Black Holes & Revelations

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 432 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 432

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 24, 2017
    8
    Another fantastic album by Muse, after band's masterpiece "Absolution", Matthew Bellamy's band shows that it wasn't only luck: they have such a huge potential.
    Some songs are a little repetitive but the quality of music is really high.
  2. Jan 23, 2017
    9
    Muse are one of the few bands to cross the breach into mainstream successfully and sound better after doing so. BH&R successfully sets the standard for all bands making that jump. It's powerful, it's heavy, it's loud, it's catchy, and it's still distinctively Muse. The only thing I wish they would have brought with them is the length of their previous albums, as this one ends before you're ready.
  3. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    Stunning. This album has everything. It has rock (most importantly), electronica, pop, acoustics and classic rock vocals. It saw Muse slide even further into that commercial sound, but this time, that was the key. It put them on the map as a permanent fixture. They took what made them brilliant and emphasised it. The more elaborate the better. Thankfully, they also held on to just enoughStunning. This album has everything. It has rock (most importantly), electronica, pop, acoustics and classic rock vocals. It saw Muse slide even further into that commercial sound, but this time, that was the key. It put them on the map as a permanent fixture. They took what made them brilliant and emphasised it. The more elaborate the better. Thankfully, they also held on to just enough darkness and mystery to remain credible in the alternative world. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2016
    10
    One of best progress-rock album ever made. Every song of this album are very good, valuable.They showed to people themselves talent. Matt Bellamy's guitar, piano skills considered "One of best musicians of all time".
  5. Sep 23, 2016
    10
    Not only is every song on this album a near classic - and the album itself can take that status of one of the strongest albums of the past 15 years - but the lyrics, the guitar work and Matt Bellamy's vocals are all in flawless condition. Which is the best way to describe this album: an absolutely flawless collection of music.
    Verdict: A+
  6. Nov 13, 2015
    6
    Black Holes and Revelations, in my opinion, is the most rhythmic album that Muse has put out. It really feels like watching a classic B movie - it definitely has some great songs, some of which have become classics at this point (Starlight, Knights of Cydonia), and some of which have not (Exo-Politics, Hoodoo, etc.)

    However, this album feels bored. The concept is there, but the album is
    Black Holes and Revelations, in my opinion, is the most rhythmic album that Muse has put out. It really feels like watching a classic B movie - it definitely has some great songs, some of which have become classics at this point (Starlight, Knights of Cydonia), and some of which have not (Exo-Politics, Hoodoo, etc.)

    However, this album feels bored. The concept is there, but the album is unsatisfying and kind of boring to listen to. It's still enjoyable, but given the option, it's one of those albums you'd put aside thinking "maybe later" and finding something better.
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2015
    9
    Probably right after Origins of Symmetry, the greatest Muse record. It's the perfect fusion of the progressive and space rock genre they played in the previous records, and the experimentations and stylistic changes they will start to try from this point on. A true gem of experimental and progressive rock with tracks that rapidly became some of my favorite tunes ever (Assassin, Map of theProbably right after Origins of Symmetry, the greatest Muse record. It's the perfect fusion of the progressive and space rock genre they played in the previous records, and the experimentations and stylistic changes they will start to try from this point on. A true gem of experimental and progressive rock with tracks that rapidly became some of my favorite tunes ever (Assassin, Map of the Problematique, Knights of Cydonia, Supermassive Black Hole) and other songs that still to this day remain truly amazing (Starlight, City of Delusion, Exo-Politics).
    Some of the last songs sound somewhat uninspired, that is true, but overall the record manages to deliver so much that you start to forget of the little flaws there are.
    Expand
  8. May 21, 2015
    9
    Take A Bow is a swirling vortex that propels the listener into one of the best albums of the 2000's. Starlight is a classic; Map of the Problematique is my favorite Muse song of all time. Soldier's Poem is soft and sweet. Invincible is a great love song. Assassin's riffs blast the album back into fast-paced rock. Exo-Politics is like the birth of The Resistance album. City of Delusion isTake A Bow is a swirling vortex that propels the listener into one of the best albums of the 2000's. Starlight is a classic; Map of the Problematique is my favorite Muse song of all time. Soldier's Poem is soft and sweet. Invincible is a great love song. Assassin's riffs blast the album back into fast-paced rock. Exo-Politics is like the birth of The Resistance album. City of Delusion is great, Hoodoo is good. Knights of Cydonia is the killer track that Muse has never not played live since it came out. Glorious is a beautiful song as well, although nothing in comparison to Knights. Supermassive Black Hole is the only one I don't really like; it's still very catchy and fun, it just rubs me the wrong way for some reason. Just a personal preference thing. Other than that, this album is stellar. Expand
  9. May 3, 2015
    10
    Most notable:
    +Starlight
    +Supermassive Black Hole
    +Map of the Problematique
    +Exo-Politics
    +City of Delusion
    +Knights of Cydonia

    This isn't even Muse's best album.
  10. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    Excelente Álbum Hoodoo E City Of Delusion,são as fracas Assassin e Exo-Polotics também são um pouco.
    Top 5 Black Holes & Revelations 2006
    1-Starlight
    2-Map Of The Problematique
    3-Invincible
    4-Supermassive Black Hole
    5-Knights Of Cydonia
  11. Dec 14, 2014
    1
    Just to confirm, I love Muse and there are some good songs on this album. So why such a low score? Simple, the mastering on this album is absolutely appalling and it's almost unlistenable as a result.

    Take A Bow starts nicely, but by the end the drums are almost inaudible because the hyper-compression has squashed them completely out of the mix. The gratuitous digital clipping in
    Just to confirm, I love Muse and there are some good songs on this album. So why such a low score? Simple, the mastering on this album is absolutely appalling and it's almost unlistenable as a result.

    Take A Bow starts nicely, but by the end the drums are almost inaudible because the hyper-compression has squashed them completely out of the mix. The gratuitous digital clipping in SuperMassive Black Hole will make your ears bleed and Map Of The Problematique is just a solid wall of flat, muffled digital distortion from start to finish.

    Muse seriously need to get this album remastered by a professional. In it's current form, it's a potentially great album that has been absolutely destroyed by some of the worst mastering I've heard since Californication by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.
    Expand
  12. Dec 2, 2014
    7
    The good songs on this record are fantastic and include some of the best stuff Muse have produced. On the better moments the band get the balance between dramatic opera rock and heavy indie rock spot on. The likes of Supermassive Black Hole (one of the singles of 2006) and "Map of the problematique" have some real killer hooks going on. There are a handful of other catchy rockers on thereThe good songs on this record are fantastic and include some of the best stuff Muse have produced. On the better moments the band get the balance between dramatic opera rock and heavy indie rock spot on. The likes of Supermassive Black Hole (one of the singles of 2006) and "Map of the problematique" have some real killer hooks going on. There are a handful of other catchy rockers on there as well. Unfortunately, as often happens with Muse, for 30% of the album they disappear in the direction of up their backsides and the weaker tracks are very skipable. Contains some bankers for inclusion on the eventual "best of" and is as consistent an album as the band have produced. Far from brilliant but at the same time well worth a listen.  Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2014
    9
    Muse's 4th studio album may not be their best, but nonetheless, it is a beautiful record. It's a must have for a new Muse fanatic and collectors. It's almost perfect. 9/10 *

    *Muse is one of the few exceptions of modern day musical artists that are actually good.
  14. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    the best album of muse, & the first album of the great band that I heard, this album & showbiz are the best muse albums, I think that are the perfect albums, just for me, and only for me
  15. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Matt Bellamy's range as a songwriter continues to grow more complex, more absurd, and more bombastic with Black Holes and Revelations, which stands out even in Muse's distinguished discography as a masterpiece. From the opening synths in "Take a Bow" to the unbridled chaos at the end of "Knights of Cydonia," Bellamy has written 11 songs that stand alone brilliantly, but come together toMatt Bellamy's range as a songwriter continues to grow more complex, more absurd, and more bombastic with Black Holes and Revelations, which stands out even in Muse's distinguished discography as a masterpiece. From the opening synths in "Take a Bow" to the unbridled chaos at the end of "Knights of Cydonia," Bellamy has written 11 songs that stand alone brilliantly, but come together to tell a tale of government corruption and/or alien invasion.

    See, even Muse isn't sure what they're writing about! This chaos characterizes Black Holes and Revelations. High points: Exo-Politics, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight
    Low points: Assassin
    Expand
  16. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    Astonishing, big, nay epic, absurd, provocative, experimental.. all of these words are trying to describe muses new album Black holes and revelations. Filled with spacey melodies, lyrics that are infuriating who ever is on the top of the world, this album is pushing the limits so far that just for a moment you are left dazed until that grandeur hits you again making your brain totallyAstonishing, big, nay epic, absurd, provocative, experimental.. all of these words are trying to describe muses new album Black holes and revelations. Filled with spacey melodies, lyrics that are infuriating who ever is on the top of the world, this album is pushing the limits so far that just for a moment you are left dazed until that grandeur hits you again making your brain totally numb. The album opener Take a bow is and art electronic rock piece that fills you with the necessary energy enabling you to endure the power of the album. Political and violent, musically huge and utterly brilliant, this song is just one of those muse space rock classics. Album continues with starlight, the tit song, which lowers your expectations a bit with simple, non experimental fusion of instruments. This song gives you the impression of an ordinary love song, even though it doesn't necessarily need to be one. Things are getting back on track with supermassive black hole. A song so different from anything you've heard, makes you feel like being inside a spacey disco filled with people high on shrooms. Musically out of this world as well. Then comes the peace after the storm in shape of soldiers poem. With it being light and ordinary in structure, the end product is surprisingly good. The harmony is perfected. Invincible is a song created as a love one, but not between lovers but fellow people, all people. A song that is practically an invitation for people to form unity and peace and as well revolution against those who are pulling us down, you know the famous 'they'. The line 'Together we're invincible' quite clearly states that when united no one could do us any harm. A classic musey space rock song containing a riff worthy of the best. Assassin is a heavier song furthering the idea of a revolution, but the central theme is brainwashing, that is creating people with no identities assassins. City of delusion is a progressive song filled with even more rage against 'those' but here is necessary to highlight the musical genius of the band as they've fused the sound of acoustic guitar with trumpets, damn good trumpets, wobly sounds and synthesisers that at parts it resembles the sounds of the middle east. The song as a whole gives goosebumps, especially the euroasian influences. Another song that uses synthesisers brilliantly is map of the problematique. An electronic piece, resembling depeche mode, is just a proof of what musical achievements the Devon trio are capable of. Exo politics, musically, again brings alternative space rock to the new level while keeping the theme of an fake alien invasion going. There are two songs left which I'll describe in two sentences as if there were no boundaries each of these songs would need an essay to analyze. First of them is knights of cydonia. This song is one of the best songs muse have composed, an ode to freedom which is significant for the reason that it is one one the best prog songs made, a frankly unforgettable experience. Hoodoo, on the other hand, is one of the best songs of the last decade, no further description needed. As you prepare to insert the cd into whatever drive you want, just remember that you have the chance to open yourselves a door into space. Ladies and gentleman, brace yourselves. Expand
  17. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Electronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are theElectronic. Dazzling. Haunting. Beautiful. Bombastic. Impressive. Pop. Words spring to mind when describing the wonder that is Muse's fourth studio album, Black Holes & Revelations. A fearless direction, incorporating electronics, progressive rock, R'n'B, and more ridiculous elements to craft a masterpiece of modern music. An album so impressive, so magical, and so addictive. Muse are the masters of modern rock, clearly shaped by this album.

    Though not my favourite Muse album, this is one hell of a piece, with brilliant solos, gritty solos, mesmerizing vocals, and catchy melodies. Though that doesn't necessarily make a good album, Muse have succeeded. From the flow of Take A Bow (an incredible electronic piece) into Starlight and Supermassive Black Hole (two songs so massive they have become the most recognized Muse hits of all time), and into the heights of masterpieces of Map of the Problematique and Invincible, this is strong, and hard hitting, and the definition of Muse. Though Soldier's Poem ruins the flow after the brilliant and monstrous Map of the Problematique (an epic piece, by far considered one of Muse's greatest works), Invincible surely makes up for it, bombarding us with powerful solos and haunting lyrics. The pace picks up again with the heavy and intentionally heavy Assasin and Exo-Politics (both prominent in their conspiracy-lead Bellamy lyrics) into the relaxing City of Delusion (though using strong progressions and lyrics so powerful, you'll never want it to end).

    Hoodoo and Knights of Cydonia follow, two flawless pieces of music, lyrics so powerful and current, progressions so intriguing, guitar solos and piano experiments prominent throughout, they close a perfect album. Though the overall track listing isn't brilliantly placed, Black Holes & Revelations is a triumph, and one of Muse's greatest albums. Ever.

    Overall Score: 10/10
    Expand
  18. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    By and large, Black Holes & Revelations is another great Muse album. Opener Take A Bow starts with synthesizer arpeggios, steadily growing into a massive climax and - after a break down - perfectly leads into the Strokes-influenced Starlight - with it's simple bass line and piano melody probably the catchiest Muse song to date. Lead single Supermassive Black Hole with it's sexy, moaningBy and large, Black Holes & Revelations is another great Muse album. Opener Take A Bow starts with synthesizer arpeggios, steadily growing into a massive climax and - after a break down - perfectly leads into the Strokes-influenced Starlight - with it's simple bass line and piano melody probably the catchiest Muse song to date. Lead single Supermassive Black Hole with it's sexy, moaning vocals over funky guitar riffs and a groovy drum beat surely is one of the album's highlights. While Map of the Problematique heavily borrows from Depeche Mode's Enjoy the Silence, it still works as a track on it's own, with it's beautiful arrangements coming in an electronic wrapping.
    Solder's Poem is a slow, jazzy number with arpeggio guitar, a marching beat and barbershop vocals. Invincible serves as the albums centerpiece, starting of with haunting slide guitar over a marching drum beat, then growing into a heavy rocker with a great solo.
    Assassin is the album's weak point. While still being a decent rock track, it's metal-inspired riffs eventually seem to be going nowhere. Exo-Politics features a groovy rock riff in a simple but quite effective arrangement. City of Delusion begins with acoustic guitar and grows into a rock track with mariachi trumpets, heavy bass and distorted guitar.
    Hoodoo starts with almost arrhythmic Spanish guitar before a dramatic break with classical piano kicks in. It also features one of Matthew Bellamy's most vivid lyrics.
    Of all tracks on this album, Knights of Cydonia probably has the best chances becoming a muse classic. It's a sci-fi-western-soundtrack with massive riffs and singalongs - a true epic and a fitting closer to a convincing album by a band at the top of their game.
    Expand
  19. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite album by Muse. The way they have made all the songs is just flawless. It sounds so awesome, not a single day goes by when I don't listen to any song off this record.
  20. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is alternative rock at it's most powerful. Muse have given us a loud and beautiful album filled with music that's simply inspiring. A breathtaking album.
  21. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    I don't like this one as much as Absolution. I felt the songs were not as strong here. I felt disappointed, I felt like they could have done a lot better. "Knights of Cydonia" and "Hoodoo" are the two tracks that really make the album epic as hell, putting "Supermassive Black Hole" and "Starlight" aside.
  22. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    The Best Muse Album EVER! So many amazing songs, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight, Map of the Problematique,City of Delusion. Thev whole god damn album is brilliant. Muse is a perfect example of what every modern band should be, from Matt bellamy's epic guitar riffs and voice like freddie Mercury, The groovy bass lines from chris and Dom's incredible drumming, Blakc Holes and Revelations isThe Best Muse Album EVER! So many amazing songs, Knights of Cydonia, Starlight, Map of the Problematique,City of Delusion. Thev whole god damn album is brilliant. Muse is a perfect example of what every modern band should be, from Matt bellamy's epic guitar riffs and voice like freddie Mercury, The groovy bass lines from chris and Dom's incredible drumming, Blakc Holes and Revelations is one of those albums you should listen to before you die. Expand
  23. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    8
    Black Hole & Revelations takes Muse from relatively big venue status to stadium rock status. Even though the album is more uneven than it's predecessor, it takes them to new heights.
  24. May 31, 2011
    8
    "Blacks Holes + Revelations" has proved once again that Muse deserve their place in the British rock hall of fame. Despite not quite having the same top notch music as their previous album, "Absolution", this work has great anthems like "Knights of Cydonia", as well as some hard rock in "Assassin" and slow but graceful pieces like "Soldier's Poem". Very good album
  25. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    not as good as absolution but still amazing
    supermassive black hole is my least favourite, but knights of cydonia is just.. epic
    and guitar solo in invincible is also amazing
    even when muse has gone more commercial, they managed to do great album
  26. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    Black Holes & Revelations is Muse's mainstream success album. It is a great album, I'll admit that, but the reason it's so mainstream is because of the song Supermassive Black hole, which in my opinion, is Muse's worst song. It just sounds too pop for such a rock and roll band such as Muse. But enough boasting, Black Holes & Revelations is a great album. The opening, Take A Bow, is such aBlack Holes & Revelations is Muse's mainstream success album. It is a great album, I'll admit that, but the reason it's so mainstream is because of the song Supermassive Black hole, which in my opinion, is Muse's worst song. It just sounds too pop for such a rock and roll band such as Muse. But enough boasting, Black Holes & Revelations is a great album. The opening, Take A Bow, is such a powerful song that's among the best of the album. Assassin is another amazing song. But the best song on this album, and one of my favorite songs period is Map Of The Problematique. Aside from a few alright songs, this album has mostly great tracks. All In All, Muse has pumped out another great album after their previous fantastic album Absolution. B+ Expand
  27. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    Muse strikes me as a combination of Radiohead, ELO, and Rush. Just saw them at Staples Center for the first time and was blown away. But going home and hearing this album solidified my admiration of this band. Great stuff.
  28. Sep 17, 2010
    8
    This is an album of mixed genres which has hooked thousands to muse and made them the biggest band around.Fans may prefare Absolution or Origin of symatry but this is certainly a great album
  29. Sep 11, 2010
    9
    The most consistent of Muse's albums. I loved how each song in this album is a complete departure from their previous releases, giving an exciting, head bashing or head soothing ride and shows what Muse can really do.
  30. AidanK
    Oct 5, 2009
    8
    This is a very good record overall without any particularly week tracks. Not as good in my opinion as Origin of Symetry but much better than Absolution.
  31. DavidC.
    Sep 13, 2009
    3
    The sad part is, Muse used to sound much better when they were a Radiohead clone outfit. For all their want of original ideas, Showbiz was good for its use of a tried and tested formula. Since then, they have given us wave after wave of dreary metallic cock rock. They know how to please a crowd and fairplay to them... it's why their fans love them as a live act. But for all their The sad part is, Muse used to sound much better when they were a Radiohead clone outfit. For all their want of original ideas, Showbiz was good for its use of a tried and tested formula. Since then, they have given us wave after wave of dreary metallic cock rock. They know how to please a crowd and fairplay to them... it's why their fans love them as a live act. But for all their theatrical affectations, their music is just not much fun. If you tried to imagine Queen without the irresistible pop melodies and more kitsch, then you're about halfway there. Still, if Metallica or Dream Theatre is your sort of thing, then I'm no one to stop you listening to them. Expand
  32. GeorgeR.
    Sep 13, 2009
    9
    It's almost, ALMOST perfect. There are little things they've missed out and should have replaced, but I'd happily listen to this over and over again.
  33. DomW
    Aug 26, 2009
    9
    Would love to give it a 10 but nothing is perfect is it? For some reason 'Map of the Problematique' brings me to tears of joy when I listen to it - almost like a biological reaction. Any band which can take me to such incredible soaring highs in a dead sober state must have some sort of magical alchemy. Can't wait for their next album.
  34. RoryD
    Aug 22, 2009
    4
    The album is all huff and puff, but will never blow the house down. The lack of decent lyrics is covered over by fancy guitar work and crashes and bangs. Soldiers Song is by far the worst Muse song on record, and the albums only saving grace is when they turn the lunacy up for Knights of Cydonia, actually a great song. Muse ,disappointingly, are now just a formerly great band commiting The album is all huff and puff, but will never blow the house down. The lack of decent lyrics is covered over by fancy guitar work and crashes and bangs. Soldiers Song is by far the worst Muse song on record, and the albums only saving grace is when they turn the lunacy up for Knights of Cydonia, actually a great song. Muse ,disappointingly, are now just a formerly great band commiting latter-day sins. Expand
  35. chrisc
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite albums of all time. 33? I'm simply speechless that someone could listen to this and rate it that low? WTF do you want? More country music? More eyeliner punk/pop? More bow-wow-wow or whatever the Fk?
  36. musehatersareweird
    Aug 6, 2009
    10
    It is very hard if not impossible to dislike muse especially since now they've ditched the radiohead copycat sound for good and gone for proper prog rock moves this is album is brilliant and is probably the most accessible yet since they've started playing around in new genres. an essential purchase.
  37. JimB
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing album, but I'm not surprised to see it get catcalls from the anti-prog brigade (Rolling Stone, Spin, etc).
  38. StephanieT
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    I think the Band is awesome... and need to come to ONTARIO more often!! but keep the work up and keep jamming!!
  39. davidi
    Mar 11, 2009
    8
    Great album, somehow it lacks of more guitar power. Assasin, kights of cydonia, take a bow the best.
  40. Andrew
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Inspirational.
  41. KylieO
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    This album is amazing. All the songs sound unique and top-notch. Supermassive Black Hole and Starlight are especially great. Muse's best album yet.
  42. RyanM
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    An absolute MASTERCLASS in exsquisite songwriting. A behemoth of an album. Every song is sheer perfection. Youd have to be dense not to appreciate the beauty of tracks such as Hoodoo, assassin and city of delusion. 100% over the top theatrics and loving it, this album propels the listener to ecstacy until they punch their fist in the air "F**K YEAH!" NMUSE we salute you. To recap BUY IT, An absolute MASTERCLASS in exsquisite songwriting. A behemoth of an album. Every song is sheer perfection. Youd have to be dense not to appreciate the beauty of tracks such as Hoodoo, assassin and city of delusion. 100% over the top theatrics and loving it, this album propels the listener to ecstacy until they punch their fist in the air "F**K YEAH!" NMUSE we salute you. To recap BUY IT, ITS PERFECT! Expand
  43. DemetrioH.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    This album is a truly majestic mix of harmony, soul and cutting edge rock n roll. Everything that Radiohead should have been.
  44. FrancoisB.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    MUSE is just the creators of masterpieces. Any retarded person that gives this album a bad rating is a sad case that should stick to its RAVE and DANCE music, boom-boom-boom-boom-boom. Muse has redefined the music industry with awesome, musical and captivating songs that is created by the musical master Matthew Bellamy and his mates
  45. MPP.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Anyone who thinks MUSE sounds like RADIOHEAD in any way, you should go to an ear doctor asap because you obviously have lousy hearing. This album is phenomenal and ranks only behind their best album, "Origin Of Symmetry". It's not just over the top, bombastic prog rock like some people like to say. Explain tracks like "Hoo Doo" or "City of Delusion". If anything, those are flamenco Anyone who thinks MUSE sounds like RADIOHEAD in any way, you should go to an ear doctor asap because you obviously have lousy hearing. This album is phenomenal and ranks only behind their best album, "Origin Of Symmetry". It's not just over the top, bombastic prog rock like some people like to say. Explain tracks like "Hoo Doo" or "City of Delusion". If anything, those are flamenco inspired. Lets not forget that MUSE is the best live band on the planet. Expand
  46. Marc
    Jun 28, 2008
    5
    Paraphrasing Matt Bellamy in 'Supermassive Black Hole': Muse are kings of the superficial.
  47. SteveO
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    It's good, but come on guys... It's Radiohead back in 1995 with "The Bends".
  48. ZapB.
    Apr 14, 2008
    4
    An ok album, but someone remind me again how the lead singer doesn't sound exactly like Thom Yorke?
  49. JustinK.
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    with Black Holes and Revelations, Muse have reinvented the meaning of the word "genre". Every song is different in its own respects, and almost every song is noteworthy. Only muse could make a song about a natural space phenomenon be so cool (supermassive blackhole).
  50. MarkD.
    Mar 24, 2008
    8
    Love em or hate em no one else today makes music this big and epic. It takes a special band to even think about writing this kind of music and when you realise that ther's a subtility and consistency lacking on their earlier records you have to admit that they've well and truly pulled it off this time.
  51. AlexW.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Excellent album. Map of the Problematique is probably my favorite track.
  52. rickyj
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal in every way. It flows with a certain "oomph" that never lets you down. Half romantic, half rebellious, fully awesome.
  53. SonyaH
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    "Black Holes and Revelations" is everything that good rock should be: uptempo, dramatic, rousing, and even a bit full of itself (but never so much that it ceases to be endearing). Anyone not singing along as they drive a bit too fast is a sourpuss.
  54. DonoL.
    Sep 25, 2007
    0
    This is the worst most pathetic album i have ever heard.
  55. DaraghL.
    Sep 17, 2007
    9
    Brilliant.
  56. ScottW.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    The best of 2006. Heavy music has to sound good for me to put up with it, and this dose it for me. I could listen to this whole albume from the start to finish and then some. You don't like harder music?Well it sucks to be you, in this case.
  57. MadelineH
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    great!!!
  58. KateB.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    I love this album, I just wish sometimes it would be a little more subtle. Other than that, I think it is brilliant, and would recommend it to anyone!
  59. AliB
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    MUSE have done great in taking a new direction but keeping their sound. like all previous albums of this band, it's a masterpiece. Assassin, Knights of Cydonia, Take a Bow, etc. are all classics.
  60. AllenW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    A simply outstanding album that blew me away
  61. GraemeS.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I only really got into Muse when Absolution was released, and, even though I never thought I would say this, this album is better than Absolution. Classical rock at its best.
  62. KevinN.
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. This album is, quite simply, a masterpiece. The music is stadium-sized album rock which consistently delivers. What stands out are the memorable pop melodies coupled with ominous lyrics. Tie that in with the impeccable fasetto of Bellamy, the Queen-like superharmonies, the tight, headbanging guitars, and an undercurrent of electro-goth, and you have an album where every song stands out. It's sounds big, powerful, and moving. Masterfully mixed, "Black Holes and Revelations" also has a classical, operatic feel to it. As I listen, my jaw drops and I get goosebumps. Expand
  63. EmilyH
    May 25, 2007
    7
    Something entierly different by a band that are used to producing "different" music. Alot softer and produced from previous masterpieces. "Knights of Cydonia" is the most accentric pieces of rock to spawn from a indie/emo-suffocating 2006. "Starlight" and "Invincble" merging on a more radio-friendly pop-rock side. Not bad but previous albums were better. Muse re-invent themselves Something entierly different by a band that are used to producing "different" music. Alot softer and produced from previous masterpieces. "Knights of Cydonia" is the most accentric pieces of rock to spawn from a indie/emo-suffocating 2006. "Starlight" and "Invincble" merging on a more radio-friendly pop-rock side. Not bad but previous albums were better. Muse re-invent themselves everytime so prepare yourselves for something more in years to come. Expand
  64. chrisd
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    muse's black holes and revelations is one of my favorite albums that i own. This cd is a little different from their previous three, but i think it is just brilliant. Starlight, Knight of Cydonia, and Map of the Problematique are my favorites on the cd.
  65. AnaJ
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    I had to listen to the album a couple of times to really appreciate it, but it has become one of my favorites. Some feel that the lead singer is too passionate, but it just emphasizes the fact that he truly believes what he is singing. I suggest everyon give it several listens before passing judgement
  66. SeamusS
    Mar 30, 2007
    6
    With an album as big, layered and slightly over produced as this, it's easy to hate. However, Muse manages to pull just slightly ahead of pretentious by making it fun in a Tongue And Cheek way. There are emotional moments no doubt but they're more comparable to a rollercoster than an epiphany. In all it's fun smart/dumb music that, all the while immediately harmless, With an album as big, layered and slightly over produced as this, it's easy to hate. However, Muse manages to pull just slightly ahead of pretentious by making it fun in a Tongue And Cheek way. There are emotional moments no doubt but they're more comparable to a rollercoster than an epiphany. In all it's fun smart/dumb music that, all the while immediately harmless, remains absolutely dangerous to the middle-schoolers and young high school kids that will grow up thinking they know good music because of a band that understands how to work a multi-tracking mixing board and a few effects peddles. Expand
  67. VincentVdB.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Muse lifts the word 'music' to a new level with this album. 'Starlight', 'Knights of Cydonia' and 'Supermassive Black Hole' are probably the best songs ever made...
  68. Ben
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    The most awesome album i have ever heard in my life. Brilliant! Amazing!
  69. MC
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    As my first Muse album, Black Holes impressed me. It moves along very swiftly. I get the feeling it is supposed to be played at max volume to enjoy it fully. And as daggy as Knights of Cydonia is, it is just a little bit special, isn't it?
  70. ShengW
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    best album of the year
  71. RickyD
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and This is not only one of the best albums of 2006, one of the decade instrumentally and lyrically brilliant, an album full of complete estatic emotion and power, it manages to touch on many subjects although it is mainly politically charged and it has a couple of positive tracks such as starlight and invincible, the highlights for me are 'take a bow' i like the way it builds and explodes in your face and 'Knights of Cydonia' the fantastic prog feel with that amazing riff at the end. I saw them last year at wembley arena fantatsic, going to see them again at wembley stadium (90,000+ seater)they've sold out 2 nights there so you tell me a band who can do that are no good(to the people who slate them)then your mad. Expand
  72. AlasdairK
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    A brilliant return to form. After the samey-samey sounds of Absolution, Black Holes shows the bands diversity, while still sounding like 'Muse'.
  73. MarioP
    Jan 15, 2007
    8
    I'm a big and longtime fan of Muse, having bought every album of theirs at its release. Absolution is and remains their unparalled masterpiece, but this one, despite some cheesy keyboards and FX (such in Starlight and Map of the Problematique), is a very solid and even great album nonetheless. A lot of variety and the usual knack for songs structure and instruments interactions. I I'm a big and longtime fan of Muse, having bought every album of theirs at its release. Absolution is and remains their unparalled masterpiece, but this one, despite some cheesy keyboards and FX (such in Starlight and Map of the Problematique), is a very solid and even great album nonetheless. A lot of variety and the usual knack for songs structure and instruments interactions. I dislike Take a Bow and Map of the Problematique, but the rest of the album more than makes up for 'em. Highlights for me are City of Delusion, Assassin and Supermassive Blackhole. Well done Muse, yet again. Expand
  74. SamH
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Its The Best Album I've Ever Heared
  75. time
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    I agree with the British magazies. A epic, dazzling masterpiece. I guess us Americans don't like the brits getting all political and in our business but Muse keeps it from going to far. Don't listen to Spin. They put My Chemical Romance in their top 5 and they named the computer modem as album of the year in 2000. Rolling Stone is a joke. That's all I have to say about them.
  76. AlbertoG
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of 2006
  77. SachinP
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    Their most complex and satisfying album to date, with genre-bursting tracks and plenty of overblown prog insanity. Matt Bellamy is, in effect, god.
  78. Fcuker
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely This for me is the first Muse album I have purchased and I kick myself for not buying their previous albums before (which now I will have to). Having heard some songs of theirs over the years I was always impressed but not convinced, eventually I decided on Black Holes to try something else and the effect it had is amazing the combination of vocals and instruments is superb and completely different. After MCR's The Black Parade this is up there as album of the year Expand
  79. BarryW
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Like all their other albums this is an absolute classic, not one bad track, they just seem to knock out one decent tune after another, brilliant,
  80. JackG
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    I don't know how you can ask for more. I don't understand how someone can give them a zero either unless Matt Bellamy spit in his face. Map of the Problematique, Hoodoo, Knights of Cydonia, City of Delusion are enough to give any Muse fans enough to keep their hands full until their next album
  81. GuyH
    Oct 16, 2006
    0
    The first track is laughable - it sounds like the theme to 'Flash Gordon' (only cheesier) and we are supposed to take this band seriously. They keep re-hashing the same melodies over and over again. They are talented musicians but should forget songs and vocals (the singing is dire) and write experimental instrumental music that challenges them - they are not playing to their The first track is laughable - it sounds like the theme to 'Flash Gordon' (only cheesier) and we are supposed to take this band seriously. They keep re-hashing the same melodies over and over again. They are talented musicians but should forget songs and vocals (the singing is dire) and write experimental instrumental music that challenges them - they are not playing to their artistic strengths (although fair play - they are making some cash so probably couldn't care less!!!) Expand
  82. StefanS
    Oct 15, 2006
    7
    I am a huge fan of Muse, having been blown away by Absolution. However, from my point of view, this album does not live up to their last effort. Take a Bow and Starlight are two fantastic tracks. But tracks like Supermassive Black Hole sounded a bit lame to me. Nice beat, but there's better and more original dance-songs. All in all, one should experience the record, especially if I am a huge fan of Muse, having been blown away by Absolution. However, from my point of view, this album does not live up to their last effort. Take a Bow and Starlight are two fantastic tracks. But tracks like Supermassive Black Hole sounded a bit lame to me. Nice beat, but there's better and more original dance-songs. All in all, one should experience the record, especially if you're a Muse fan. But otherwise, go and listen to their previous effort for a more bombastic and enjoyable effort. Expand
  83. PhineasG
    Oct 2, 2006
    10
    I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until I would have given them an 8 before I saw them live. But after seeing them play, there's no way you can give them anything but a 10. They're crazy, but they're brilliant. I admit this albulm encompasses a lot of sounds, maybe too many, but it works because it's all so earnest and passionate (and not to mention half joking). But you can't really feel all that until you see them live, so go see muse live! Expand
  84. DaveR
    Sep 26, 2006
    5
    It has it's highlights, but it goes away from the unity and powerful emotion that made "Absolution" such a solid album and moves towards a discombobulated techno-savvy mess. This is not to say that the album was a failure, but that it does not feel like an album. Highlights include: "Map of the Problematique" and "City of Delusions"
  85. RichR
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck I'd heard about these guys for a while, then I saw them at the Austin City Limits festiva last week, not really expecting much because, well, I'd simply never heard 'em. DANG! This band, especially the lead singer, is possessed! They lit up the moon! They are three, but they play as one. Not only that, they have great songs. I'd give this record a 15 if I could. Heck yeah, there's some U2 in there, some Radiohead, but they're an insanely energetic and creative band in their own right, and they give the crowd their alll onstage. I love this band. I love this record. I give it a 15! Expand
  86. MarvAlbert
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    Muse always amazes me. The first track sets the tone of the album perfectly as you go through the ups and downs and different moods of the rest of the tracks. I usually hate any efx but Muse uses them to perfection. If you havn't already get "Absolution" it's also incredible!!!
  87. KevinM
    Sep 16, 2006
    7
    Queen strikes back. Nothing innovative, some tracks are good enough. It's not the best album of 2006, don't try selling that stuff to me.
  88. DavidC
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    This CD ranks right along with the last two Muse CD's as being one of the most addictive works of modern rock. One can play this music over and over and its continues to hit that cord in your brain where you look forward to the hearing it again and nothing else will do.
  89. AlexP
    Sep 13, 2006
    10
    boring? am i reading that right? this is an amazing mix of space-funk-rock-something that left me amazed from start to finish.... kinghts of cydonia is an epic piece of technical mastery, possibly the best song ive heard this year... i could go on i'm sure, i'll leave it simply that this is amazing and entertaining throughout, bar none...
  90. EthanP
    Sep 9, 2006
    1
    "Pretentious, bombastic theatrics" would've been interesting. This is more "boring."
  91. MiguelL
    Sep 6, 2006
    8
    Who can sound like Prince, Queen, Bowie, System of a Down, Radiohead, without loosing identity? ... MUSE
  92. HansG
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    Muse gets better with every album.Best album of 2006!
  93. HjyytzS
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    The BEST Muse album!!
  94. Babbleflaff
    Aug 31, 2006
    9
    Love the Album. One question annoys me though. Why the hell do they always get compared to Radiohead :| It's just annoying now.
  95. rottencabbage
    Aug 31, 2006
    0
    Utter rubbish, like the rest of their catalogue. It's bombastic, pretentious, and completely uninspired (never mind Matthew Bellamy being amongst the nation's most asinine lyricists, with drivel vomiting forth from his Thom Yorke/Jeff Buckley-wannabe maw). Wait, that's how every Muse album sounds, isn't it?
  96. Amelia
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    oh my god... brilliant - it hasn't left my cd player yet
  97. fraserj
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    sheer brilliance -> queen have just been out-queened
  98. Emily
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Definitely their best album; however it wasn't love at first sight ;) map of problematique's probably the best song i've heard in a long, long time-love the samples used in it.
  99. kylef
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    this is muse best album yet i cant wait to c them in concert
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. Under The Radar
    70
    Black Holes and Revelations isn’t a perfect record but it’s a worthy addition to an already stellar catalog. [#14]
  3. It shouldn't work, but Bellamy's mania is so convincingly realised that even the most avowed Muse refusenik may have to finally concede defeat.