Black Butterfly

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2008
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2016
    0
    I hate Buckcherry. I really hate Buckcherry, and not really for the reasons you think. I hate Buckcherry because 20 years from now when I say Buckcherry sucks my kids will confusingly argue, " What are you talking about Lit Up is a great song." I really can't argue with that, I thing Lit UP is a very good song. Now if today I say Buckcherry is a good band people will be even more confusedI hate Buckcherry. I really hate Buckcherry, and not really for the reasons you think. I hate Buckcherry because 20 years from now when I say Buckcherry sucks my kids will confusingly argue, " What are you talking about Lit Up is a great song." I really can't argue with that, I thing Lit UP is a very good song. Now if today I say Buckcherry is a good band people will be even more confused because they are know as a terrible band. Well, which is it Buckcherry? If we were just going off Black Butterfly I think the answer is obvious. They would be considered one of the worst bands of all time. After about 10 minutes into listening to this I wanted someone to Rescue Me from this tsunami of garbage. The only way one could possibly enjoy this music is if he or she is Too Drunk to stand. There is just a large degree of emptiness that consumes the tone and sound of the songs. It almost sounds like they spent 35 minutes writing the music. The lyrics are stupid and the overall sound is lame. I you want repetitively empty music in your life Buckcherry has you covered. Expand
  2. TomS.
    Oct 3, 2008
    2
    Really disappointing. I'm not sure what cd the critics listened to but it wasn't this one. And as far as putting Buckcherry and GNR is the same sentence...ridiculous! GNR was a great band. These guys are average at best. LISTEN before you buy this.
  3. AshleyM.
    Sep 22, 2008
    1
    This album is terrible. The lyrics are trite and the music is Appetite for Destruction aping at its worst and most over polished.
  4. JeremyR.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Not bad but not their best album.
  5. StevenC.
    Sep 22, 2008
    6
    Personally I don't mind this album. I think their previous have been much better but it's definitely worth a listen
  6. DS
    Sep 21, 2008
    0
    Bands like this need to give up, and further more those that think bands like this have talent need to take the time to understand music and then discover or make their own.
  7. MartinR.
    Sep 19, 2008
    3
    These guys seem to do well with every other cd they put out. 15 was solid, start to finish, maybe even more so than the self-titled. i gave this one a coupla tries but it doesn't hold up. rescue me was really the only stand out. don't go away sounds like an attempt to get back on pop radio but it doesn't have the hook that sorry did. most of the lyrics are sappy and These guys seem to do well with every other cd they put out. 15 was solid, start to finish, maybe even more so than the self-titled. i gave this one a coupla tries but it doesn't hold up. rescue me was really the only stand out. don't go away sounds like an attempt to get back on pop radio but it doesn't have the hook that sorry did. most of the lyrics are sappy and predictable if you are one to listen to lyrics, which i am. Unimpressive. Expand
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Far from being the soundtrack to a raging party, Black Butterfly is the flipside of indulgence: Buckcherry is now the sound of a slow slide into the monotony of addiction.
  2. 50
    They fluctuate between those two poles while their by-the-book hard rock continues to split the difference between Black Crowes and Guns N’ Roses--though no longer with the wit that fueled their coke-y 1999 breakout, 'Lit Up.'
  3. The LA quintet, fresh off the radio ubiquity of 'Sorry' last year, prove themselves masters of the form again with such generically sentimental anthems as 'Dreams' and 'Don't Go Away.' [19 Sep 2008, p.72]