Blackout

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 671 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 671

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anonymousjones
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    metacritic needs to post more reviews - like the AP review that called it a "triumph." it is a better "all the way through" listen than futuresex/lovesounds. this has no lame ballads (except maybe the last song, but even that isn't so bad) and amazing production on basically every track. she can't sing, but she never could, so who cares about that. the producers make her voice metacritic needs to post more reviews - like the AP review that called it a "triumph." it is a better "all the way through" listen than futuresex/lovesounds. this has no lame ballads (except maybe the last song, but even that isn't so bad) and amazing production on basically every track. she can't sing, but she never could, so who cares about that. the producers make her voice do cool things, and the beats are hot. Expand
  2. HotT.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    Most critics are reviewing her personal Blackout not her professional one.This album is Great & they know it. I'm not a Britney fan but she deserves credit when it's due. This is her sexy adult debut & i love it.
  3. Joe
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Far better than it should be. A testament to Brit-Brit's puppeteers.
  4. JessicaL
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I wrote Britney off a few months ago. I wasn't going to buy her album until someone suggested it to me. I love it, shamelessly. It is that good. The beats + her voice, the oversexed lyrics, the word play from all her paparazzi coverage...LOVE it. I can't wait to listen to it again.
  5. EliotT
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Shockingly good. I was prepared to hate it and encountered a surprise. Very upbeat, very well-produced, very fun.
  6. SamJ
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This is a great album, with great music. It is outstanding in the fact that it gets you to get up and dance. There isn't a single song that you would want to skip over. A perfect collection for getting the spirit up. no doubt a 10/10
  7. JosephA.
    Oct 31, 2007
    7
    It's a very good album and easily the best one she's put out.
  8. Mike
    Oct 30, 2007
    8
    Very well produced. Overall a really solid dance record.
  9. AjayD
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    I wasn't a Huge Fan of her, but after hearing this Album, I am her new Fan. THis album is kill people, Do not miss it, all the tracks are a Hit for me!
  10. RyanC
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Radar is awesome!!!!!! I am pretty sure it will be another #1 single too. It's good.
  11. Zacht
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    lmfao at the people who are just rating it a zero without even hearing it. I'm betting it's the Christina fans, or the Jessica fans who have flopped so hard with so much promotion while Britney' album keeps going up, up, UP on the charts with no promotion, and just a video promoting the album. Don't be mad. Britney has sold 83 million albums in her 10 year career, and lmfao at the people who are just rating it a zero without even hearing it. I'm betting it's the Christina fans, or the Jessica fans who have flopped so hard with so much promotion while Britney' album keeps going up, up, UP on the charts with no promotion, and just a video promoting the album. Don't be mad. Britney has sold 83 million albums in her 10 year career, and another 35 million singles sold worldwide. Britney has sold more than all these rejects combined! Expand
  12. maruzhahaha
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    This is a legend should sound like One of the good album welcome back Britney.
  13. VictorC
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    Britney's best album yet. Very good from beginning to end.
  14. NoelL.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Very well made. i didn't expect such a good album after all that happened to her recently. nice record - from the beginning to the end
  15. JulianA
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    it's true, Ms. Spears is BACK!! Despite an displeasing performance at the 2007 VMAs her first single, "gimme more, " was an instant hit! it's catchy, it's sexy, it's fresh-- It's GREAT!! The single paved the way on what to expect from her latest production on which she received help from some of the hottest producers in the industry. The songs are all hyped-up, it's true, Ms. Spears is BACK!! Despite an displeasing performance at the 2007 VMAs her first single, "gimme more, " was an instant hit! it's catchy, it's sexy, it's fresh-- It's GREAT!! The single paved the way on what to expect from her latest production on which she received help from some of the hottest producers in the industry. The songs are all hyped-up, dance-ready jams! so if you are looking for a cd to dance to, this is IT. Expand
  16. raps.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    if Ailleen Wournos that psycho woman made an album this is what it would sound like, its completely demented. the sound of someone thats lost their mind. im giving it a ten for its level of insanity.
  17. kd
    Nov 1, 2007
    7
    This isn't a bad pop album. It definitely beats the latest by the likes of Rihanna and Gwen Stefani, but doesn't have the continuity and enjoyability of Madonna or Nelly Furtado.
  18. DamionR.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    People have to put aside absolutely everything that is going on in Britney's life and just focus on her music right now, as it is the only thing that matters and the only thing that people have the right to make their business and critique...and her new album, "Blackout," is the best album Spears has put out to date. Her debut was cute from beginning to end, and the subsequent albums People have to put aside absolutely everything that is going on in Britney's life and just focus on her music right now, as it is the only thing that matters and the only thing that people have the right to make their business and critique...and her new album, "Blackout," is the best album Spears has put out to date. Her debut was cute from beginning to end, and the subsequent albums have produced some of the best pop singles of the last ten years, but were filled with filler. "Blackout" is her first album that is filler-free and every track is strong. From the excellent comeback single "Gimme More" (which would be doing better if people would stop playing personal tabloid and just enjoy it for what it is), to the brilliant "Piece of Me," the Gwen-Stefnesque "Toy Soldier" to one of her best recordings to date, "Heaven on Earth." Britney, I wish you all the best with your stuff, but professionally, you're return is welcomed with open arms. Masterful. Expand
  19. MarcoP.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    britney rules!
  20. PaulaD.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    I don't think that she's doing her best, but i like the album.
  21. sarahb.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Amazing. You might not like her actions but she knows how to make catchy tunes to sell albums. i need poppy dance music in my life - there is too much negativity in the world.
  22. CarlL.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Please forget all the Britney you see all over E!. She may lead a weird life, but don't they all? I could care less about any artists personal life. If they make good music...I am happy. If you continually trash someone you are no saint either. This CD is probably one of the best pop albums ever. Whoever is responsible for it. It may take me a year to get over it. Maybe then I will Please forget all the Britney you see all over E!. She may lead a weird life, but don't they all? I could care less about any artists personal life. If they make good music...I am happy. If you continually trash someone you are no saint either. This CD is probably one of the best pop albums ever. Whoever is responsible for it. It may take me a year to get over it. Maybe then I will stop listening to it. No, probably not! People take other people's lives way too seriously these days. I just need good music. So, thank you, Britney, Danja, Bloodshy & Avant, etc.!!! Expand
  23. TonnyA.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    I loooove it!! it's Brittie's Best Job so Far!!! it's Danceable, catchy, Grown Up, and Sexy!! 3 words : Hot as Ice!!!
  24. MagnusS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Still, and not surprisingly so, I have yet to be more amused at something than at the STUPID people in here who in doing what they do best, squabble, twist and turn the average review score by their useless voting and commenting. F First of all, let me praise all of you that can actually resent to judge an album based on it's quality and not based on the amount of drugs inhaled Still, and not surprisingly so, I have yet to be more amused at something than at the STUPID people in here who in doing what they do best, squabble, twist and turn the average review score by their useless voting and commenting. F First of all, let me praise all of you that can actually resent to judge an album based on it's quality and not based on the amount of drugs inhaled and/or injected prior to recording. Next, let me LAUGH at you useless dogs which qualify yourself to speak badly of a woman you barely know: How in earth do you know how much involvement Britney may have had in the album? If you want to squabble anymore about this and as a consequence of this give poor Britney a 0, please do this on gossipmsn. There's lots of fools like you there. As Rob B excellently states: "Her Music????" What are you people talikng(?) about. She doesn't write a thing. She's a product" I am sorry. Let me be like you. Britney's vocals are not as good as they used to be and therefore I give an 8/10 based on good, light-headed and entertaining music that will indeed rush clubs as alot of other average club music has done. Nicely produced. Expand
  25. KenW.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best Pop Album of the year. Go figure. Intresting drving rhythms & experimental (for Brit) places that she has never taken the music before. Her best. Like sitting in Jack Ruby's bar while high on Ecstasy.
  26. ChrisH
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    Considering I never really enjoyed Brittney before, I was quite taken back by the quality of production and almost cutting edge electro pop beats and sounds. Each song is with ease better than anything she has released as single before, with maybe the exception of Toxic, which was class. Who cares if its mainly producers who have made this good? Good music is good music, so lets be happy Considering I never really enjoyed Brittney before, I was quite taken back by the quality of production and almost cutting edge electro pop beats and sounds. Each song is with ease better than anything she has released as single before, with maybe the exception of Toxic, which was class. Who cares if its mainly producers who have made this good? Good music is good music, so lets be happy there is so much of it on one CD, and its from Britney Spears, weird, but true! Expand
  27. NandoG.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best dance album out. Loved Britney From the start but now, this is a like breathe of fresh air coming through her music. Devine
  28. KobeeH.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    An album that deserves to blasted for all 12 tracks. No denying it. Britney is on top of her game. Congratulations!
  29. AlejandroS.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    this is her best album so far!!! Amazing and catchy songs.
  30. Patrick
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    I don't know why MetaCritic lists this album as "61". The album has got GREAT reviews, practically across the board. This album is not a disappointment, it's a party from start to finish and only ONE song "Hot As Ice" I would consider filler. Pop album of the year!
  31. alexb.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    great album! and im not a britney fan...
  32. ZaneS.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Excellent album. "Freakshow" is like her best song yet!
  33. JayG.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    I don't know why people are making a huge deal over this album. a wonderfully produced, dance-ready album! leave it alone, stop with all of the negative comments. if you're not of fan of Britney's than just don't buy it and SHUT THE FUCK UP!! i mean please, its not like your opinion is going to influence anybody!!
  34. MikeS.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Despite her best efforts - Britney has not destroyed her career. This album is surprisingly good. Scratch that great. for what it is - you can't get much better. Fun, bubble gum pop that you can't help but dance to. "Radar" "Piece of Me" and "Gimme More" are stand outs but the best is "Toy Soldier" which should be a HUGE dance club hit.
  35. MiguelM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    It's Britney bitch! And you can't deny the fact that this album rocks! She has returned to the pop scene with her best album yet. All the songs are great and dance worthy. You will not find yourself hating any od the songs at all. Among the new group of songs, the once that stand out the most are "Toy Soldier", "Gimme More", "Piece of Me" and "Radar". This are not the only great It's Britney bitch! And you can't deny the fact that this album rocks! She has returned to the pop scene with her best album yet. All the songs are great and dance worthy. You will not find yourself hating any od the songs at all. Among the new group of songs, the once that stand out the most are "Toy Soldier", "Gimme More", "Piece of Me" and "Radar". This are not the only great songs however. All the songs will get you up from your seat and just rock out. Go Britney!!!! Expand
  36. Jessica
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    i looovvveee it. britney is da best haters deal with it :] da queen of pop always a true legend
  37. OmarC
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I love it.
  38. Mikey
    Jan 11, 2008
    7
    Great Album, with the exception of "Heaven On Earth"...But, Obviously, Not Her Best Work.
  39. ScottB
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    Unlike her previous albums, this one doesn't contain those songs that make you instantly want to skip to the next track. While it still sounds like all the talent is in the producer's twiddling the knobs, they did a very good job of twiddlin' this time around. This same disc could have been made with studio musicians with no discernible difference in its sound, but for pure Unlike her previous albums, this one doesn't contain those songs that make you instantly want to skip to the next track. While it still sounds like all the talent is in the producer's twiddling the knobs, they did a very good job of twiddlin' this time around. This same disc could have been made with studio musicians with no discernible difference in its sound, but for pure pop its on the upper end of listenable. I never thought I'd say that about a Britney album. Expand
  40. kellyj
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    The people who keep doubting Britney just keep on getting pushed further in the mud by her ever growing incredible dance music. That are also memorable. Britney is a legend, and not just in the joking kind of way like people on Livedaily keep saying about Crustina. Blackout is amazing. Gimme More, Piece of Me, Radar, Break the Ice, Heave on Earth, Get Naked, Freakshow, Toy Soldier, Ooh The people who keep doubting Britney just keep on getting pushed further in the mud by her ever growing incredible dance music. That are also memorable. Britney is a legend, and not just in the joking kind of way like people on Livedaily keep saying about Crustina. Blackout is amazing. Gimme More, Piece of Me, Radar, Break the Ice, Heave on Earth, Get Naked, Freakshow, Toy Soldier, Ooh Ooh Baby, Perfect Lover, and Why Should I be Sad are all A+ tracks from an A+ artist. Expand
  41. J.M
    Mar 24, 2009
    8
    Overall there are a lot of great tracks on the album, but when listening you get the feeling she just doesn't care about the music anymore.
  42. PaulinaC.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Amazing!
  43. VictorG
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    GREAT ALBUM!
  44. BeccaR
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Britney is awesome and will always be awesome. Ive been listening to her ever since baby one more time came out and this album is even more amazing than all of her other work. Everyone out there hating on her needs to get a life and chill the fuck out. She'll grow out of this awful post-divorce funk and her hair will grow back. This album will bring Britney back! GO BRIT!!!!!
  45. Amy
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I can't stand this girls music BUT this CD blew me away ! WOW !!!
  46. Dec 7, 2016
    9
    The best album of her career so far? Absolutely.
    This and Kylie Minogue's 'X' are two of best examples how good and understated modern electro-pop can and should be. Much like 'X', the producers are very much in control here, but Britney's distinctiveness shines through. It's one of those beautiful records that after maybe 10 spins suddenly makes sense. You realise how well structured and
    The best album of her career so far? Absolutely.
    This and Kylie Minogue's 'X' are two of best examples how good and understated modern electro-pop can and should be. Much like 'X', the producers are very much in control here, but Britney's distinctiveness shines through. It's one of those beautiful records that after maybe 10 spins suddenly makes sense. You realise how well structured and expertly produced it really is. Not all pop albums need to be loud to big and exciting.
    Expand
  47. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    THIS IS SO OUTTA THIS WORLD THE BEST BRITNEY ALBUM EVER AND FEMME FETALE IS SO GOOD TOO!!!!!! the songs so amazing were Perfect Lover, Piece of Me, Toy Soldier and Gimme gimme more gimme more!!!!!!
  48. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    Depois de um período conturbado em sua carreira, Britney volta 4 anos depois do seu último lançamento, ”In The Zone”. Entre este período, Britney Spears simplesmente casou, separou, teve filhos e passou por um momento delicado em sua carreira: teve toda sua vida exposta e era constante flagrada se envolvendo em polêmicas e muita confusão. Spears nos traz muito mais que nós poderíamosDepois de um período conturbado em sua carreira, Britney volta 4 anos depois do seu último lançamento, ”In The Zone”. Entre este período, Britney Spears simplesmente casou, separou, teve filhos e passou por um momento delicado em sua carreira: teve toda sua vida exposta e era constante flagrada se envolvendo em polêmicas e muita confusão. Spears nos traz muito mais que nós poderíamos esperar para o seu retorno. Essencialmente com produção de Danja e Bloodshy & Avant, ”Blackout” traz o seu material mais maduro até então, um álbum coeso do começo ao fim; diferente do que vinha a acontecer em sua vida, ”Blackout” vem com mais acertos que erros.
    No fim dos anos 90, Britney Spears surgiu como um estouro teen, ao lado de seus amigos do ”Clube do Mickey”, Justin Timberlake de N*Sync e Christina Aguilera. A faixa ”Baby One MOre Time”, que traçou o topo dos Estados Unidos por 2 semanas e o seu disco homônimo vendeu mais 25 milhões de cópias ao redor do planeta, mas agora em 2007, Britney traz como carro chefe, ”Gimme More”, com o forte bordão ”It’s Britney **** uma faixa dance urbana que a distancia ainda mais a cantora do universo teen que a consagrou e aproxima Britney das divas pop Kylie Minogue e Madonna. Em ”Piece of Me”, Britney diz que é o sonho americano desde seus 17 anos e faz uma crítica aos paparazzis que a todo momento estão a clicando atrás de uma nova manchete nos tablóides e as pessoas que por este movito, julgam-lhe cosntantemente: ”Não vejo problema em trabalhar e ser mãe (…) vocês querem um pedaço de mim?”. Em ”Radar”, Britney tem o homem dos seus sonhos em sua mira, em ”Break The Ice”, melhor faixa do disco e em ”Get (Naked I Got A Plan)”, Spears também tem o desejo de conquistar e entrar em sintonia com seu parceiro (”Eu nunca me senti assim, você deixou o meu coração bater feito um sintetizador” / ”Nós somos adultos agora, eu faço você descongelar… Vamos pegar fogo.” – canta Britney em ”Break The Ice”). ”Heaven on Earth” nos traz direto ao ótimo ”Confessions on A Dance Floor” de Madonna, com uma inspiração na era disco de Donna Summer e Giorgio Moroder.A única faixa assinada por Britney Spears, ”Freakshow”, Britney simplesmente diz que quer sacodir o bumbum na pista de dança e deixar as garotas morrendo de inveja, a faixa traz uma novidade conhecida hoje como ”dubstep”, recurso eletrônico que seria ainda mais ampliado em popularidade em sua faixa número 1 de 2011, ”Hold It Against Me” e pelo multi-Grammy winner Skrillex. O álbum passa pelas não tão ótimas ”Toy Soldier”, ”Hot As Ice”, ”Ooh Ooh Baby” e melhora em ”Perfect Lover” e ”Why Should I Be Sad”, a última assinada por Pharrell Williams e The Neptunes, que nos remete a ótima ”Boys” de seu disco anterior.
    Não é a toa que ”Blackout” é um dos discos mais influentes dos últimos anos, em um mundo ainda pre-Lady Gaga, Britney Spears representa o pop dos anos 2000 com muita ousadia e se reafirma como uma mulher agora mãe, talvez mais madura e eternamente como a princesa do pop.
    Expand
  49. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    Blackout se consolidou, definitivamente, como um dos maiores álbuns da música pop atual. Não apenas por sua excelente produção, mas principalmente pelo tom sarcástico e debochado que preenche boa parte da obra.
    É um disco que imprime perfeitamente a relação de Spears com a mídia durante todos os acontecimentos que a assombravam na época. Apesar da pouca participação de Britney em sua
    Blackout se consolidou, definitivamente, como um dos maiores álbuns da música pop atual. Não apenas por sua excelente produção, mas principalmente pelo tom sarcástico e debochado que preenche boa parte da obra.
    É um disco que imprime perfeitamente a relação de Spears com a mídia durante todos os acontecimentos que a assombravam na época. Apesar da pouca participação de Britney em sua produção, este é com certeza o trabalho mais autêntico de toda a sua carreira.
    Expand
  50. Jul 15, 2016
    7
    I prefer to have emotion in my music, but seeing as this is Britney Spears, and that entails dance tracks that makes you want to hit the club . . . I will make an exception.

    Highlights (for me) are "Gimme More" ("It's Britney, B**ch), "Break the Ice" ("So you warming up yet?"), "Get Naked (I Got A Plan)" ("If ya like what ya see, end your curiosity"), "Freakshow" ("But if they wanna
    I prefer to have emotion in my music, but seeing as this is Britney Spears, and that entails dance tracks that makes you want to hit the club . . . I will make an exception.

    Highlights (for me) are "Gimme More" ("It's Britney, B**ch), "Break the Ice" ("So you warming up yet?"), "Get Naked (I Got A Plan)" ("If ya like what ya see, end your curiosity"), "Freakshow" ("But if they wanna look, we can give 'em a encore"), "Toy Soldier" ("This time I need a soldier, a really bad ass soldier"), "Ooh Ooh Baby" ("Your voice is like music to my ears, whisper softly and the world just dissapears"), and "Get Back" ("If you can't take it then get back").
    Expand
  51. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    Simply put, her most bold, edgy and dark work yet, he employs a wide spectrum of glorious synths and goes from an electronic, processed vocoder effect on some songs, to showcasing her amazing vocals effortlessly on others, like Gimme More.
  52. Feb 9, 2017
    10
    Com certeza o melhor álbum da carreira de Britney Spears. Mesmo em uma época conturbada de sua vida, Britney conseguiu entregar um material de altíssima qualidade. Blackout foi inspiração de álbuns pop de outros artistas.
  53. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    One of the best and most innovative albums of all time. With hit songs like Gimme More and Piece Of Me, Ms. Spears proves that even at her lowest, she can still end up making some of the most exhilarating club bangerz.
  54. Jan 30, 2016
    9
    Excellent album, Bible de la pop, cet album expérimental est un des meilleurs albums de Britney. Un mélange de sons et d'ambiance qui vous feront danser ou rêver.

    Point négatif: le choix du 1er single ainsi que les deux pistes qui clôturent l'album.
  55. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    Her bestllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllm
  56. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    Como em 1999, Novamente Britney revoluciona o Pop, desta vez ela trás o Electropop em uma forma sexual a la poli dance aonde todas as musicas te fazem querer dançar até o sol raiar, todas as musicas estão bem pessoais e bem profissional.
  57. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    I really love this album is my favoriteeeee from britney, i think she make the pop better and she always save the pp with her music's e reallyyy loooove
  58. Aug 30, 2016
    9
    It's Britney **** that says it all... there's something magical about it that you listen to it in 2016 and it still sounds fresh and avant-guard, No other Britney album will reach the standards this one set!
  59. Sep 10, 2016
    9
    It's Britney **** This is a great album that truly makes history in pop industry. It really express herself in that moment and adds an originality that few artists are capable of. Even though she abuses of the autotune, she still rules this industry.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. The biggest failure of these songs, and the most confusing thing about this album, are the melodies.
  2. Poetry it's not. Still, there is something delightfully escapist about Blackout, a perfectly serviceable dance album abundant in the kind of bouncy electro elements that buttressed her hottest hits.
  3. For every hot, of-the-moment track, though, there's something like the nonsensical 'Hot As Ice,' which was co-penned by the thoroughly talentless T-Pain and might have worked two albums ago but just sounds retrograde here.