Black Holes & Revelations

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 428 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 428

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Electronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are theElectronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are the masters of modern rock, clearly shaped by this album.

    Though not my favourite Muse album, this is one hell of a piece, with brilliant solos, gritty solos, mesmerizing vocals, and catchy melodies. Though that doesn't necessarily make a good album, Muse have succeeded. From the flow of Take A Bow (an incredible electronic piece) into Starlight and Supermassive Black Hole (two songs so massive they have become the most recognized Muse hits of all time), and into the heights of masterpieces of Map of the Problematique and Invincible, this is strong, and hard hitting, and the definition of Muse. Though Soldier's Poem ruins the flow after the brilliant and monstrous Map of the Problematique (an epic piece, by far considered one of Muse's greatest works), Invincible surely makes up for it, bombarding us with powerful solos and haunting lyrics. The pace picks up again with the heavy and intentionally heavy Assasin and Exo-Politics (both prominent in their conspiracy-lead Bellamy lyrics) into the relaxing City of Delusion (though using strong progressions and lyrics so powerful, you'll never want it to end).

    Hoodoo and Knights of Cydonia follow, two flawless pieces of music, lyrics so powerful and current, progressions so intriguing, guitar solos and piano experiments prominent throughout, they close a perfect album. Though the overall track listing isn't brilliantly placed, Black Holes & Revelations is a triumph, and one of Muse's greatest albums. Ever.

    Overall Score: 10/10
    Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    Muse strikes me as a combination of Radiohead, ELO, and Rush. Just saw them at Staples Center for the first time and was blown away. But going home and hearing this album solidified my admiration of this band. Great stuff.
  3. MarkL
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    I hadn't paid much attention to Muse in the past, but this is just incredible. The first 3 tracks are an amazing opening to an album that doesn't stop giving, reaching its peak at Knights of Cydonia. Surely they can't improve on this.
  4. HansG
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    Muse gets better with every album.Best album of 2006!
  5. borgy
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This could possibly be their best album, It's spacey, Every song sounds completely different... Muse have just gotten better and better i didnt even think they could top "Absolution".
  6. StewartP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    As spoken by the musican himself, Matthew Bellamy, this is their best album to date. Of course the previous albums are classics, but so will this album a few years down the road. Muse have only grown and the shows in the album with Matt's matureing voice, diverse guitar antics, Dom's inriched drumming, and Chris's killer bass. heres to the greatest live band of our generation.
  7. DomG
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album. Cannot stop listening to it, the best of 2006.
  8. ThomasB
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Muse's best album to date, featuring some of Matt Bellamy's best musical ideas.
  9. PatH
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    It just keeps getting better and better
  10. FelipeP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Fantastic Album! Muse come back with threir most pretencious ans acessible album for everyboy. Fantastic group, beautiful songs. Knigts of Cydonia is Probally one of the best tracks of Muse. They are on the way!
  11. SamH
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Its The Best Album I've Ever Heared
  12. GraemeS.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I only really got into Muse when Absolution was released, and, even though I never thought I would say this, this album is better than Absolution. Classical rock at its best.
  13. AlexW.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Excellent album. Map of the Problematique is probably my favorite track.
  14. PhineasG
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until you see them live, so go see muse live! Expand
  15. GeorgeF
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    It's their most complete record. It's not perfect, but almost, and therefore it's one of the best records I've listened this year by far. It's epic, it's funny, it's catchy and it's sophisticated. Outstanding.
  16. RobertJ
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which will join that company of those other unreputed classics. It really is that good. Iv'e never noticed Muse before or been a fan but this is simply breathtaking. A must buy. Expand
  17. StephenC
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like "Hoodoo" and "City Of Delusion" - Flamenco space rock the order of the day! From the melodic acoustics of the quite magnificent "Soldiers Poem" to the epic horse-back rampage that is "Knights Of Cydonia", Muse have done it again. This will please the die hard Muse fans, but is diverse and stunning enough to attract a whole new following. Top bombing. Expand
  18. LizR
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the best record I have heard all year. Expand
  19. Mark
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Knights of Cydonia is absolutely without a doubt the best song I've heard so far this century. Definately pick this one up. Hell, pick up a copy for a friend too. Expand
  20. [Anonymous]
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Utterly amazing. Muse consistantly exceeds expectations from albuk to the next, delivering the same calibre of spectacular musicianship and songsmithing that they always have.
  21. TobyF
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Even my non-Muse fan friends were humming the tunes after 1 listen.
  22. RonanH
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Don't pay any heed to what Pitchfork says. The best album Muse have ever made. And also one of the albums of the year. Every song is a highlight.
  23. MattD.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    Gloriously grandiose, and unlike any album I've ever heard!
  24. markc
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    surely one of the best british rock albums ever
  25. LuisC
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    album of the year. prog, eclectic, powerfull, perfect!!!!!!!
  26. PitchforkaretheworstsiteontheentireWeb
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up their opinions other than "because I don't like it". Expand
  27. LakeT
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Words can't describe how good this album is. Flawless, full of energy. Likely to be the best album of the year and one of the best of this century.
  28. alanusmeritocracy
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    a brilliant exciting album, best this year, cant wait to see this band and hear these tracks live.
  29. HjyytzS
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    The BEST Muse album!!
  30. AlexP
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    boring? am i reading that right? this is an amazing mix of space-funk-rock-something that left me amazed from start to finish.... kinghts of cydonia is an epic piece of technical mastery, possibly the best song ive heard this year... i could go on i'm sure, i'll leave it simply that this is amazing and entertaining throughout, bar none...
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. Under The Radar
    70
    Black Holes and Revelations isn’t a perfect record but it’s a worthy addition to an already stellar catalog. [#14]
  3. It shouldn't work, but Bellamy's mania is so convincingly realised that even the most avowed Muse refusenik may have to finally concede defeat.