Black Market Music

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 59
  2. Negative: 2 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anna*
    Aug 23, 2003
    10
    This album is so much better than the reviewers would have you think. I love its style - it is darker than the previous two (excellent) records, and Brian, Stef & Steve continue to make fantastic music whilst experimenting and pushing the boundaries. Spite & Malice is a dazzling example of what Nu-Metal ought to have been (yet with a good message), while Commercial For Levi is a twisted This album is so much better than the reviewers would have you think. I love its style - it is darker than the previous two (excellent) records, and Brian, Stef & Steve continue to make fantastic music whilst experimenting and pushing the boundaries. Spite & Malice is a dazzling example of what Nu-Metal ought to have been (yet with a good message), while Commercial For Levi is a twisted little acid lullaby which fully exhibits Molko's highly individual (and pleasant) singing voice and an unusually wiity way with words. Excellent stuff. Expand
  2. MichaelL.
    Jun 14, 2002
    10
    hahahahaha 52!! this is the best cd of all time!! all cd of placebo is a masterpiece(and i include single) but the biggest joke in this is that black market music have 52 but the great eminem(i will to say in the same time that eminem is one of the worst in music) have 73!!
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    my favourite band and my favourite album of all time.Yes even better than without you i'm nothing. Glam rockers placebo emerged back in the mid nineties at the height of britpop era.Whilst there were many copy bands of the likes of oasis and blur,placebo were totally unique.Influenced by bands such as sonic youth,brian molko and the gang made unique angsty songs that people could relatemy favourite band and my favourite album of all time.Yes even better than without you i'm nothing. Glam rockers placebo emerged back in the mid nineties at the height of britpop era.Whilst there were many copy bands of the likes of oasis and blur,placebo were totally unique.Influenced by bands such as sonic youth,brian molko and the gang made unique angsty songs that people could relate to. A band of outsiders for outsiders i believe Molko quoted and this is true.If you are angsty you are likely to relate to this band. I also think molko is an underated guitarist and uses some weird kind of tunings at times.That coupled with a unique high pitch voice and poetic lyrics,the band is vastly underated.Loved and loathed in equal measure,placebo aren't likely to appear on the front cover of NME again.But who needs NME?.They get it wrong a lot and there top 100 lists are predictable. I will continue to love this band till i die and never forget 'peeping tom' off this record. Collapse
  4. Laura
    Aug 6, 2003
    10
    This album is another stroke of genius from Placebo. Commercial For Levi- outstanding.
  5. ArtursP.
    Feb 28, 2002
    9
    Very good album. "Peeping Tom" is one of my favorite songs...
  6. WarrenS
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    Critics be damned! This is a great cd!
  7. Xmen
    Mar 6, 2003
    10
    excellent CD! à réécouter chaque fois qu'on le désire sans lassitude!! Bravo Placebo!
  8. PierreB
    Jan 29, 2005
    10
    Placebo rules and so does this album!
  9. cazb
    May 6, 2005
    10
    Black Market Music is a great album from Placebo.
  10. [Anonymous]
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    I love Placebo!!!!!!!
  11. paulb
    Jan 29, 2009
    8
    Great album, made me feel ok.
  12. wickedwitch
    Jul 27, 2001
    10
    the best ever!
  13. bahbee
    May 25, 2004
    9
    Well..i don't own the album..but i have heard much from it. Yes much. And what i have heard..is..excellent. Yes it is.. well that's your opinion isn't it? Yes. I love the taste in men video clip...ooooh brian..
  14. hannahk
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    i think its placebo's best album ever.commercial for levi,days before u came and slave to the wage are really outstanding.
  15. ElenaN
    Mar 27, 2004
    9
    Commercial for levi is awesome, and Slave to the wage is worth becoming an anthem
  16. gaellev
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    I think It's the better but I love all of them.
  17. melissaj
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Looooove this band!!!
  18. MarcoM
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    This album is a masterpiece; it has influenced my taste in music (MUSIC not men) in various ways. Simply genius.
  19. Mar 16, 2012
    8
    The follow up to their masterpiece Without You I'm Nothing. Black Market Music, although it is a good record, just doesn't have the magic or charm of it's predecessor. In fariness, I do think Placebo tried to branch out their style a bit on this. It's a much darker album, "Taste In Men" dabbles in Industrial Rock while the unfairly maligned "Spite and Malice" has a rap verse in it. Two ofThe follow up to their masterpiece Without You I'm Nothing. Black Market Music, although it is a good record, just doesn't have the magic or charm of it's predecessor. In fariness, I do think Placebo tried to branch out their style a bit on this. It's a much darker album, "Taste In Men" dabbles in Industrial Rock while the unfairly maligned "Spite and Malice" has a rap verse in it. Two of the more upbeat tracks on the album "Blackeyed" and the blistering "Slave to the Wage" are up with Placebos best work. There are a number of other good tunes on here as well. Musically it stands up well but the main problem with it is the lyrics are a bit cringe worthy and the mood of the album in general is a bit miserable. It could have done with a few more upbeat or up tempo tracks. It misses a "You Don't Care About Us" or a "Scared of Girls". Expand
  20. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    I'm not surprised that this album gets unfavorable reviews from critics (65/100 on metacritic, while user score is 95/100) because this album don't need too much time to entertain, but needs some time to appreciate it in the way it should be appreciated. It's very melancholic album about human behavior, social maladjustment, social exclusion and it needs time to understand and interpretI'm not surprised that this album gets unfavorable reviews from critics (65/100 on metacritic, while user score is 95/100) because this album don't need too much time to entertain, but needs some time to appreciate it in the way it should be appreciated. It's very melancholic album about human behavior, social maladjustment, social exclusion and it needs time to understand and interpret it... this is not for guys sitting and listening to music all day only to create as much reviews as they can.

    With "Without you I'm nothing" this is the best Placebo album and one of my personal favorites.
    Molko and his crew did some experiments to expand their music with new sounds and even more mysterious lyrics and as a result we received album with 12 little drugs that just can't get out from my head.

    Atmosphere and confusing lyrics mixed with catchy sounds made this album a little phenomenon for me, literally a drug that makes me high or makes me sail away if I'm already high.
    Expand
  21. Apr 14, 2014
    8
    a great album of placebo, is a great band, but it's not my favorite album but is a good album, is the balance of the first album, but not in the scence, placebo are the great band of Great britain, in the decade of 90's
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Black Market Music loses its sparkle and its melodic sense whenever it grows a conscience.
  2. Black Market Music feels like a watershed, a merely good record after a great one, and that in itself is disappointing.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    Charging rock songs and austere balladry make this album resonate more than the morass of bad music currently plaguing us. [#155, p.80]