Black Sheep Boy

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 91
  2. Negative: 5 out of 91

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobT
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Black Sheep Boy is a masterpiece on level with NMH's Aeroplane Over the Sea.
  2. Jun 6, 2011
    7
    Solid effort, nothing that'll blow your mind but it's worth the money.
  3. ZachG
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    This album is one that just gets better and better after every listen. It has slowly risen to contend as my #1 album of the year so far. It doesn't get much better than "The Latest Toughs" and "For Real". A must-have for sure.
  4. MarkO.
    Jun 22, 2005
    10
    Album of the year - period. Plus they have an incredible live show.
  5. GusQ
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    Beautiful. Simply beautiful. I agree, album of the year so far without a question.
  6. MC
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    A subdued, more literate and less obscure "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea." It's in the same league as the Neutral Milk Classic, although "Aeroplane" takes it by a bit. It's that good
  7. ChaseH
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    An epic and incredible journey through the life of a lamb. Scheff's voice is wonderous and sometimes painful to listen to coupled with the dark lyrics. Everything fits perfectly and there isn't a bad track on the record.
  8. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    8
    Definetly above average
  9. LK
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Incredible album.
  10. Ben
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    My God, I'm NOT an American and I've given this a 10. Why? Because it deserves it for being absolutely outstanding.
  11. TravisB
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    The vocals have John Nolan of Straylight Run written all over them and the music stirs up feelings of Bright Eyes. Will Sheff's strained vocals allow the listener to feel the raw emotion pouring out of each track. Conceptually wonderful.
  12. DaveS
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Album of the year... hands down.
  13. TedP
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    The best release since the DBT's Dirty South- just a gripping album, all theway through. Visionary, expansive, narrative- music to be listened too, no heard.
  14. aaron
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    a powerfully sincere and absorbing record. this has got to be their masterpiece.
  15. JimC
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    A heart-wrenching story told through the raw, quavering vocals of Will Sheff. Beautiful and haunting. This album gets better with each listen.
  16. Paul
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Amazing.
  17. ChadS
    May 9, 2006
    9
    "For Real" is stunning. Structurally, it reminds me of U2's "With or Without You". It might be a tribute to the Manic Street Preacher's frontman. "Black" is a winner, too. The slow songs work equally well; understated, but melodic enough not to depress even though the subject matter is about being sad. Will Sheff seems like the real deal. (To the girl who uses this site as a "For Real" is stunning. Structurally, it reminds me of U2's "With or Without You". It might be a tribute to the Manic Street Preacher's frontman. "Black" is a winner, too. The slow songs work equally well; understated, but melodic enough not to depress even though the subject matter is about being sad. Will Sheff seems like the real deal. (To the girl who uses this site as a consumer guide: At least you didn't get stuck with Animal Collective's "Sung Tongs" and Chad VanGaalen's "Infiniheart".) Expand
  18. anthonyw
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Fantastic album, easily in the top 5 albums of 05. An epic story of the Black Sheep Boy weaved into a storytellers album. Easily their best work.
  19. DanH
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    Indie albums don't age well, you'd think. But two years on, I'm all the more certain that this is the best thing I've heard since the turn of the century. Literate people will adore it; teenagers will identify strongly with it; indie rock fans will be blown away; neurotics will get totally obsessed with it. Even total morons won't be able to help loving a huge Indie albums don't age well, you'd think. But two years on, I'm all the more certain that this is the best thing I've heard since the turn of the century. Literate people will adore it; teenagers will identify strongly with it; indie rock fans will be blown away; neurotics will get totally obsessed with it. Even total morons won't be able to help loving a huge joyous tune like 'All the Latest Toughs'. One to break your heart and sharpen your perceptions. Expand
  20. KristannaV
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    For once, Metacritic got things right. I bought several of the top 30 albums of 2005 like Spoon, Andrew Bird, and Antony and the Johnsons but how disappointing they all were! This is my new favorite band! The lyrics aren't shallow, dumb, or droning but are so PROFOUND. Will Sheff pours so much into his singing which is perfectly imperfect and the music fits the lyrics. This album For once, Metacritic got things right. I bought several of the top 30 albums of 2005 like Spoon, Andrew Bird, and Antony and the Johnsons but how disappointing they all were! This is my new favorite band! The lyrics aren't shallow, dumb, or droning but are so PROFOUND. Will Sheff pours so much into his singing which is perfectly imperfect and the music fits the lyrics. This album deserves a much higher rating than it got! Expand
  21. MattS
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This album simply gets better every listen. The imagery and emotion in Sheff's lyrics are incredible, easily the best album of 2005. I'll let you know how the live show goes :)
  22. JohnnyW
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Common This was By FAR this years best album!!!! Be sure to check out the B-side release.
  23. DanO
    Jun 21, 2005
    10
    Album of the year thus far, glad this finally got put on here.
  24. PaulN
    Jun 22, 2005
    9
    Great album!!! I especially like the performance of the guitar of For Real and the vocal's hoarse voice.
  25. JaseL
    Jun 27, 2005
    8
    Stumbled across this.... Have to order it in (Melbourne Australia) because no one has it. But, it is a very good listen..
  26. MichaelK
    Jun 28, 2005
    9
    album of the year by far. no one in ages has sounded so clever and inspired on the subject of love.
  27. NickD
    Jun 28, 2005
    9
    Great album, beautiful lyrics - definitely deserved all the praise it received.
  28. TimH
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    The outpouring of emotion combined with beautiful melodies and perfect musical backing is just unmatchable here. A wonderful story with a wonderful storyteller.
  29. SeyHaS
    Aug 17, 2005
    9
    Black Sheep Boy is an album aversely dreamy and poignant in concept. The music evokes a quietness to it, but yet it harbors some of the most powerful and ghostly lyrics sung with an emotive and sincere ness that is intrusively beautiful to hear. The last song
  30. EricA
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    I simply cannot get over how good this album is... And yet no one I know (even the indie kids) have heard of it. This album easily beats out Sufjan Stevens for album of the year. In a couple of years this will be a classic, and I'll have been there from the start. "Get Big" is one of the most gripping, sad songs I have ever heard.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. It's hard not to stare in open-mouthed amazement at the sheer brilliance of Black Sheep Boy, though you're trying to clinically dissect all the elements that make it so.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    [Sheff's] uncompromisingly literate songs provide unusually rewarding payoffs. [May 2005, p.124]
  3. Magnet
    80
    What strike most are Sheff's strained, impassioned vocals and the joyful variety of instrumentation. [#67, p.110]