User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kit
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    quite possibly the best album of all time
  2. lennys
    May 10, 2005
    10
    best blend of rock for thee ages... and such
  3. BenT
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    pedal to the metal, dark, layered rock that vairies from the desolate brilliance of Awake to the viceral progression of Whatever Happened...album of 2001
  4. SaskiaV
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    A (Dutch) critic once described a (Dutch) author as a 'soul without a skin'. That's exactly what I think of this album: it's sensitive, moving and honest.
  5. lecritical
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    i've always loved bands that take their influences, marinate and modify the sound, and come up with a great distinct album not to mention the interesting band name. You and I both know that the next album these guys make will be the greatest.
  6. MaiT.
    Jun 17, 2002
    10
    Definitely one of my favorites. So they show their influences, we all have them.
  7. HenryH.
    May 25, 2002
    9
    Whatever happend to the rock n' roll,they've got everything you've been expecting to hear for a damn long time.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Jun 18, 2001
    10
    exactly what i needed. this is an album full of emotion, beauty, truth and honesty. regardless if they sound like another band. everyone sounds like another band. this is a great record for anyone with appreciation for good music.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. They're merely using Psychocandy as a workaday aesthetic strategy and, despite loads of melodrama, they never sound pretentious about it either.
  2. 70
    A flawless blend of acoustic-turns-into-fuzz guitar work and backbeat rhythms that create the aural equivalent of fog.
  3. This self-produced major-label debut boldly plunders a reverb-and-white noise course previously trampled underfoot by long-gone British bands of the late '80s and early '90s (the Jesus & Mary Chain, the Verve, Ride, the Stone Roses, etc.).