Black Sheep Boy - Okkervil River
Black Sheep Boy Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the fourth album for the Austin band led by singer-songwriter Will Sheff.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. [Sheff's] uncompromisingly literate songs provide unusually rewarding payoffs. [May 2005, p.124]
  2. An unknown quantity to me before the first listen, by the third play I was already plotting which of my friends I would be lending it to and reprimanding myself for not having come across them sooner.
  3. Brave and ambitious. [Jul 2005, p.122]
  4. 80
    What strike most are Sheff's strained, impassioned vocals and the joyful variety of instrumentation. [#67, p.110]
  5. By album's end, two coming-of-age stories are complete: the boy has grown into a black sheep man, and the literate musicians have become a hell of a rock band.
  6. It is heavier on quality than most Bright Eyes albums I could name -- both musically and lyrically.
  7. Black Sheep Boy has bold ambitions, but Okkervil River hasn’t quite reached the point where polished execution equals or surpasses preliminary concept.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. TimH
    Jun 29, 2005
    10
    The outpouring of emotion combined with beautiful melodies and perfect musical backing is just unmatchable here. A wonderful story with a wonderful storyteller. Expand
  2. RobT
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Black Sheep Boy is a masterpiece on level with NMH's Aeroplane Over the Sea.
  3. ChristianM
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    Propably the best album of 2005. Yes, I'm pretty sure. The only ones coming close are Marissa Nadler, The Mountain Goats, Sigur Rós and Caribou. Still this stands as the strongest. Wow. Collapse
  4. ChaseH
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    An epic and incredible journey through the life of a lamb. Scheff's voice is wonderous and sometimes painful to listen to coupled with the dark lyrics. Everything fits perfectly and there isn't a bad track on the record. Expand
  5. NicholasW
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    It might be weird but this guy remindes me of Bob Dylan..but perhaps maybe the thing they have most in common is "greatness"- okay- a little below dylan but still really awesome!!! Expand
  6. ChadS
    May 9, 2006
    9
    "For Real" is stunning. Structurally, it reminds me of U2's "With or Without You". It might be a tribute to the Manic Street Preacher's frontman. "Black" is a winner, too. The slow songs work equally well; understated, but melodic enough not to depress even though the subject matter is about being sad. Will Sheff seems like the real deal. (To the girl who uses this site as a consumer guide: At least you didn't get stuck with Animal Collective's "Sung Tongs" and Chad VanGaalen's "Infiniheart".) Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jun 23, 2005
    3
    no more boring americana albums look ahead fellas

See all 58 User Reviews