Black Cherry - Goldfrapp
Black Cherry Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This sophomore LP from the UK duo of vocalist Allison Goldfrapp and multi-instrumentalist Will Gregory follows their acclaimed 2000 debut, 'Felt Mountain.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. 100
    I doubt there'll be many better albums released this year. [Jun 2003, p.98]
  2. Black Cherry is both retro and futuristic, like vintage synth pop heard through a wall of distortion. [15 May 2003, p.134]
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    80
    Goldfrapp know how to draw you in and, more importantly, hook you.
  4. Black Cherry strips away almost all of the film score drama of Felt Mountain. This would be a bigger disappointment than it is if the album's dance-oriented, neo-new wave were less successful than it is.
  5. While Goldfrapp's new sound calls to mind the likes of the Human League, Donna Summer, and Soft Cell, it's more than the sum of those parts and benefits from much heavier beats than many of its apparent influences.
  6. The best songs on this cunning, efficient, frequently daft and fractionally disappointing album are the ones which sound most like the misty reveries of [their] debut.
  7. A dull compromise of artistic intent and marketability.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. MarkC
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    Absolutely Brilliant Who's the twat who voted 0 You must have no sense or good taste for music i bet you listen to Boy and girl bands don't you Expand
  2. PeterC
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    A really good album with a diverse mix of songs.
  3. AlexU
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Really the best of all 4 of their albums released so far, touches of Felt Mountain, mixed with some great dance tracks. Its a shame this is the lowest ranked album of theirs that is recorded on metacritic because it really deserves more praise then supernature and seventh tree at the very least. Collapse
  4. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    Black Cherry is an album that has many different elements. A big step from debut "Felt Mountain" Black Cherry includes some pop songs including "Twist" "Strict Machine" and "Crystalline Green" but the best track is the title track "BLack Cherry"..It is soft and mellow enough to put you in a very chill mood Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    This is probably my secret guilty pleasure in music. I love Goldfrapp and I am amazed their first album is not listed here since I think Felt Mountain is their best work. Black Cherry is amazing and is way more dancey but still brilliant like most of what comes from this duo. Expand
  6. NseE
    Jul 28, 2004
    8
    This is a rather good cd which sounds better each time I hear it. I'm a big fan of Donna Summer and got this because of 'Strict machine' which reminded me so much of Donna. 'Hairy trees' is another brooding but beautiful synthesizer classic. Goldfrapp sound like nothing else out there. Expand
  7. Nephemera
    Mar 6, 2004
    0
    Absolutely horrible. Her voice is dull and the lyrics make no sense whatsoever...they're trying too hard to be unique.

See all 18 User Reviews