Black Holes & Revelations

Black Holes & Revelations Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 428 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The stadium-sized English trio returns with a follow-up to its 2004 hit 'Absolution,' again produced by Rich Costey.

Top Track

Supermassive Black Hole
Oh baby, don't you know I suffer? Oh baby, can you hear me moan? You caught me under false pretenses How long before you let me go? Ooh You set my... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Entertaining and rabble-rousing, daft and deadly serious, it's a fantastic record, with almost limitless appeal.
  2. A monstrously grandiose, ridiculously gargantuan and stunningly inventive work from start to end.
  3. In terms of sheer Freddie Mercury bravado and guitar-shredding, genre-jumping prog-rock pomposity, this stirring record is indeed (forgive me) something of a revelation.
  4. That’s not to say the album is a disappointment (it isn’t) or not great (it is, mostly), but after hitting their creative and commercial peak with Absolution and its subsequent breakthrough stateside, Black Holes and Revelations clearly reveals itself to be a transition record.
  5. Muse impresses, and continues to impress on Black Holes, not only because they have the Romantic classical harmony-fueled huge stadium sound down pat, but in the details that show a band mature and talented.
  6. Mojo
    60
    What this record lacks is a couple of the screamalong anthems at which Muse have become renowned. [Aug 2006, p.88]
  7. Give Muse credit for remaking itself over the years into a full-blown theatrical experience, and not just another echoing rock band. But that experience is, frankly, kind of shitty.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 191
  1. chrisc
    Aug 15, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite albums of all time. 33? I'm simply speechless that someone could listen to this and rate it that low? WTF do you One of my favorite albums of all time. 33? I'm simply speechless that someone could listen to this and rate it that low? WTF do you want? More country music? More eyeliner punk/pop? More bow-wow-wow or whatever the Fk? Expand
  2. KylieO
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    This album is amazing. All the songs sound unique and top-notch. Supermassive Black Hole and Starlight are especially great. Muse's best This album is amazing. All the songs sound unique and top-notch. Supermassive Black Hole and Starlight are especially great. Muse's best album yet. Expand
  3. TobyF
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    Even my non-Muse fan friends were humming the tunes after 1 listen.
  4. DavidS
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    I've never been a fan of Muse. I've always considered them a Radiohead ripoff. My girlfriend pleaded with me to take a listen to I've never been a fan of Muse. I've always considered them a Radiohead ripoff. My girlfriend pleaded with me to take a listen to this cd, and wow! It's nothing like their previous efforts. It oozes originality and creativity! Every song is gorgeous, layered and full of hooks. I guess I'll be eating crow for a while. I can't wait to catch them live at V Festival! Muse, you've converted me! Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    Muse strikes me as a combination of Radiohead, ELO, and Rush. Just saw them at Staples Center for the first time and was blown away. ButMuse strikes me as a combination of Radiohead, ELO, and Rush. Just saw them at Staples Center for the first time and was blown away. But going home and hearing this album solidified my admiration of this band. Great stuff. Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2010
    8
    This is an album of mixed genres which has hooked thousands to muse and made them the biggest band around.Fans may prefare Absolution orThis is an album of mixed genres which has hooked thousands to muse and made them the biggest band around.Fans may prefare Absolution or Origin of symatry but this is certainly a great album Expand
  7. BrandonD
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    I think it would be far more accurate to say that anyone who likes Muse has terrible taste in music. These critics aren't harsh enough. I think it would be far more accurate to say that anyone who likes Muse has terrible taste in music. These critics aren't harsh enough. Muse is super-cheesy, over-the-top but not endearingly so, and they come off like what they are, mid-90's Bends-era Radiohead ripoffs with delusions of grandeur and the technical talent (which is the only nice thingI can say about them) to back up their lame dreams. You might as well admit you like Creed and Nickelback while you're rockin' to Muse, it's practically the same. Even Coldplay's lame-duck non-rock has more nuance than this. Expand

See all 191 User Reviews