Black Ice

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Oct 20, 2008
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 94
  2. Negative: 5 out of 94

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2011
    5
    Some decent tracks here but fifteen tracks that were simply rewritten over the same one is hardly worth twenty euro. A little more diiversity could have made this a winner.
  2. Giannis
    Oct 17, 2009
    6
    Stiff upper lip was a great rock n roll album. Then sony came and AC/DC forced to do something more commercial. Too bad. Brian Johnson is in top form but the inspiration not. There are some good songs (black ice, rocknroll dream,war machine,wheels) of course but some very mediocre too (stormy may day,money made,she likes rnr, anything goes, spoiling for a fight). AC/DC is the greatest Stiff upper lip was a great rock n roll album. Then sony came and AC/DC forced to do something more commercial. Too bad. Brian Johnson is in top form but the inspiration not. There are some good songs (black ice, rocknroll dream,war machine,wheels) of course but some very mediocre too (stormy may day,money made,she likes rnr, anything goes, spoiling for a fight). AC/DC is the greatest rock n roll band so we would like something better. Nevertheless the tour was GREAT!!!! Expand
  3. JC
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    Weakness...this band has had about 10 good songs in the last 20 years, their inspiration died with Bon.
  4. TimXXX
    Nov 7, 2008
    5
    Not a bad album, but like typical ACDC albums, there are really only 2-3 solid songs and the rest of the songs all sound the same. Look back at the last 3-4 ACDC albums, they all have 1 killer song and 10-11 very average songs at best.
  5. HigorW
    Oct 13, 2009
    6
    AC/DC's Black Ice sonds like Flick of the Switch album... pretty good... forgettable.
  6. WesM.
    Oct 21, 2008
    4
    Typical AC/DC release: shaking up the formula, improving upon and reinventing various genres, really putting alot of effort into their songwriting. Wait, what?
  7. JCN
    Oct 29, 2008
    5
    When I first heard the new AC/DC album was coming out, I so badly wanted it to be amazing and good and - not original, since AC/DC aren't but I wanted something that didn't have "Rock 'N' Roll" in three of its track names. It reflects where AC/DC have come to. The songs are mediocre at best - I had to train myself to tolerate Rock 'N' Roll Train in order to When I first heard the new AC/DC album was coming out, I so badly wanted it to be amazing and good and - not original, since AC/DC aren't but I wanted something that didn't have "Rock 'N' Roll" in three of its track names. It reflects where AC/DC have come to. The songs are mediocre at best - I had to train myself to tolerate Rock 'N' Roll Train in order to like it, and the same with the others. There is nothing fresh, and it sounds like old songs recycled with a slightly different riff or solo. To me, The Razors Edge was better. I'm glad it's selling so well though. Expand
  8. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    Sound exactly the same, only this time it's NOT good. Rock n' Roll Train is decent but there really isn't much here you haven't heard a million times before.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. The appeal of AC/DC lies with their more-than-30-year-old commitment to the same no-frills metal groove. But that groove now seems in danger of becoming a rut.
  2. AC/DC have stuck to their guns with electrifying results.
  3. 70
    Scattered predictability aside, AC/DC still sound strong and hungry 35 years on, as if they could pulverize riffs in perpetuity.