User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 434 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 434

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RoryD
    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    The album is all huff and puff, but will never blow the house down. The lack of decent lyrics is covered over by fancy guitar work and crashes and bangs. Soldiers Song is by far the worst Muse song on record, and the albums only saving grace is when they turn the lunacy up for Knights of Cydonia, actually a great song. Muse ,disappointingly, are now just a formerly great band commiting The album is all huff and puff, but will never blow the house down. The lack of decent lyrics is covered over by fancy guitar work and crashes and bangs. Soldiers Song is by far the worst Muse song on record, and the albums only saving grace is when they turn the lunacy up for Knights of Cydonia, actually a great song. Muse ,disappointingly, are now just a formerly great band commiting latter-day sins. Expand
  2. DaisyB
    Jul 20, 2006
    5
    This album is Muse's worst.. im not one for political music especially not from people who dont even live in the country they're bitching about the leader of. Nontheless.. there are a few good tracks.. Map of Problematique is amazing and im beginning to think thats the reason i bought the album. Knights of Cydonia is pretty good. Asassin is good as well.. And am i the only one This album is Muse's worst.. im not one for political music especially not from people who dont even live in the country they're bitching about the leader of. Nontheless.. there are a few good tracks.. Map of Problematique is amazing and im beginning to think thats the reason i bought the album. Knights of Cydonia is pretty good. Asassin is good as well.. And am i the only one who noticed a similarity in one of the songs (i cant think of the name) to Audioslave's "Like A Stone"? anyway, i hope the next album is amazing. I was expecting much more from my favorite band, but after releasing three masterpieces, i suppose you should have a bad one for balance. Expand
  3. Systool
    Jul 10, 2006
    5
    A very deceiving album... I rather appreciate the first three albums of the band, but this one just doesn't work : too much emphasis, no solid structures, not any unforgettable song... Sorry, guys, this album sucks
  4. Marc
    Jun 28, 2008
    5
    Paraphrasing Matt Bellamy in 'Supermassive Black Hole': Muse are kings of the superficial.
  5. DaveR
    Sep 26, 2006
    5
    It has it's highlights, but it goes away from the unity and powerful emotion that made "Absolution" such a solid album and moves towards a discombobulated techno-savvy mess. This is not to say that the album was a failure, but that it does not feel like an album. Highlights include: "Map of the Problematique" and "City of Delusions"
  6. SeamusS
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    With an album as big, layered and slightly over produced as this, it's easy to hate. However, Muse manages to pull just slightly ahead of pretentious by making it fun in a Tongue And Cheek way. There are emotional moments no doubt but they're more comparable to a rollercoster than an epiphany. In all it's fun smart/dumb music that, all the while immediately harmless, With an album as big, layered and slightly over produced as this, it's easy to hate. However, Muse manages to pull just slightly ahead of pretentious by making it fun in a Tongue And Cheek way. There are emotional moments no doubt but they're more comparable to a rollercoster than an epiphany. In all it's fun smart/dumb music that, all the while immediately harmless, remains absolutely dangerous to the middle-schoolers and young high school kids that will grow up thinking they know good music because of a band that understands how to work a multi-tracking mixing board and a few effects peddles. Expand
  7. DavidW
    Jul 14, 2006
    4
    Black holes and revelations is easily Muse's weakest album. There are maybe four good songs (Starlight, Knights, Supermassive, Problematique) and the rest is the kind of pointless filler we simply don't expect from Muse.
  8. StPete
    Jul 12, 2006
    4
    It is very hard for me to give a low rating to Muse. They are one of my top 5 all-time favorite bands, but I was so disappointed in this album. I've given it a couple listens to try and really let it envelope me like their other albums did when they came out, but this one does nothing for me. The 4 is for Take A Bow and Knights of Cydonia... the opening and closing tracks are It is very hard for me to give a low rating to Muse. They are one of my top 5 all-time favorite bands, but I was so disappointed in this album. I've given it a couple listens to try and really let it envelope me like their other albums did when they came out, but this one does nothing for me. The 4 is for Take A Bow and Knights of Cydonia... the opening and closing tracks are incredible. I just wish everything in between wasn't so boring. Sorry Muse, I'll wait and hope for the next one and go back to non-stop spinning of OoS, Absolution and Showbiz in the meantime. :( Expand
  9. andyy
    Jul 16, 2006
    4
    Ho-hum! Another round of Radiohead-wanna-be tracks. "Problematique"? Where have I heard that title before? Oh yeah: Radiohead's KID A album, the song "Idioteque."
  10. Timothj
    Jul 29, 2006
    6
    As a massive longtime muse fan im am a little dissapointed with this release. Its not that this album is so dramatically different to others that bothers me. Its that muse seem to have let the production of many of the tracks get in the way of writing amazing songs. The first four tracks are brilliant, but until knights of cydonia begins to play, i get annoyedand bored. Despite what some As a massive longtime muse fan im am a little dissapointed with this release. Its not that this album is so dramatically different to others that bothers me. Its that muse seem to have let the production of many of the tracks get in the way of writing amazing songs. The first four tracks are brilliant, but until knights of cydonia begins to play, i get annoyedand bored. Despite what some idiots say about muse being radiohead imitators, most would agree they are a very original band. Absolution sounds like nothing i'd ever heard before (and by the way i own EVERYTHING radiohead have released) however in 'black holes' many songs sound like muse playing other bands songs. netherless, my faith is not lost as this album will provide people much enjoyment to most muse fans and attract new fans with new sounds. Expand
  11. ZapB.
    Apr 14, 2008
    4
    An ok album, but someone remind me again how the lead singer doesn't sound exactly like Thom Yorke?
  12. Nov 13, 2015
    6
    Black Holes and Revelations, in my opinion, is the most rhythmic album that Muse has put out. It really feels like watching a classic B movie - it definitely has some great songs, some of which have become classics at this point (Starlight, Knights of Cydonia), and some of which have not (Exo-Politics, Hoodoo, etc.)

    However, this album feels bored. The concept is there, but the album is
    Black Holes and Revelations, in my opinion, is the most rhythmic album that Muse has put out. It really feels like watching a classic B movie - it definitely has some great songs, some of which have become classics at this point (Starlight, Knights of Cydonia), and some of which have not (Exo-Politics, Hoodoo, etc.)

    However, this album feels bored. The concept is there, but the album is unsatisfying and kind of boring to listen to. It's still enjoyable, but given the option, it's one of those albums you'd put aside thinking "maybe later" and finding something better.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. Under The Radar
    70
    Black Holes and Revelations isn’t a perfect record but it’s a worthy addition to an already stellar catalog. [#14]
  3. It shouldn't work, but Bellamy's mania is so convincingly realised that even the most avowed Muse refusenik may have to finally concede defeat.