User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 345 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 345

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkL
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    I hadn't paid much attention to Muse in the past, but this is just incredible. The first 3 tracks are an amazing opening to an album that doesn't stop giving, reaching its peak at Knights of Cydonia. Surely they can't improve on this.
  2. HansG
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    Muse gets better with every album.Best album of 2006!
  3. borgy
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This could possibly be their best album, It's spacey, Every song sounds completely different... Muse have just gotten better and better i didnt even think they could top "Absolution".
  4. StewartP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    As spoken by the musican himself, Matthew Bellamy, this is their best album to date. Of course the previous albums are classics, but so will this album a few years down the road. Muse have only grown and the shows in the album with Matt's matureing voice, diverse guitar antics, Dom's inriched drumming, and Chris's killer bass. heres to the greatest live band of our generation.
  5. DomG
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album. Cannot stop listening to it, the best of 2006.
  6. ThomasB
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Muse's best album to date, featuring some of Matt Bellamy's best musical ideas.
  7. PatH
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    It just keeps getting better and better
  8. FelipeP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Fantastic Album! Muse come back with threir most pretencious ans acessible album for everyboy. Fantastic group, beautiful songs. Knigts of Cydonia is Probally one of the best tracks of Muse. They are on the way!
  9. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Electronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are theElectronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are the masters of modern rock, clearly shaped by this album.

    Though not my favourite Muse album, this is one hell of a piece, with brilliant solos, gritty solos, mesmerizing vocals, and catchy melodies. Though that doesn't necessarily make a good album, Muse have succeeded. From the flow of Take A Bow (an incredible electronic piece) into Starlight and Supermassive Black Hole (two songs so massive they have become the most recognized Muse hits of all time), and into the heights of masterpieces of Map of the Problematique and Invincible, this is strong, and hard hitting, and the definition of Muse. Though Soldier's Poem ruins the flow after the brilliant and monstrous Map of the Problematique (an epic piece, by far considered one of Muse's greatest works), Invincible surely makes up for it, bombarding us with powerful solos and haunting lyrics. The pace picks up again with the heavy and intentionally heavy Assasin and Exo-Politics (both prominent in their conspiracy-lead Bellamy lyrics) into the relaxing City of Delusion (though using strong progressions and lyrics so powerful, you'll never want it to end).

    Hoodoo and Knights of Cydonia follow, two flawless pieces of music, lyrics so powerful and current, progressions so intriguing, guitar solos and piano experiments prominent throughout, they close a perfect album. Though the overall track listing isn't brilliantly placed, Black Holes & Revelations is a triumph, and one of Muse's greatest albums. Ever.

    Overall Score: 10/10
    Expand
  10. SamH
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Its The Best Album I've Ever Heared
  11. GraemeS.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I only really got into Muse when Absolution was released, and, even though I never thought I would say this, this album is better than Absolution. Classical rock at its best.
  12. AlexW.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Excellent album. Map of the Problematique is probably my favorite track.
  13. PhineasG
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until you see them live, so go see muse live! Expand
  14. GeorgeF
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    It's their most complete record. It's not perfect, but almost, and therefore it's one of the best records I've listened this year by far. It's epic, it's funny, it's catchy and it's sophisticated. Outstanding.
  15. RobertJ
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which will join that company of those other unreputed classics. It really is that good. Iv'e never noticed Muse before or been a fan but this is simply breathtaking. A must buy. Expand
  16. StephenC
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like "Hoodoo" and "City Of Delusion" - Flamenco space rock the order of the day! From the melodic acoustics of the quite magnificent "Soldiers Poem" to the epic horse-back rampage that is "Knights Of Cydonia", Muse have done it again. This will please the die hard Muse fans, but is diverse and stunning enough to attract a whole new following. Top bombing. Expand
  17. LizR
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the best record I have heard all year. Expand
  18. Mark
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Knights of Cydonia is absolutely without a doubt the best song I've heard so far this century. Definately pick this one up. Hell, pick up a copy for a friend too. Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Utterly amazing. Muse consistantly exceeds expectations from albuk to the next, delivering the same calibre of spectacular musicianship and songsmithing that they always have.
  20. TobyF
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Even my non-Muse fan friends were humming the tunes after 1 listen.
  21. RonanH
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Don't pay any heed to what Pitchfork says. The best album Muse have ever made. And also one of the albums of the year. Every song is a highlight.
  22. MattD.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    Gloriously grandiose, and unlike any album I've ever heard!
  23. markc
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    surely one of the best british rock albums ever
  24. LuisC
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    album of the year. prog, eclectic, powerfull, perfect!!!!!!!
  25. PitchforkaretheworstsiteontheentireWeb
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up their opinions other than "because I don't like it". Expand
  26. LakeT
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Words can't describe how good this album is. Flawless, full of energy. Likely to be the best album of the year and one of the best of this century.
  27. alanusmeritocracy
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    a brilliant exciting album, best this year, cant wait to see this band and hear these tracks live.
  28. HjyytzS
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    The BEST Muse album!!
  29. AlexP
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    boring? am i reading that right? this is an amazing mix of space-funk-rock-something that left me amazed from start to finish.... kinghts of cydonia is an epic piece of technical mastery, possibly the best song ive heard this year... i could go on i'm sure, i'll leave it simply that this is amazing and entertaining throughout, bar none...
  30. AlbertoG
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of 2006
  31. AllenW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    A simply outstanding album that blew me away
  32. AliB
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    MUSE have done great in taking a new direction but keeping their sound. like all previous albums of this band, it's a masterpiece. Assassin, Knights of Cydonia, Take a Bow, etc. are all classics.
  33. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    Muse strikes me as a combination of Radiohead, ELO, and Rush. Just saw them at Staples Center for the first time and was blown away. But going home and hearing this album solidified my admiration of this band. Great stuff.
  34. chrisc
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite albums of all time. 33? I'm simply speechless that someone could listen to this and rate it that low? WTF do you want? More country music? More eyeliner punk/pop? More bow-wow-wow or whatever the Fk?
  35. DavidS
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    I've never been a fan of Muse. I've always considered them a Radiohead ripoff. My girlfriend pleaded with me to take a listen to this cd, and wow! It's nothing like their previous efforts. It oozes originality and creativity! Every song is gorgeous, layered and full of hooks. I guess I'll be eating crow for a while. I can't wait to catch them live at V Festival! I've never been a fan of Muse. I've always considered them a Radiohead ripoff. My girlfriend pleaded with me to take a listen to this cd, and wow! It's nothing like their previous efforts. It oozes originality and creativity! Every song is gorgeous, layered and full of hooks. I guess I'll be eating crow for a while. I can't wait to catch them live at V Festival! Muse, you've converted me! Expand
  36. AndrewV
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    wanted to give 9.5 this album is absolutely astonishing. from the moment the first note is heard to the epic last track (one of my favs by the way) i have chills. The only thing is that it ends too soon, thus the 9.5
  37. MatthewC
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    Amazing! their best album. Assassin is my fav muse song of all time!
  38. MarvAlbert
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    Muse always amazes me. The first track sets the tone of the album perfectly as you go through the ups and downs and different moods of the rest of the tracks. I usually hate any efx but Muse uses them to perfection. If you havn't already get "Absolution" it's also incredible!!!
  39. KateB.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    I love this album, I just wish sometimes it would be a little more subtle. Other than that, I think it is brilliant, and would recommend it to anyone!
  40. AndyH
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Don't judge it straightaway. Besides some obvious standouts it didn't blow me away until the third listen. If you like Muse, you'll love this. They are going to be awesome live!!!
  41. OobahJoobah
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    The music on this album is of a high quality, and the only thing stopping it getting a 10 from me are the lyrics, which are pretty dire. however, matt has always written pretty dire lyrics, and if you're clever you just choose to ignore them. But even then, muse can be commended to a certain extent for their lyrics. For despite being poetically disabled, muse come out with some of The music on this album is of a high quality, and the only thing stopping it getting a 10 from me are the lyrics, which are pretty dire. however, matt has always written pretty dire lyrics, and if you're clever you just choose to ignore them. But even then, muse can be commended to a certain extent for their lyrics. For despite being poetically disabled, muse come out with some of the most audacious statements...showing that they truly have no fear. However, i want their next record to be wholly instrumental, because in the case of muse, the music speaks louder and says more than anything matt has ever written. Expand
  42. mioR
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    Amazing, but not utterly amazing. Muse have done it again, they'e put out yet ANOTHER epic and beautiful album. Black Holes and Revelations gets a 9 for me, but its not better than OoS and Absolution
  43. Alix
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    This album is an amazing piece of museness! Every song is unique and completely loveable! It's a perfect example of why I tell people they should bow down before muse! XD
  44. ethanc
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    a great album from start to end rivaled only by absolution
  45. AndyM
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    I felt Muse had reached the end of the road with Absolution. Whatever the merits of that argument, this is a stunning blow to those critics who have dismissed them as Indie music's answer to The Scissor Sisters. Six or seven truly standout tracks, each utterly different to the other. Quite amazing.
  46. PaulF
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    After listening to their hugely dissapointing third album (absolution), I didn't have high expectations for this one. How I was wrong. This is definatley miles better than absolution and sits right up there with origin of symmetry. BH&R has you gripped from the fantastic stadium filler 'Take a Bow' to the fantastic 'Knights of Cydonia' (the guitar riff at the end After listening to their hugely dissapointing third album (absolution), I didn't have high expectations for this one. How I was wrong. This is definatley miles better than absolution and sits right up there with origin of symmetry. BH&R has you gripped from the fantastic stadium filler 'Take a Bow' to the fantastic 'Knights of Cydonia' (the guitar riff at the end of this song is particularly worth a mention). It's so good to hear them back to their best. Expand
  47. lukyh
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    This should be the album of the year!!! provided that U do not take it too seriously. Thank God thay have changed their direction a bit...
  48. ElvenL
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    The Best Muse Album. In My Fave 5 Albums List
  49. EarlyStorm
    Aug 25, 2006
    9
    This band is exciting - this Cd is exciting. I love it!
  50. Babbleflaff
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    Love the Album. One question annoys me though. Why the hell do they always get compared to Radiohead :| It's just annoying now.
  51. KevinN.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. It's sounds big, powerful, and moving. Masterfully mixed, "Black Holes and Revelations" also has a classical, operatic feel to it. As I listen, my jaw drops and I get goosebumps. Expand
  52. DaraghL.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    Brilliant.
  53. MPP.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Anyone who thinks MUSE sounds like RADIOHEAD in any way, you should go to an ear doctor asap because you obviously have lousy hearing. This album is phenomenal and ranks only behind their best album, "Origin Of Symmetry". It's not just over the top, bombastic prog rock like some people like to say. Explain tracks like "Hoo Doo" or "City of Delusion". If anything, those are flamenco Anyone who thinks MUSE sounds like RADIOHEAD in any way, you should go to an ear doctor asap because you obviously have lousy hearing. This album is phenomenal and ranks only behind their best album, "Origin Of Symmetry". It's not just over the top, bombastic prog rock like some people like to say. Explain tracks like "Hoo Doo" or "City of Delusion". If anything, those are flamenco inspired. Lets not forget that MUSE is the best live band on the planet. Expand
  54. Andrew
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Inspirational.
  55. musehatersareweird
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    It is very hard if not impossible to dislike muse especially since now they've ditched the radiohead copycat sound for good and gone for proper prog rock moves this is album is brilliant and is probably the most accessible yet since they've started playing around in new genres. an essential purchase.
  56. BarryW
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Like all their other albums this is an absolute classic, not one bad track, they just seem to knock out one decent tune after another, brilliant,
  57. Fcuker
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely different. After MCR's The Black Parade this is up there as album of the year Expand
  58. SachinP
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Their most complex and satisfying album to date, with genre-bursting tracks and plenty of overblown prog insanity. Matt Bellamy is, in effect, god.
  59. RSkells
    Jun 27, 2006
    9
    Its outstanding. Muse have been able to fit a range of subject matter and stylistic diversity into this album. one of the best albums of the year.
  60. NegativeCreep
    Jul 10, 2006
    9
    this is something extraordinary... it´s a bit more pop, but I´m not ashamed from this kind of pop...
  61. NickM
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    this album is simply amazing, i dont even know how to describe it, MUSE is solidly placed as one of the most outstanding band of this, or any generation, and i cant wait to see them live again, this time July 30th, rock on boys, rock ON!
  62. JeffN
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I don't want to say that all the people who rate this album poorly have bad taste in music... but all the people who rate this album poorly have bad taste in music.
  63. luiss
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    listen this album...till the end...amazing with new influences...
  64. MattA
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    I love this album... It fits well with their library and is welcome in my book. Gotta love Starlight, Exo-politics, and Supermassive Black Hole
  65. UserX
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Pretty goddamn awesome.
  66. TomK
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    Brilliant from start to finish. Not only my favorite Muse album but my favorite music album ever. Impressive stuff.
  67. JohnA
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    In one word, ESPECTACULAR.
  68. MarcoG
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Those who claim that this album is nothing short of spectacular don't know anything about music. Easily the best album of the year.
  69. Jo
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Yes a 10 (actually a 9,5 really)... This album is a real grower, while I would have given it a 7 at first listen, a beauty like Hoodoo can only be discovered after listening 4- 5 times decently to it. Also Exo-Politics and Invincible are rel growers, now they're one of the standouts for me. Other favourites are the catchy though haunting Starlight, Knights of Cydonia and the cool Yes a 10 (actually a 9,5 really)... This album is a real grower, while I would have given it a 7 at first listen, a beauty like Hoodoo can only be discovered after listening 4- 5 times decently to it. Also Exo-Politics and Invincible are rel growers, now they're one of the standouts for me. Other favourites are the catchy though haunting Starlight, Knights of Cydonia and the cool anergy of Map of the Problematique. Even the -in my opinion- weaker tracks of the album are still very good (Take a Bow, Supermassive). A huge step forward with lots of experimentation that turned out to be very succesfull ! Fantastic, can't stop listening! Expand
  70. S
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Better than absolution and on par with showbiz, this album only fails to rival OOS owing to the fact that I want more piano in it. But with 5 classics (Knights of Cydonia, City Of Delusion, Exo-Politics, Map Of The Problematique and Take A Bow) and 5 very good songs (Assasin, Invincible, Hoodoo, Starlight And Supermassive Blackhole) with only Soldier's Poem acting as short and sweet Better than absolution and on par with showbiz, this album only fails to rival OOS owing to the fact that I want more piano in it. But with 5 classics (Knights of Cydonia, City Of Delusion, Exo-Politics, Map Of The Problematique and Take A Bow) and 5 very good songs (Assasin, Invincible, Hoodoo, Starlight And Supermassive Blackhole) with only Soldier's Poem acting as short and sweet filler, this is a stunning album and worth the wait. Certainly the album of 2006 so far. Expand
  71. UZiR
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Absolution is nothing compared to this. nothing.
  72. WillS
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    It is very hard to compare muse's different albums to each other as better or worse, but I must say that I think this album is amazing. I tend to think that the people giving it 2s and 3s just don't understand it or haven't listened to it in the right setting or maybe they were expecting something else and can't shake those expectations. The critics are also loving or It is very hard to compare muse's different albums to each other as better or worse, but I must say that I think this album is amazing. I tend to think that the people giving it 2s and 3s just don't understand it or haven't listened to it in the right setting or maybe they were expecting something else and can't shake those expectations. The critics are also loving or hating it. Way to go Muse. Expand
  73. ThomasR
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    I agree that this album is very different from their other albums... yet it still it unmistakingly sounds like Muse! They have managed to get inspired by a vast amount of bands and musical styles ,eg. Radiohead, System of a down, Flamenco, Prince and I even hear a faint of barbershop quertet in Poem of a soldier :-)! Just to name a few! And as no other band I have ever seen before they I agree that this album is very different from their other albums... yet it still it unmistakingly sounds like Muse! They have managed to get inspired by a vast amount of bands and musical styles ,eg. Radiohead, System of a down, Flamenco, Prince and I even hear a faint of barbershop quertet in Poem of a soldier :-)! Just to name a few! And as no other band I have ever seen before they have managed to pull it all together into a magnificent album that while sounding like nothing that Muse has ever made still manages to sound exactly like Muse... just more varied! Even though I loved the previous albums and was feel a little dissapointed that some of the magnificent riffs and insane crescendos of Bellamy are gone I still have to classify this album as epic. Anyway, I wouldn't want Muse to make the same mistake as Nickelback and Linkin Park, where every song and album sounds alike! Collapse
  74. AM
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    This album is excellent. Were some of you expecting Absolution Part II or what?
  75. Jules
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    I seem to be one of the few long term Muse fans that feels this latest is their best by some distance. I got into them with lonely obssession with Showbiz and have been more impressed with each new release. I am no automatic fanboy but I genuinely think they've got better with each release. Each one has been increasingly less earnest and more playful - this latest is a wonderful I seem to be one of the few long term Muse fans that feels this latest is their best by some distance. I got into them with lonely obssession with Showbiz and have been more impressed with each new release. I am no automatic fanboy but I genuinely think they've got better with each release. Each one has been increasingly less earnest and more playful - this latest is a wonderful carnival of sound that remains intense but has a new found love of life, less broodingly gothic. It is a great sci-fi western blockbuster with heart - if you want angular experimentalism go for TV on the Radio, if you want brooding introversion go for Thom Yorke, if you want to go to the big top for some intelligent, intense thrills, head for some black holes and revelations! Expand
  76. Meries
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    1 word: Sublime! Surpasses all my expectations
  77. AnthonyN
    Jul 2, 2006
    9
    This is probably Muse's best overall record. It has plenty of bangin' tracks much like Origin of Symmetry did but I feel like they've matured to have their own sound, another step pass Absolution, where they get rid of their Radiohead-mimicing past. Exo-Politics is fantastic.
  78. CrownL
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Though it has a slightly more commercial feel to it then any of their previous work, it is still a masterpiece. I don't want to say if it's their best album to date, as i think their last three albums are all masterpieces in their own way, but this is certainly a great album. One of the things that really sets it apart is it's incredible variety. It has funky dance tunes Though it has a slightly more commercial feel to it then any of their previous work, it is still a masterpiece. I don't want to say if it's their best album to date, as i think their last three albums are all masterpieces in their own way, but this is certainly a great album. One of the things that really sets it apart is it's incredible variety. It has funky dance tunes (Supermassive Black Hole), Soft Ballads (A Soldiers Poem, Hoodoo), And epic anthems (Invinceble, City Of Delusion and of course Knights Of Cydonia). Overall it is a fantastic achievement that not only broadens Muse apeal, but also takes their music to another level. Expand
  79. TomM
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    I was a little disappointed on the first listen, partly because the harmonics etc didn't seem as clever as previous albums (some of the melodies were slightly predictable). But it steadily grew on me to an addiction stretching to switching it onto 'repeat', and listening to the different components proved me wrong and made it apparent how much talent Muse have
  80. LukasP
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Album of the year!!!!!!!! I love them:-)
  81. MattW
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    Musically, Wow! Its just the best band in the world. Its not quite Origin, but itwould be unfair to expect it to be. 1 criticism, no Hysteria or Stockholm Syndrome equivalent apart from Assassin, which still isnt that similar. So what though eh!
  82. MichaelC
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year. Muse's musical sophistication is unparallelled. Knights of Cydonia is the most creative rock song of the past few years, and Assassin, Exo-Politics, Take A Bow, Starlight, and City of Delusion are all better, harder-hitting rock songs than anyone else is capable of producing. Phenomenonal musical and lyrical artistry that absolutely cannot be matched by any Best album of the year. Muse's musical sophistication is unparallelled. Knights of Cydonia is the most creative rock song of the past few years, and Assassin, Exo-Politics, Take A Bow, Starlight, and City of Delusion are all better, harder-hitting rock songs than anyone else is capable of producing. Phenomenonal musical and lyrical artistry that absolutely cannot be matched by any band outside of possibly Radiohead at their very,very best. Expand
  83. MadelineH
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    great!!!
  84. kylef
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    this is muse best album yet i cant wait to c them in concert
  85. Emily
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Definitely their best album; however it wasn't love at first sight ;) map of problematique's probably the best song i've heard in a long, long time-love the samples used in it.
  86. Amelia
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    oh my god... brilliant - it hasn't left my cd player yet
  87. DavidC
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    This CD ranks right along with the last two Muse CD's as being one of the most addictive works of modern rock. One can play this music over and over and its continues to hit that cord in your brain where you look forward to the hearing it again and nothing else will do.
  88. RichR
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck yeah, there's some U2 in there, some Radiohead, but they're an insanely energetic and creative band in their own right, and they give the crowd their alll onstage. I love this band. I love this record. I give it a 15! Expand
  89. time
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    I agree with the British magazies. A epic, dazzling masterpiece. I guess us Americans don't like the brits getting all political and in our business but Muse keeps it from going to far. Don't listen to Spin. They put My Chemical Romance in their top 5 and they named the computer modem as album of the year in 2000. Rolling Stone is a joke. That's all I have to say about them.
  90. RickyD
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and explodes in your face and 'Knights of Cydonia' the fantastic prog feel with that amazing riff at the end. I saw them last year at wembley arena fantatsic, going to see them again at wembley stadium (90,000+ seater)they've sold out 2 nights there so you tell me a band who can do that are no good(to the people who slate them)then your mad. Expand
  91. ShengW
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    best album of the year
  92. AnaJ
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I had to listen to the album a couple of times to really appreciate it, but it has become one of my favorites. Some feel that the lead singer is too passionate, but it just emphasizes the fact that he truly believes what he is singing. I suggest everyon give it several listens before passing judgement
  93. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    The best of 2006. Heavy music has to sound good for me to put up with it, and this dose it for me. I could listen to this whole albume from the start to finish and then some. You don't like harder music?Well it sucks to be you, in this case.
  94. MadelineH
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    great!!!
  95. JustinK.
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    with Black Holes and Revelations, Muse have reinvented the meaning of the word "genre". Every song is different in its own respects, and almost every song is noteworthy. Only muse could make a song about a natural space phenomenon be so cool (supermassive blackhole).
  96. FrancoisB.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    MUSE is just the creators of masterpieces. Any retarded person that gives this album a bad rating is a sad case that should stick to its RAVE and DANCE music, boom-boom-boom-boom-boom. Muse has redefined the music industry with awesome, musical and captivating songs that is created by the musical master Matthew Bellamy and his mates
  97. DemetrioH.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This album is a truly majestic mix of harmony, soul and cutting edge rock n roll. Everything that Radiohead should have been.
  98. StephanieT
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    I think the Band is awesome... and need to come to ONTARIO more often!! but keep the work up and keep jamming!!
  99. DomW
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Would love to give it a 10 but nothing is perfect is it? For some reason 'Map of the Problematique' brings me to tears of joy when I listen to it - almost like a biological reaction. Any band which can take me to such incredible soaring highs in a dead sober state must have some sort of magical alchemy. Can't wait for their next album.
  100. JimB
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing album, but I'm not surprised to see it get catcalls from the anti-prog brigade (Rolling Stone, Spin, etc).
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. Black Holes and Revelations isn’t a perfect record but it’s a worthy addition to an already stellar catalog. [#14]
  3. It shouldn't work, but Bellamy's mania is so convincingly realised that even the most avowed Muse refusenik may have to finally concede defeat.