Blacklisted Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alt-country singer-songwriter Neko Case returns with her third solo album, after last appearing on the New Pornographers' acclaimed 'Mass Romantic" album. Here, the moody, cinematic music is provided by members of Calexico and Giant Sand.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. While there is lots of good, even great music out there, not much of it even begins to touch Neko’s passion.
  2. Blacklisted is soaked to the bone in rueful wit, luxurious miserablism, and morbid cold sweat—c&w virtues too often reduced to self-pity by lesser latter-day sweethearts of the rodeo.
  3. Her albums have matured exponentially with every release, and with Blacklisted, an album that will get your blood pumping and give you goosebumps at the same time, Neko Case emerges as a true original.
  4. 80
    She's one of a handful of people who could sing the telephone directory. [Dec 2002, p.115]
  5. Blacklisted proves that Case's musicianship has evolved alongside her songwriting skills.
  6. Blacklisted's accompaniment is roundly excellent and evocative, but Case's voice is what really sells the record.
  7. There are exquisite moments here, mostly the simpler ones, but not as many as there should be. [Dec 2002, p.100]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Judy
    Dec 6, 2002
    10
    Fantastic CD! I have played Track #7 about 25 times today.
  2. Adina
    Aug 22, 2002
    10
    Run DON NOT Walk to the nearest record store to buy this album! Neko Case is simply amazing!
  3. Kellan
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    Neko Case is out of control. This is the third album I've bought, and I just keep getting drawn further and further in by that voice and Neko Case is out of control. This is the third album I've bought, and I just keep getting drawn further and further in by that voice and those creepy, creepy lyrics. I think I'm working backwards chronologically, which is fine by me, as long as there's still more by her out there to get my hands on. Collapse
  4. StephenB
    Mar 29, 2003
    10
    How could something of such beautiful, lyrical and even nostalgic yearning also seem so pee-in-your pants scary and defiant? This album has How could something of such beautiful, lyrical and even nostalgic yearning also seem so pee-in-your pants scary and defiant? This album has left echoes banging around in my head for days now. Holy moses, I think I'm in love with this woman! Expand
  5. KateB
    Oct 7, 2003
    10
    I'm With Jenz F - screw Pam W, I have fallen in love with Neko Case. At first I only liked track 11 on Blacklisted, but now I love the I'm With Jenz F - screw Pam W, I have fallen in love with Neko Case. At first I only liked track 11 on Blacklisted, but now I love the whole album. It goes down as one of my all time favorite albums. #5, #1 and #11 are classics. Expand
  6. What
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Neko Case possesses the best voice in music today. So powerful and emotional, yet she can be restrained and wistful and still move me. I get Neko Case possesses the best voice in music today. So powerful and emotional, yet she can be restrained and wistful and still move me. I get chills down my spine everytime I hear her boom "deep red bells" from the song of the same name, and tears in my eyes during the soft ballad "I Wish I Was the Moon." I'm not normally a country fan, but this is what real country should sound like. Not Shania Twain, Garth Brooks, or Big & Rich (puke), but Johnny Cash. Loretta Lynn. Patsy Cline. Old school. If you're looking for what Nashville craps out onto the airwaves nowadays, you won't find it here. Just a helluva singer singing her heart out. Expand
  7. JenzF
    Aug 2, 2003
    8
    Good record, moody and consistent. Case's lyrics and vocal style please me. To Pat W., Maybe Nashville won't bite and thank God for Good record, moody and consistent. Case's lyrics and vocal style please me. To Pat W., Maybe Nashville won't bite and thank God for that, it sounds like you bite Nashville's ass anyway. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews