, but just as good and fun. The lyrics are also even better. This is reason 1,456,708 not to follow reviewers.
  9. TimS.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    The Donnas rule, so does this album.
  10. CaladoniaK.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    The Donnas keep on rockin'.
  11. JeffP
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    The Donans are back with a vengeance - kicking ass and taking names. A fine return to form, full of headnodding hooks, footstomping, anthemic choruses, and lots of dirty ass rock and roll with influences as obvious (and wide) as Joan Jett, Girlschool, Kiss, AC/DC, and Gary Glitter. U rock, girls. Welcome back!
  12. CoreyS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    If you don't love this album, you hate rock n roll.
  13. Jake
    Sep 22, 2007
    4
    If you like this album, you obviously haven't heard any of The Donnas' other albums. Boring with no hooks.
  14. AdamM.
    Sep 22, 2007
    9
    Reminiscent of 80's rock, complete with a cool new logo.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. the Donnas once rocked as if they were tanked to the gills but they now sound like they're playing with ferocious hangovers they just can't shake--and it's hard to have a good party if the threat of the morning after hangs over the whole affair.
  2. While superbly recorded and at times a hoot to crank (largely for the shameless rips of Kiss, Joan Jett and Def Leppard), Bitchin' is too light on hooks.
  3. Bitchin' offers little you haven't heard before--even if you haven't heard a Donnas record--but it should go well with a beer or six.