• Record Label: Mute
  • Release Date: May 6, 2003
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    6
    Black Cherry has its moments, and those are generally when the songs are more active. The more toned down and more sonically spaced out tracks simply make the album a little bit boring.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Probably the best album released by Goldfrapp. Mixing a burlesque theme with hard electronic music was a stroke of genius on their part. The visuals accompanying in their music videos are worth checking out as well. Download: Strict Machine, Black Cherry, Crystaline Green, Twist
  3. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    This is probably my secret guilty pleasure in music. I love Goldfrapp and I am amazed their first album is not listed here since I think Felt Mountain is their best work. Black Cherry is amazing and is way more dancey but still brilliant like most of what comes from this duo.
  4. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    Black Cherry is an album that has many different elements. A big step from debut "Felt Mountain" Black Cherry includes some pop songs including "Twist" "Strict Machine" and "Crystalline Green" but the best track is the title track "BLack Cherry"..It is soft and mellow enough to put you in a very chill mood
  5. ClifC
    Mar 10, 2009
    8
    I was astonished by this album from Goldfrapp. Their previous and first album, "Felt Mountain", was really spiritual and suddenly they release a Dance/IDM album. Kinda weird. But this is not a problem, really because the band managed to do a great record. Not as good as "Felt Mountain", but still great. Standout tracks: "Black Cherry", "Deep Honey", "Strict Machine" and "Slippage".
  6. AlexU
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Really the best of all 4 of their albums released so far, touches of Felt Mountain, mixed with some great dance tracks. Its a shame this is the lowest ranked album of theirs that is recorded on metacritic because it really deserves more praise then supernature and seventh tree at the very least.
  7. EinarJ.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    "You give me this love". Many thought that with the abrupt switch from the trip-hop/chillout debut to this electronically fashioned sophomore album, that Goldfrapp as we knew it would fade away. It didn't. 'Crystalline Green' is exciting, luring you into Black Cherry, an amazing journey. 'Train' becomes the hit, with its bourgeoisie taste and style. 'Black "You give me this love". Many thought that with the abrupt switch from the trip-hop/chillout debut to this electronically fashioned sophomore album, that Goldfrapp as we knew it would fade away. It didn't. 'Crystalline Green' is exciting, luring you into Black Cherry, an amazing journey. 'Train' becomes the hit, with its bourgeoisie taste and style. 'Black Cherry' is the melancholy ballad of a love lost, an obvious favourite. 'Tiptoe' points out the sexuality of the album, sowing how sexy music can become. 'Deep Honey' and 'Hairy Trees' are the chillout songs of the album, both superb with their quirky hooks and sexual lyrics. 'Twist' is the infamous single about cunnilingus and 'Strict Machine' became the single of the year. 'Slippage' is the closing track, marking te end of one of my favourite albums of all time. Alas, the b-sides of the singles are just amazing. Beautiful, Stunning and Sexual are the beest ways to describe this electro-magic. Expand
  8. PeterC
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    A really good album with a diverse mix of songs.
  9. Nathan
    Oct 21, 2006
    7
    Really good album. the songs are so catchy.
  10. PeteB
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    I got this after hearing Goldfrapp by accident on Jules Holland. Hated it the first time I heard it but now think it's the best album ever!
  11. MarkC
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant Who's the twat who voted 0 You must have no sense or good taste for music i bet you listen to Boy and girl bands don't you
  12. LeonardoF
    Oct 24, 2005
    5
    there are some good songs - tiptoe is my favorite - but her transition to a more electo-influenced sound made her sound kinda faceless.
  13. RonB
    Sep 27, 2004
    10
    Thoroughly satisfying musical paradox of cerebro-visceral electro-eros, with a strangely edifying effect on the soul.
  14. NseE
    Jul 28, 2004
    8
    This is a rather good cd which sounds better each time I hear it. I'm a big fan of Donna Summer and got this because of 'Strict machine' which reminded me so much of Donna. 'Hairy trees' is another brooding but beautiful synthesizer classic. Goldfrapp sound like nothing else out there.
  15. Nephemera
    Mar 6, 2004
    0
    Absolutely horrible. Her voice is dull and the lyrics make no sense whatsoever...they're trying too hard to be unique.
  16. tn
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Tasty, sleazy electro. Highly recommended! Plenty of possible dancefloor bangers.
  17. CraigC
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Catchy, Fun, Sexy Electronica. A Great Listen.
  18. JimD
    May 9, 2003
    10
    This cd kicks ASS in a major way. Goldfrapp exposes their Alpine Portishead sound to gamma radiation and mutate into a radical groove syndicate!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    Goldfrapp know how to draw you in and, more importantly, hook you.
  2. A dull compromise of artistic intent and marketability.
  3. A menacingly sweet and sweetly menacing set of electro pop. [June 2003, p.109]