Black Holes & Revelations

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 429 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 429

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkL
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    I hadn't paid much attention to Muse in the past, but this is just incredible. The first 3 tracks are an amazing opening to an album that doesn't stop giving, reaching its peak at Knights of Cydonia. Surely they can't improve on this.
  2. HansG
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    Muse gets better with every album.Best album of 2006!
  3. borgy
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This could possibly be their best album, It's spacey, Every song sounds completely different... Muse have just gotten better and better i didnt even think they could top "Absolution".
  4. StewartP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    As spoken by the musican himself, Matthew Bellamy, this is their best album to date. Of course the previous albums are classics, but so will this album a few years down the road. Muse have only grown and the shows in the album with Matt's matureing voice, diverse guitar antics, Dom's inriched drumming, and Chris's killer bass. heres to the greatest live band of our generation.
  5. DomG
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album. Cannot stop listening to it, the best of 2006.
  6. ThomasB
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Muse's best album to date, featuring some of Matt Bellamy's best musical ideas.
  7. PatH
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    It just keeps getting better and better
  8. FelipeP
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Fantastic Album! Muse come back with threir most pretencious ans acessible album for everyboy. Fantastic group, beautiful songs. Knigts of Cydonia is Probally one of the best tracks of Muse. They are on the way!
  9. SamH
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Its The Best Album I've Ever Heared
  10. GraemeS.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I only really got into Muse when Absolution was released, and, even though I never thought I would say this, this album is better than Absolution. Classical rock at its best.
  11. AlexW.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Excellent album. Map of the Problematique is probably my favorite track.
  12. PhineasG
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until you see them live, so go see muse live! Expand
  13. GeorgeF
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    It's their most complete record. It's not perfect, but almost, and therefore it's one of the best records I've listened this year by far. It's epic, it's funny, it's catchy and it's sophisticated. Outstanding.
  14. RobertJ
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which Think what it must have been like when say Seargent Pepper, Dark Side of The Moon or Led Zep 4 were first released and you were in at the birth of that rare thing, a classic album. I was there for The Joshua Tree and Definetly Mayve and this is proably the third such classic album Iv'e been priveledged enough to be in at the start for. Well this is one of those masterpieces which will join that company of those other unreputed classics. It really is that good. Iv'e never noticed Muse before or been a fan but this is simply breathtaking. A must buy. Expand
  15. StephenC
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like This album is truly fantastic, and stands out as Muse's finest work yet. It actually feels like a "very best of", simply because of the huge range of sounds and styles encompassed onto one flawless disc. There's the classic Muse we all know and adore, underlined in the multi-staged "Invincible" with a huge tapping solo, but there's definitely a new direction in tracks like "Hoodoo" and "City Of Delusion" - Flamenco space rock the order of the day! From the melodic acoustics of the quite magnificent "Soldiers Poem" to the epic horse-back rampage that is "Knights Of Cydonia", Muse have done it again. This will please the die hard Muse fans, but is diverse and stunning enough to attract a whole new following. Top bombing. Expand
  16. LizR
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the I have been following Muse's career since Showbiz, and I am thrilled beyond words with Black Holes and Revelations. They are stunning musicians and this album is a keen and unusual creative leap. Muse is the rare group that combines passion with superb musicianship, and catchy hooks. Their time changes are worthy of Led Zeppelin, and their feedback worthy of Sonic Youth. This is the best record I have heard all year. Expand
  17. Alix
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    This album is an amazing piece of museness! Every song is unique and completely loveable! It's a perfect example of why I tell people they should bow down before muse! XD
  18. Mark
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Wow!!! I definately didn't expect Muse to put out the best album of the year. I absolutely love Absolution, but this far exceeds that album in size and scope. Every song fits in perfectly where it was placed. Every note is played with such intensity and meaning. The fact that this album rocks so hard and with so much meaning absolutely blows me away. The crushing crescendo that is Knights of Cydonia is absolutely without a doubt the best song I've heard so far this century. Definately pick this one up. Hell, pick up a copy for a friend too. Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Utterly amazing. Muse consistantly exceeds expectations from albuk to the next, delivering the same calibre of spectacular musicianship and songsmithing that they always have.
  20. TobyF
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Even my non-Muse fan friends were humming the tunes after 1 listen.
  21. RonanH
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Don't pay any heed to what Pitchfork says. The best album Muse have ever made. And also one of the albums of the year. Every song is a highlight.
  22. markc
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    surely one of the best british rock albums ever
  23. LuisC
    Jul 23, 2006
    10
    album of the year. prog, eclectic, powerfull, perfect!!!!!!!
  24. PitchforkaretheworstsiteontheentireWeb
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up And what music has Pitchfork's critic produced lately that we can have a snide little listen to then? Really, Pitchfork reviewers, if you can't even acknowledge that this album is bursting with different styles and ideas, you're stone deaf. The sign of a worthless critic (oxymoron, I know) is one who's willing to destructively criticise without anything to back up their opinions other than "because I don't like it". Expand
  25. lukyh
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    This should be the album of the year!!! provided that U do not take it too seriously. Thank God thay have changed their direction a bit...
  26. ElvenL
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    The Best Muse Album. In My Fave 5 Albums List
  27. LakeT
    Jul 5, 2006
    10
    Words can't describe how good this album is. Flawless, full of energy. Likely to be the best album of the year and one of the best of this century.
  28. alanusmeritocracy
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    a brilliant exciting album, best this year, cant wait to see this band and hear these tracks live.
  29. HjyytzS
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    The BEST Muse album!!
  30. AlexP
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    boring? am i reading that right? this is an amazing mix of space-funk-rock-something that left me amazed from start to finish.... kinghts of cydonia is an epic piece of technical mastery, possibly the best song ive heard this year... i could go on i'm sure, i'll leave it simply that this is amazing and entertaining throughout, bar none...
  31. AlbertoG
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of 2006
  32. AllenW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    A simply outstanding album that blew me away
  33. AliB
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    MUSE have done great in taking a new direction but keeping their sound. like all previous albums of this band, it's a masterpiece. Assassin, Knights of Cydonia, Take a Bow, etc. are all classics.
  34. KevinN.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. It's sounds big, powerful, and moving. Masterfully mixed, "Black Holes and Revelations" also has a classical, operatic feel to it. As I listen, my jaw drops and I get goosebumps. Expand
  35. Andrew
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Inspirational.
  36. musehatersareweird
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    It is very hard if not impossible to dislike muse especially since now they've ditched the radiohead copycat sound for good and gone for proper prog rock moves this is album is brilliant and is probably the most accessible yet since they've started playing around in new genres. an essential purchase.
  37. BarryW
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Like all their other albums this is an absolute classic, not one bad track, they just seem to knock out one decent tune after another, brilliant,
  38. Fcuker
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely different. After MCR's The Black Parade this is up there as album of the year Expand
  39. SachinP
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Their most complex and satisfying album to date, with genre-bursting tracks and plenty of overblown prog insanity. Matt Bellamy is, in effect, god.
  40. NickM
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    this album is simply amazing, i dont even know how to describe it, MUSE is solidly placed as one of the most outstanding band of this, or any generation, and i cant wait to see them live again, this time July 30th, rock on boys, rock ON!
  41. JeffN
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    I don't want to say that all the people who rate this album poorly have bad taste in music... but all the people who rate this album poorly have bad taste in music.
  42. luiss
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    listen this album...till the end...amazing with new influences...
  43. MattA
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    I love this album... It fits well with their library and is welcome in my book. Gotta love Starlight, Exo-politics, and Supermassive Black Hole
  44. TomK
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    Brilliant from start to finish. Not only my favorite Muse album but my favorite music album ever. Impressive stuff.
  45. JohnA
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    In one word, ESPECTACULAR.
  46. MarcoG
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Those who claim that this album is nothing short of spectacular don't know anything about music. Easily the best album of the year.
  47. Jo
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Yes a 10 (actually a 9,5 really)... This album is a real grower, while I would have given it a 7 at first listen, a beauty like Hoodoo can only be discovered after listening 4- 5 times decently to it. Also Exo-Politics and Invincible are rel growers, now they're one of the standouts for me. Other favourites are the catchy though haunting Starlight, Knights of Cydonia and the cool Yes a 10 (actually a 9,5 really)... This album is a real grower, while I would have given it a 7 at first listen, a beauty like Hoodoo can only be discovered after listening 4- 5 times decently to it. Also Exo-Politics and Invincible are rel growers, now they're one of the standouts for me. Other favourites are the catchy though haunting Starlight, Knights of Cydonia and the cool anergy of Map of the Problematique. Even the -in my opinion- weaker tracks of the album are still very good (Take a Bow, Supermassive). A huge step forward with lots of experimentation that turned out to be very succesfull ! Fantastic, can't stop listening! Expand
  48. S
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Better than absolution and on par with showbiz, this album only fails to rival OOS owing to the fact that I want more piano in it. But with 5 classics (Knights of Cydonia, City Of Delusion, Exo-Politics, Map Of The Problematique and Take A Bow) and 5 very good songs (Assasin, Invincible, Hoodoo, Starlight And Supermassive Blackhole) with only Soldier's Poem acting as short and sweet Better than absolution and on par with showbiz, this album only fails to rival OOS owing to the fact that I want more piano in it. But with 5 classics (Knights of Cydonia, City Of Delusion, Exo-Politics, Map Of The Problematique and Take A Bow) and 5 very good songs (Assasin, Invincible, Hoodoo, Starlight And Supermassive Blackhole) with only Soldier's Poem acting as short and sweet filler, this is a stunning album and worth the wait. Certainly the album of 2006 so far. Expand
  49. UZiR
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Absolution is nothing compared to this. nothing.
  50. WillS
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    It is very hard to compare muse's different albums to each other as better or worse, but I must say that I think this album is amazing. I tend to think that the people giving it 2s and 3s just don't understand it or haven't listened to it in the right setting or maybe they were expecting something else and can't shake those expectations. The critics are also loving or It is very hard to compare muse's different albums to each other as better or worse, but I must say that I think this album is amazing. I tend to think that the people giving it 2s and 3s just don't understand it or haven't listened to it in the right setting or maybe they were expecting something else and can't shake those expectations. The critics are also loving or hating it. Way to go Muse. Expand
  51. ThomasR
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    I agree that this album is very different from their other albums... yet it still it unmistakingly sounds like Muse! They have managed to get inspired by a vast amount of bands and musical styles ,eg. Radiohead, System of a down, Flamenco, Prince and I even hear a faint of barbershop quertet in Poem of a soldier :-)! Just to name a few! And as no other band I have ever seen before they I agree that this album is very different from their other albums... yet it still it unmistakingly sounds like Muse! They have managed to get inspired by a vast amount of bands and musical styles ,eg. Radiohead, System of a down, Flamenco, Prince and I even hear a faint of barbershop quertet in Poem of a soldier :-)! Just to name a few! And as no other band I have ever seen before they have managed to pull it all together into a magnificent album that while sounding like nothing that Muse has ever made still manages to sound exactly like Muse... just more varied! Even though I loved the previous albums and was feel a little dissapointed that some of the magnificent riffs and insane crescendos of Bellamy are gone I still have to classify this album as epic. Anyway, I wouldn't want Muse to make the same mistake as Nickelback and Linkin Park, where every song and album sounds alike! Expand
  52. Jules
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    I seem to be one of the few long term Muse fans that feels this latest is their best by some distance. I got into them with lonely obssession with Showbiz and have been more impressed with each new release. I am no automatic fanboy but I genuinely think they've got better with each release. Each one has been increasingly less earnest and more playful - this latest is a wonderful I seem to be one of the few long term Muse fans that feels this latest is their best by some distance. I got into them with lonely obssession with Showbiz and have been more impressed with each new release. I am no automatic fanboy but I genuinely think they've got better with each release. Each one has been increasingly less earnest and more playful - this latest is a wonderful carnival of sound that remains intense but has a new found love of life, less broodingly gothic. It is a great sci-fi western blockbuster with heart - if you want angular experimentalism go for TV on the Radio, if you want brooding introversion go for Thom Yorke, if you want to go to the big top for some intelligent, intense thrills, head for some black holes and revelations! Expand
  53. Meries
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    1 word: Sublime! Surpasses all my expectations
  54. CrownL
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Though it has a slightly more commercial feel to it then any of their previous work, it is still a masterpiece. I don't want to say if it's their best album to date, as i think their last three albums are all masterpieces in their own way, but this is certainly a great album. One of the things that really sets it apart is it's incredible variety. It has funky dance tunes Though it has a slightly more commercial feel to it then any of their previous work, it is still a masterpiece. I don't want to say if it's their best album to date, as i think their last three albums are all masterpieces in their own way, but this is certainly a great album. One of the things that really sets it apart is it's incredible variety. It has funky dance tunes (Supermassive Black Hole), Soft Ballads (A Soldiers Poem, Hoodoo), And epic anthems (Invinceble, City Of Delusion and of course Knights Of Cydonia). Overall it is a fantastic achievement that not only broadens Muse apeal, but also takes their music to another level. Expand
  55. LukasP
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Album of the year!!!!!!!! I love them:-)
  56. MichaelC
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year. Muse's musical sophistication is unparallelled. Knights of Cydonia is the most creative rock song of the past few years, and Assassin, Exo-Politics, Take A Bow, Starlight, and City of Delusion are all better, harder-hitting rock songs than anyone else is capable of producing. Phenomenonal musical and lyrical artistry that absolutely cannot be matched by any Best album of the year. Muse's musical sophistication is unparallelled. Knights of Cydonia is the most creative rock song of the past few years, and Assassin, Exo-Politics, Take A Bow, Starlight, and City of Delusion are all better, harder-hitting rock songs than anyone else is capable of producing. Phenomenonal musical and lyrical artistry that absolutely cannot be matched by any band outside of possibly Radiohead at their very,very best. Expand
  57. kylef
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    this is muse best album yet i cant wait to c them in concert
  58. Emily
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Definitely their best album; however it wasn't love at first sight ;) map of problematique's probably the best song i've heard in a long, long time-love the samples used in it.
  59. Amelia
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    oh my god... brilliant - it hasn't left my cd player yet
  60. DavidC
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    This CD ranks right along with the last two Muse CD's as being one of the most addictive works of modern rock. One can play this music over and over and its continues to hit that cord in your brain where you look forward to the hearing it again and nothing else will do.
  61. RichR
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck yeah, there's some U2 in there, some Radiohead, but they're an insanely energetic and creative band in their own right, and they give the crowd their alll onstage. I love this band. I love this record. I give it a 15! Expand
  62. time
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    I agree with the British magazies. A epic, dazzling masterpiece. I guess us Americans don't like the brits getting all political and in our business but Muse keeps it from going to far. Don't listen to Spin. They put My Chemical Romance in their top 5 and they named the computer modem as album of the year in 2000. Rolling Stone is a joke. That's all I have to say about them.
  63. RickyD
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and explodes in your face and 'Knights of Cydonia' the fantastic prog feel with that amazing riff at the end. I saw them last year at wembley arena fantatsic, going to see them again at wembley stadium (90,000+ seater)they've sold out 2 nights there so you tell me a band who can do that are no good(to the people who slate them)then your mad. Expand
  64. ShengW
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    best album of the year
  65. AnaJ
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I had to listen to the album a couple of times to really appreciate it, but it has become one of my favorites. Some feel that the lead singer is too passionate, but it just emphasizes the fact that he truly believes what he is singing. I suggest everyon give it several listens before passing judgement
  66. MadelineH
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    great!!!
  67. FrancoisB.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    MUSE is just the creators of masterpieces. Any retarded person that gives this album a bad rating is a sad case that should stick to its RAVE and DANCE music, boom-boom-boom-boom-boom. Muse has redefined the music industry with awesome, musical and captivating songs that is created by the musical master Matthew Bellamy and his mates
  68. DemetrioH.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This album is a truly majestic mix of harmony, soul and cutting edge rock n roll. Everything that Radiohead should have been.
  69. StephanieT
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    I think the Band is awesome... and need to come to ONTARIO more often!! but keep the work up and keep jamming!!
  70. JimB
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing album, but I'm not surprised to see it get catcalls from the anti-prog brigade (Rolling Stone, Spin, etc).
  71. JackG
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    I don't know how you can ask for more. I don't understand how someone can give them a zero either unless Matt Bellamy spit in his face. Map of the Problematique, Hoodoo, Knights of Cydonia, City of Delusion are enough to give any Muse fans enough to keep their hands full until their next album
  72. JulianG
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    After Absolution I never thought they could do it again. But...
  73. JonR
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Best Muse Album?? Absolution may have the commercial success. Origin of Symmetry may have the underground vote. But my vote goes to Black Holes & Revelations!!! Much love to Knights of Cydonia, Supemassive, and Assassin.
  74. oriean
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    More crescendos and swells of emotion and musical tension than perhaps anything they've done in the past, and that's just in the first track alone. This is one of those classic albums that - love it or hate it - will surely be talked about for decades to come... which inevitably makes it a prime contender for best album of the year.
  75. JaneP
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    Beauty, chaos, truth, and BRILLIANCE!
  76. AbnerW
    Jul 19, 2006
    10
    A divergence from Absolution, but great nonetheless. Certainly the most interesting thing in music at this moment. All Hail the Epic!
  77. fraserj
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    sheer brilliance -> queen have just been out-queened
  78. AlasdairK
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    A brilliant return to form. After the samey-samey sounds of Absolution, Black Holes shows the bands diversity, while still sounding like 'Muse'.
  79. Ben
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    The most awesome album i have ever heard in my life. Brilliant! Amazing!
  80. chrisd
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    muse's black holes and revelations is one of my favorite albums that i own. This cd is a little different from their previous three, but i think it is just brilliant. Starlight, Knight of Cydonia, and Map of the Problematique are my favorites on the cd.
  81. rickyj
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal in every way. It flows with a certain "oomph" that never lets you down. Half romantic, half rebellious, fully awesome.
  82. KylieO
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    This album is amazing. All the songs sound unique and top-notch. Supermassive Black Hole and Starlight are especially great. Muse's best album yet.
  83. chrisc
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite albums of all time. 33? I'm simply speechless that someone could listen to this and rate it that low? WTF do you want? More country music? More eyeliner punk/pop? More bow-wow-wow or whatever the Fk?
  84. RyanM
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    An absolute MASTERCLASS in exsquisite songwriting. A behemoth of an album. Every song is sheer perfection. Youd have to be dense not to appreciate the beauty of tracks such as Hoodoo, assassin and city of delusion. 100% over the top theatrics and loving it, this album propels the listener to ecstacy until they punch their fist in the air "F**K YEAH!" NMUSE we salute you. To recap BUY IT, An absolute MASTERCLASS in exsquisite songwriting. A behemoth of an album. Every song is sheer perfection. Youd have to be dense not to appreciate the beauty of tracks such as Hoodoo, assassin and city of delusion. 100% over the top theatrics and loving it, this album propels the listener to ecstacy until they punch their fist in the air "F**K YEAH!" NMUSE we salute you. To recap BUY IT, ITS PERFECT! Expand
  85. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    Stunning. This album has everything. It has rock (most importantly), electronica, pop, acoustics and classic rock vocals. It saw Muse slide even further into that commercial sound, but this time, that was the key. It put them on the map as a permanent fixture. They took what made them brilliant and emphasised it. The more elaborate the better. Thankfully, they also held on to just enoughStunning. This album has everything. It has rock (most importantly), electronica, pop, acoustics and classic rock vocals. It saw Muse slide even further into that commercial sound, but this time, that was the key. It put them on the map as a permanent fixture. They took what made them brilliant and emphasised it. The more elaborate the better. Thankfully, they also held on to just enough darkness and mystery to remain credible in the alternative world. Expand
  86. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The Best Muse Album EVER! So many amazing songs, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight, Map of the Problematique,City of Delusion. Thev whole god damn album is brilliant. Muse is a perfect example of what every modern band should be, from Matt bellamy's epic guitar riffs and voice like freddie Mercury, The groovy bass lines from chris and Dom's incredible drumming, Blakc Holes and Revelations isThe Best Muse Album EVER! So many amazing songs, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight, Map of the Problematique,City of Delusion. Thev whole god damn album is brilliant. Muse is a perfect example of what every modern band should be, from Matt bellamy's epic guitar riffs and voice like freddie Mercury, The groovy bass lines from chris and Dom's incredible drumming, Blakc Holes and Revelations is one of those albums you should listen to before you die. Expand
  87. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is alternative rock at it's most powerful. Muse have given us a loud and beautiful album filled with music that's simply inspiring. A breathtaking album.
  88. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite album by Muse. The way they have made all the songs is just flawless. It sounds so awesome, not a single day goes by when I don't listen to any song off this record.
  89. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Electronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are theElectronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are the masters of modern rock, clearly shaped by this album.

    Though not my favourite Muse album, this is one hell of a piece, with brilliant solos, gritty solos, mesmerizing vocals, and catchy melodies. Though that doesn't necessarily make a good album, Muse have succeeded. From the flow of Take A Bow (an incredible electronic piece) into Starlight and Supermassive Black Hole (two songs so massive they have become the most recognized Muse hits of all time), and into the heights of masterpieces of Map of the Problematique and Invincible, this is strong, and hard hitting, and the definition of Muse. Though Soldier's Poem ruins the flow after the brilliant and monstrous Map of the Problematique (an epic piece, by far considered one of Muse's greatest works), Invincible surely makes up for it, bombarding us with powerful solos and haunting lyrics. The pace picks up again with the heavy and intentionally heavy Assasin and Exo-Politics (both prominent in their conspiracy-lead Bellamy lyrics) into the relaxing City of Delusion (though using strong progressions and lyrics so powerful, you'll never want it to end).

    Hoodoo and Knights of Cydonia follow, two flawless pieces of music, lyrics so powerful and current, progressions so intriguing, guitar solos and piano experiments prominent throughout, they close a perfect album. Though the overall track listing isn't brilliantly placed, Black Holes & Revelations is a triumph, and one of Muse's greatest albums. Ever.

    Overall Score: 10/10
    Expand
  90. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Astonishing, big, nay epic, absurd, provocative, experimental.. all of these words are trying to describe muses new album Black holes and revelations. Filled with spacey melodies, lyrics that are infuriating who ever is on the top of the world, this album is pushing the limits so far that just for a moment you are left dazed until that grandeur hits you again making your brain totallyAstonishing, big, nay epic, absurd, provocative, experimental.. all of these words are trying to describe muses new album Black holes and revelations. Filled with spacey melodies, lyrics that are infuriating who ever is on the top of the world, this album is pushing the limits so far that just for a moment you are left dazed until that grandeur hits you again making your brain totally numb. The album opener Take a bow is and art electronic rock piece that fills you with the necessary energy enabling you to endure the power of the album. Political and violent, musically huge and utterly brilliant, this song is just one of those muse space rock classics. Album continues with starlight, the tit song, which lowers your expectations a bit with simple, non experimental fusion of instruments. This song gives you the impression of an ordinary love song, even though it doesn't necessarily need to be one. Things are getting back on track with supermassive black hole. A song so different from anything you've heard, makes you feel like being inside a spacey disco filled with people high on shrooms. Musically out of this world as well. Then comes the peace after the storm in shape of soldiers poem. With it being light and ordinary in structure, the end product is surprisingly good. The harmony is perfected. Invincible is a song created as a love one, but not between lovers but fellow people, all people. A song that is practically an invitation for people to form unity and peace and as well revolution against those who are pulling us down, you know the famous 'they'. The line 'Together we're invincible' quite clearly states that when united no one could do us any harm. A classic musey space rock song containing a riff worthy of the best. Assassin is a heavier song furthering the idea of a revolution, but the central theme is brainwashing, that is creating people with no identities assassins. City of delusion is a progressive song filled with even more rage against 'those' but here is necessary to highlight the musical genius of the band as they've fused the sound of acoustic guitar with trumpets, damn good trumpets, wobly sounds and synthesisers that at parts it resembles the sounds of the middle east. The song as a whole gives goosebumps, especially the euroasian influences. Another song that uses synthesisers brilliantly is map of the problematique. An electronic piece, resembling depeche mode, is just a proof of what musical achievements the Devon trio are capable of. Exo politics, musically, again brings alternative space rock to the new level while keeping the theme of an fake alien invasion going. There are two songs left which I'll describe in two sentences as if there were no boundaries each of these songs would need an essay to analyze. First of them is knights of cydonia. This song is one of the best songs muse have composed, an ode to freedom which is significant for the reason that it is one one the best prog songs made, a frankly unforgettable experience. Hoodoo, on the other hand, is one of the best songs of the last decade, no further description needed. As you prepare to insert the cd into whatever drive you want, just remember that you have the chance to open yourselves a door into space. Ladies and gentleman, brace yourselves. Expand
  91. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Matt Bellamy's range as a songwriter continues to grow more complex, more absurd, and more bombastic with Black Holes and Revelations, which stands out even in Muse's distinguished discography as a masterpiece. From the opening synths in "Take a Bow" to the unbridled chaos at the end of "Knights of Cydonia," Bellamy has written 11 songs that stand alone brilliantly, but come together toMatt Bellamy's range as a songwriter continues to grow more complex, more absurd, and more bombastic with Black Holes and Revelations, which stands out even in Muse's distinguished discography as a masterpiece. From the opening synths in "Take a Bow" to the unbridled chaos at the end of "Knights of Cydonia," Bellamy has written 11 songs that stand alone brilliantly, but come together to tell a tale of government corruption and/or alien invasion.

    See, even Muse isn't sure what they're writing about! This chaos characterizes Black Holes and Revelations. High points: Exo-Politics, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight
    Low points: Assassin
    Expand
  92. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    the best album of muse, & the first album of the great band that I heard, this album & showbiz are the best muse albums, I think that are the perfect albums, just for me, and only for me
  93. Sep 29, 2016
    10
    One of best progress-rock album ever made. Every song of this album are very good, valuable.They showed to people themselves talent. Matt Bellamy's guitar, piano skills considered "One of best musicians of all time".
  94. May 3, 2015
    10
    Most notable:
    +Starlight
    +Supermassive Black Hole
    +Map of the Problematique
    +Exo-Politics
    +City of Delusion
    +Knights of Cydonia

    This isn't even Muse's best album.
  95. Sep 23, 2016
    10
    Not only is every song on this album a near classic - and the album itself can take that status of one of the strongest albums of the past 15 years - but the lyrics, the guitar work and Matt Bellamy's vocals are all in flawless condition. Which is the best way to describe this album: an absolutely flawless collection of music.
    Verdict: A+
  96. AndrewV
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    wanted to give 9.5 this album is absolutely astonishing. from the moment the first note is heard to the epic last track (one of my favs by the way) i have chills. The only thing is that it ends too soon, thus the 9.5
  97. MatthewC
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    Amazing! their best album. Assassin is my fav muse song of all time!
  98. MarvAlbert
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    Muse always amazes me. The first track sets the tone of the album perfectly as you go through the ups and downs and different moods of the rest of the tracks. I usually hate any efx but Muse uses them to perfection. If you havn't already get "Absolution" it's also incredible!!!
  99. KateB.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    I love this album, I just wish sometimes it would be a little more subtle. Other than that, I think it is brilliant, and would recommend it to anyone!
  100. AndyH
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Don't judge it straightaway. Besides some obvious standouts it didn't blow me away until the third listen. If you like Muse, you'll love this. They are going to be awesome live!!!
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. Under The Radar
    70
    Black Holes and Revelations isn’t a perfect record but it’s a worthy addition to an already stellar catalog. [#14]
  3. It shouldn't work, but Bellamy's mania is so convincingly realised that even the most avowed Muse refusenik may have to finally concede defeat.