Black Cadillac - Rosanne Cash
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Black Cadillac is darker than its predecessor, but with melodies often more complex and lyrics more stunningly poetic than anything its creator has conjured before, the album is more transforming than depressing, and exquisitely beautiful.
  2. This album is extraordinary. It is brave, difficult, and honest. It is utterly moving and beautiful. Because it so successfully marries all of her strengths as a songwriter, singer, and musician, Black Cadillac may be the crowning achievement of her career thus far.
  3. At times, Cash nails the knife-edge of hurt and love so adeptly, you feel like you're intruding on too-personal confessions.
  4. The best of Cash's nuanced compositions... turns her healing process into great art. [27 Jan 2006, p.84]
  5. 80
    A tear-stained, yet tasteful, requiem. [Feb 2006, p.93]
  6. 80
    The most intense record of Cash's career. [Feb 2006, p.68]
  7. At every turn -- high-mountain balladry, brassy R&B, near-metallic blues rock -- Rosanne sings of coming through loss with a poise and confessional will that are utterly country and absolutely in the family tradition.
  8. There's no over-personalising and, God Is in the Roses aside, no easy sentimentality.
  9. Lyrically Black Cadillac is exquisite. Musically it's far more than a country record, expanding into those mighty rooms of roots music and pop-rock where Bob Dylan's Time Out of Mind and Lucinda Williams' Car Wheels on a Gravel Road shine and burn against their own dark palettes.
  10. As personal as the album is, there is a universal quality to Cash's songwriting that will make listeners embrace the intimate feelings here as their own. [18 Feb 2006]
  11. She emerges with her genius for genre-bending intact.
  12. Cash is an expert detailer who doesn’t pander to navel gazing, and was somehow able to produce a detached, yet emotional response to her grief.
  13. It's a lot for anyone to get their hands around, but Cash grips tightly to the aspects of loss she has been able to process, even if the enormity of that task escapes her grasp at times. [21 Jan 2006]
  14. Cash takes time to recapture these relationships through simple, detailed moments; at times with grief, and other times with the joy of their memory.
  15. Morbid, maybe, but she handles it all with dignity. [Mar 2006, p.106]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. ToddW
    Nov 1, 2006
    6
    I saw this tour recently and I was non-plussed to say the least. It's sad that Rosanne lost her dad, arguably one of the true giants of I saw this tour recently and I was non-plussed to say the least. It's sad that Rosanne lost her dad, arguably one of the true giants of our culture, but trying to translate her loss into music is taking Joe Fanatic Rosanne Fan into the realm of discomfort. Her showcase featuring this album is a mess. Something about water, stark landscapes, dead leaves, and blurry automobiles. She's right when she said it's not a summer party album. It's not even fit for the Addams Family. For all of you lapdogs who gave this a perfect score, you hearby have your reviewing credentials permanently revoked. If you want to hear a truly flawless album by Rosanne, pick up "Interiors." Which leads me to another bone to pick, this one with her handlers. You're representing one of the best female artists on the planet, and you idiots didn't even have half of her records on sale during the "Rules of Travel" tour. You all should be banned to a lifetime of listening to the Opry cows. Full Review »
  2. HugoChavez
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    I recently had the honor of watching her perform at Carnegie Hall and meeting her afterward. I consider myself a HUGE fan now. Black Cadillac I recently had the honor of watching her perform at Carnegie Hall and meeting her afterward. I consider myself a HUGE fan now. Black Cadillac is to me, about journeys of the soul, heart and coming up stronger, wiser and more at peace. She's even greater live - a true artist! Full Review »
  3. JyotirmayaD
    Jul 22, 2006
    8
    This album is very personal. Like listening in to Johhny's daughter's bedside chat to herself, confidential but she is bearing it This album is very personal. Like listening in to Johhny's daughter's bedside chat to herself, confidential but she is bearing it all and it is a beautiful listen. But the phrase "Westward leading, still proceeding?" Where have I heard that before? Some one tell me? Full Review »