• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Black Cherry Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This sophomore LP from the UK duo of vocalist Allison Goldfrapp and multi-instrumentalist Will Gregory follows their acclaimed 2000 debut, 'Felt Mountain.'

Top Track

Strict Machine
I get high on a buzz Then a rush when I'm plugged in you I connect when I'm flush You get love when told what to do Wonderful electric Wonderful... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Uncut
    100
    I doubt there'll be many better albums released this year. [Jun 2003, p.98]
  2. Blender
    80
    Although a few tracks retain Felt Mountain's eerie beauty, Black Cherry's natural habitat is less supper club than strip club, and Goldfrapp sound right at home. [May 2003, p.119]
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    Goldfrapp know how to draw you in and, more importantly, hook you.
  4. Black Cherry strips away almost all of the film score drama of Felt Mountain. This would be a bigger disappointment than it is if the album's dance-oriented, neo-new wave were less successful than it is.
  5. Delightfully pushes boundaries.
  6. The best songs on this cunning, efficient, frequently daft and fractionally disappointing album are the ones which sound most like the misty reveries of [their] debut.
  7. A dull compromise of artistic intent and marketability.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. AlexU
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Really the best of all 4 of their albums released so far, touches of Felt Mountain, mixed with some great dance tracks. Its a shame this is Really the best of all 4 of their albums released so far, touches of Felt Mountain, mixed with some great dance tracks. Its a shame this is the lowest ranked album of theirs that is recorded on metacritic because it really deserves more praise then supernature and seventh tree at the very least. Collapse
  2. MarkC
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant Who's the twat who voted 0 You must have no sense or good taste for music i bet you listen to Boy and girl bands Absolutely Brilliant Who's the twat who voted 0 You must have no sense or good taste for music i bet you listen to Boy and girl bands don't you Expand
  3. PeterC
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    A really good album with a diverse mix of songs.
  4. tn
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Tasty, sleazy electro. Highly recommended! Plenty of possible dancefloor bangers.
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Probably the best album released by Goldfrapp. Mixing a burlesque theme with hard electronic music was a stroke of genius on their part. TheProbably the best album released by Goldfrapp. Mixing a burlesque theme with hard electronic music was a stroke of genius on their part. The visuals accompanying in their music videos are worth checking out as well. Download: Strict Machine, Black Cherry, Crystaline Green, Twist Expand
  6. ClifC
    Mar 10, 2009
    8
    I was astonished by this album from Goldfrapp. Their previous and first album, "Felt Mountain", was really spiritual and suddenly they I was astonished by this album from Goldfrapp. Their previous and first album, "Felt Mountain", was really spiritual and suddenly they release a Dance/IDM album. Kinda weird. But this is not a problem, really because the band managed to do a great record. Not as good as "Felt Mountain", but still great. Standout tracks: "Black Cherry", "Deep Honey", "Strict Machine" and "Slippage". Expand
  7. Nephemera
    Mar 6, 2004
    0
    Absolutely horrible. Her voice is dull and the lyrics make no sense whatsoever...they're trying too hard to be unique.

See all 19 User Reviews