Black Ice

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Oct 20, 2008
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 89
  2. Negative: 5 out of 89

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    it has the raw power of AC/DC's old albums but contains more well versed lyrics by the young brothers. an explosively satisfying album. also has more Angus young guitar work in it as well
  2. NileshP.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Metallica Rules... !!!
  3. BrandonS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    7
    It's AC/DC! Think you know what this album sounds like? Well, you're, it sounds exactly like that. Thank God. (The only unfortunate thing is that they're selling the album only through Evil--Mart and Sam's Club. I got it through AC/DC's website, so at least I didn't give Evil-Mart my money.)
  4. chris
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    Very good release. i know some will not agree but i think this is the best release in many years!!! Better than the last three or four albums IMO... Can't wait for the boys to come to NZ!!!
  5. CristianP.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    Best Ac-Dc album since Back in Black-. El mejor album de Ac-Dc desde Back in Black.
  6. JordanL
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Vintage AC/DC! The first album in about a decade and a great refresher of the sound of true Rock & Roll. AC/DC is a band that will never fade away, and will remain a powerhouse in Rock & Roll industry for however many years its music surfaces.
  7. CriB
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest releases in all 2008, and by far the best r'r album of the year!
  8. JS
    Dec 11, 2008
    9
    It's not Back in Black, or even Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, but there is no denying the awesomeness of this band, and there isn't a single half-a**ed song on the album.
  9. R
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    I agree that Black Ice sounds like Back in Black...but isn't that the point? Show me where in the dictionary of Rock it says a band has to change? It doesn't, so rock on AC/DC! Keep puttin' out that good good stuff.
  10. ScottE.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    I'm really impressed how true to form this album is. Absolutely amazing!
  11. SA.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    Best AC/DC since Black in Black, 10 listens in now and it's only getting better. Only not a 10 as it could have lost a few tracks to make it punchier.
  12. GordyB.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    As a long time AC/DC fan, I am more than impressed with there new material. After two sub-par albums in Ballbreaker and Stiff Upper Lip, I had my doubts if they had anything left in the tank. Black Ice has restored my faith in AC/DC as I have found myself really into about 80% of the 15 tracks. Not since Razor's Edge have I been this amped listening to new songs. My favorites As a long time AC/DC fan, I am more than impressed with there new material. After two sub-par albums in Ballbreaker and Stiff Upper Lip, I had my doubts if they had anything left in the tank. Black Ice has restored my faith in AC/DC as I have found myself really into about 80% of the 15 tracks. Not since Razor's Edge have I been this amped listening to new songs. My favorites include: Rock 'n' Roll Train, Big Jack, War Machine, & Rock 'n' Roll Dreams. The big complaint about AC/DC is they always sound the same and for the most part there is no big new sound here. But there are some small twists and slightly new angles on there songwriting to make it feel fresh enough but not taking away from there trade mark hard rock sound. The great aspect for me is that it makes me remember the good old days of rock 'n' roll, and that's all I ever wanted from AC/DC. Crank it up and rock on!! Expand
  13. GinoP.
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    For a band that have 35 years in the road its a fair production, but I expected more, for me ACDC at his best was Back in Black, that is a really hard one to top.
  14. MS
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    Very fun rock cd. Would have been a 9 if they cut it back to 10 songs. Worth buying.
  15. JohnDoe
    Dec 15, 2008
    7
    OK, we all know that AC/DC haven't had a great album since Back in Black, its kinda difficult to top an album that is the second mist bought album of all time, after thriller. But this one shows some of the greatness that they had in Back in Black, with songs like 'Rock 'n' Roll Train' and especially 'Spoilin' for a Fight'. The latter gives us a OK, we all know that AC/DC haven't had a great album since Back in Black, its kinda difficult to top an album that is the second mist bought album of all time, after thriller. But this one shows some of the greatness that they had in Back in Black, with songs like 'Rock 'n' Roll Train' and especially 'Spoilin' for a Fight'. The latter gives us a classic rock riff from the Aussie Rockers, the thing that has made them possibly the best classic rock band of all time. Expand
  16. GarthW.
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    It's AC/DC. What did you expect? The day AC/DC does a ballad is the day the band is dead. Some complain that it sounds the same as everything else they've ever done. While everyone else tries to rock harder, AC/DC just rocks. Therein lies their genius.
  17. DougL.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Despite the 8 year wait on putting out a new album, they stuck to their guns and kicked the billboards right in the ass. This is an epic AC/DC album with spine shivering riffs and a knack to give a group a good time. I love it, the people love it, the critics love it, it is definitely there best since Back In Black.
  18. MarkK
    Dec 28, 2008
    8
    Same as before, nothing new, nothinig exciting, nothing fresh (one of the tunes sounds similar to highway to hell), but still a very enjoyable album. It get's an extra point because of that.
  19. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Best album in years for AC/DC!!! Love all of them!! Only thing is: Some of them are kinda boring, but MOST of them are really awesome! Great rock music!! AC/DC rocks on!!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. The appeal of AC/DC lies with their more-than-30-year-old commitment to the same no-frills metal groove. But that groove now seems in danger of becoming a rut.
  2. AC/DC have stuck to their guns with electrifying results.
  3. 70
    Scattered predictability aside, AC/DC still sound strong and hungry 35 years on, as if they could pulverize riffs in perpetuity.