Blackout

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 553 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 553

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaredM
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums of 2007. I've never much cared for Britney Spears and her "Music" but this album has proven me wrong. Even if she didn't write most of the tracks (A smart business woman knows when to start and better yet stop). This killer dance album floored me. It will definitely be remembered years from now, for having some of the best dance tracks of the last decade.
  2. SammyJ.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Great album. Britney is back. Gimme More is hot. Piece of me the video is awesome!
  3. MarkM
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Surprising! I'm really amazed because this album is very electronic-pop and I'm loving it! I also love the personal lyrics althoguh she did not penned them nevertheless this is a bold move for more!
  4. CarlosA.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the world. She is one the best sellers ever! at least in the USA. I just hope that everything is gonna be better and that she will realize that the night life and the drugs are not the best! I just hope that one day she will return to music and will do it great as she's done it before! that's why we love you Brit! get well soon! Expand
  5. TreyceF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I thought it really expressed how she felt. Piece of me and Why should I be sad are awesome.
  6. H.B
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Best Britney Album ever!!!
  7. AOH
    Oct 30, 2007
    8
    Absolutely her best. Hands down the years biggest surprise.
  8. JoshuaS
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    You could stick on this album at a party and dance all the way through. It is just full of songs you wanna shake to!
  9. KennyH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Despite it all.. Britney delivers one of the most greatest dance albums in history!... This will set the clubs on firee!
  10. claire
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Don't know what those losers who gave her a low score are listening to, this album rocks! You go girl
  11. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    its Blackout !! the Best album of 2007 And Britney Best Work to Date no one can come close to this album it was Perfect and i still play this album to this day such a classic album 100100.
  12. MarinaS.
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    The best her album ever!!
  13. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    A famous magazine considers this the fourth best album of the decade 2000-2009. It was recorded in & out of the rehab and you can actually hear that Britney wasn't in the best conditions to record, but she still made the best comeback & amazing dance tracks. "Freakshow" features elements of dubstep, too.
  14. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    Only time would be able to tell how much this would become the decade-to-come's most influential album. Considering what Britney did before and what she has done after this, Blackout certainly puts itself apart from her other productions, for only one reason: its darkness. Different from the easy-going, glowing "Circus", Blackout has deeper tracks with melodies that are catchy and yetOnly time would be able to tell how much this would become the decade-to-come's most influential album. Considering what Britney did before and what she has done after this, Blackout certainly puts itself apart from her other productions, for only one reason: its darkness. Different from the easy-going, glowing "Circus", Blackout has deeper tracks with melodies that are catchy and yet continue to have quality. Certainly influenced by a dark/struggle period in her life, Britney was able to create (since she is the executive producer of it) a cohesive and creative album. "Gimme More", "Freakshow", "Piece of Me" and "Heaven on Earth" are amazing. Incredible work. Expand
  15. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Ok I'm looking at Britney's past albums to see how people reviewed them and I'm really confused. People are giving Femme Fatale great reviews, but Blackout has almost 50 negative reviews? That's just not right. I'll keep this short. Blackout forever changed the playing field for pop music. I can play it from start to finish without skipping a single song. This is the Britney that I love.Ok I'm looking at Britney's past albums to see how people reviewed them and I'm really confused. People are giving Femme Fatale great reviews, but Blackout has almost 50 negative reviews? That's just not right. I'll keep this short. Blackout forever changed the playing field for pop music. I can play it from start to finish without skipping a single song. This is the Britney that I love. Ahead of its time, but it's a uniquely Britney album. It's Britney, **** Expand
  16. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    best Britney album so far, followed by Femme Fatale and then Circus. Blackout is so sick, deep, new, I love it. congratulations to producers! Still waiting for something like this again from Britney
  17. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    Britney at her best.
    I love this album. Not a single track in Blackout disappoints me. She got there first before everyone else jumped on the electro-dance wagon in 2011. Futuristic, sexy, under-rated.
    My album of 2007.
  18. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever
  19. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    Blackout, considerado o melhor álbum de Britney pela maioria dos fãs, é sim, o melhor álbum dela, e talvez um dos melhores álbuns pop da década de 2000. É um CD que revolucionou a música pop, principalmente a faixa "Freakshow", que "inventou" o dubstep, e se ele não existisse, a música pop não seria como ela é hoje. Todas as faixas são boas, não tem como escolher uma melhor.
  20. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    i think this is her best job, in her worst moment, gimme more (single) is powerful and had the "it's britney B***h" that become in a unforgetting line
  21. May 23, 2011
    10
    Blackout is the pop electronic album of the decade. Its a masterpeice and its a real shame that people can't enjoy it because of the credibility that Britney seems to have nowadays.
  22. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    Britney's comeback album definitely was great but lacked some of what her previous albums had. On "In The Zone" Britney did a song with Madonna and it was the best. Black out is good Standout tracks: "Gimme More" "Why Should I Be Sad" and "Piece of Me"
  23. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    On paper, a Britney Spears album without the help of writer Max Martin is a recipe for disaster. Yet despite the absence of the Swede, and the fact that Britney was fat, barmy and bald during the lead up to this record, Blackout does not suck. In fact, to date it's the only Spears album worth listening to in its entirety. Many of the tracks have the tendency to sneak up and surprise; sheOn paper, a Britney Spears album without the help of writer Max Martin is a recipe for disaster. Yet despite the absence of the Swede, and the fact that Britney was fat, barmy and bald during the lead up to this record, Blackout does not suck. In fact, to date it's the only Spears album worth listening to in its entirety. Many of the tracks have the tendency to sneak up and surprise; she sounds sexy on "Ooh Ooh Baby" without being gross, cool on "Gimme More" without trying too hard, and pissed off on "Piece of Me" without caring a whole lot. Somewhat of a minor miracle! Expand
  24. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    First, I found it irritating, forgettable, and boring. Different from her previous work. As I listen to it again, I realized that it is entertaining and danceable. Futuristic at its best and shows that Britney will always hire the best. So, the album is Britney's best for me.
  25. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Very Solid Good Album!
    The Best Songs In My Opinion Are:
    Gimme More, Piece Of Me, Break The Ice, Freakshow, And Oooh Oooh Baby!
    My Favorite Song Is Get Naked (I Got A Plan)!
  26. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I could list why every song on this album is just pure perfection, but it would take too long. "Blackout" is widely regarded as the most influential pop album in recent times, and rightfully so. Absolute perfection.
  27. May 23, 2011
    9
    So much about Britney's actual "blackout". This version of her public life is splendid enough to make me hug it for the rest of my musically-inclined life. Its her best album since her debut and deserves more credit. As she sang in "Why Should I Be Sad?", "it's time for me to move along/it's time for me to get along". Thats the good news of promise and improvement and while she's at it,So much about Britney's actual "blackout". This version of her public life is splendid enough to make me hug it for the rest of my musically-inclined life. Its her best album since her debut and deserves more credit. As she sang in "Why Should I Be Sad?", "it's time for me to move along/it's time for me to get along". Thats the good news of promise and improvement and while she's at it, there's always Blackout to celebrate a high point in her career. Expand
  28. Sep 19, 2011
    7
    Even if it's hardly Britney's effort, Blackout is a surprising comeback packed with cleverly produced, club-ready dance tracks that are heavily influenced by the electropop and synthpop genres ("Freakshow" has a striking dubstep influence) and about as catchy as the flu in December.
  29. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This album is the best one by Britney. It signs her return to the music world. The album contains really good dance tracks like Get Naked (I Got a Plan), Piece Of Me and Gimme More. This album has got Britney's touch. This album launched the music in a new planet: the Electro Music.
  30. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    "Blackout" has re-defined the pop music. Since its release, the culture hasn't been the same. One of the best albums released by Britney Spears. Be sure to check "Heaven on Earth" and "Freakshow" on this album.
  31. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is pop music at its best. Britney went through hard times before and during the recording of this album, but the outcome is nothing less than spectacular. Definitely one of the best albums of the 00s.
  32. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    Not the best album of Britney Spears had the ability to earn top marks in both the critics and admirers of the critique of pseudo-singer (not the fans, for their opinion should not be taken into account). From there we see the level of artist. No more comments.
  33. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Her second best album, Heaven On Earth is epic!
  34. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    "Blackout" is, without a doubt, Britney's best album. It was released during the roughest time of her live, and when her image was very damaged because of her erratic behaviour (in fact, "Blackout" is the only Britney album that hasn't reached the number 1 spot on the Billboard 200 list). However that shouldn't have affected anyone's vision of the album, and "Blackout" is the most cohesive"Blackout" is, without a doubt, Britney's best album. It was released during the roughest time of her live, and when her image was very damaged because of her erratic behaviour (in fact, "Blackout" is the only Britney album that hasn't reached the number 1 spot on the Billboard 200 list). However that shouldn't have affected anyone's vision of the album, and "Blackout" is the most cohesive and meaningful album that she has ever done and, judging by her later efforts, that she will ever do. She didn't do any writing for the album (and she has never been a very productive writer), but the songs really fit her story, so she must have some good choosing skills, or very good writers working for her. The whole album is a statement, and a very effective one. It opens with "Gimme More" and the iconic "It's Britney, **** and is followed by "Piece of Me", one of her best songs ever. It is really sad that her situation was so out of control that she couldn't properly promote or perform these songs, because most of them were extremely mainstream and hits waiting to happen, and not every album has that and maintains it's quality. It is ironic how Britney could deliver her best album in her worst moment, making it to be her most ignored record. Some may say that it's overrated. I don't think it is, at all. I think she couldn't give it the attention it deserved. Highlights: Get Naked (I Got a Plan), Piece of Me, Radar, Hot as Ice Expand
  35. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt her best cd released as of 2012. An it is one the top cd's released in 07. The production is just amazing. On pretty much every track Britney sounds so invested and/or engaged. A great thing to hear, excluding In The Zone, Britney had a tendency to sound like she wasn't really connecting with songs off previous albums. On this album though she sounds like she is having funWithout a doubt her best cd released as of 2012. An it is one the top cd's released in 07. The production is just amazing. On pretty much every track Britney sounds so invested and/or engaged. A great thing to hear, excluding In The Zone, Britney had a tendency to sound like she wasn't really connecting with songs off previous albums. On this album though she sounds like she is having fun and enjoying her time in the recording studio. The album would have sold millions had it been properly promoted and had Britney been in better health. Because at the end of the day it really is that amazing. Expand
  36. May 16, 2012
    10
    Simply, one of the best pop albums of the millennium. Every song on that album is a masterpiece!
    "It's Britney **** is enough to make the album the most memorable one in history.
  37. May 29, 2012
    9
    Britney's Best Album (Up To 2007)
    Amazing Tracks And Vocals!
    Love Every Song..
    90% A-
  38. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Probably the best album that Britney Spears will ever produce. It's the only of her records that lacks a bit of the shallow and empty touch that In The Zone exceeded and Femme Fatale sums up in voice effects and over-production.
  39. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    the world's biggest pop star has released one of her best records. out passing her In The Zone era, Blackout takes you into a world of fame, money, sex and glamour as Britney sings hits like Gimme More featuring Danja and lovey dovey ones like Ooh Ooh Baby alongside the amazing Piece Of Me and Toy Soldier
  40. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Her Best Album Up To 2007!
  41. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Un album inteligente y sexy que ha logrado ser la inspiración para muchos artistas, es una obra maestra en donde Britney se escucha relajada y donde se le puede escuchar divertida en cada track
  42. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    This is pretty fantastic for a Britney Spears record. Through her then personal struggles she managed to put out an original and classic dance album in which any of the tracks could be a hit single. Download: Every track except "Hot as Ice", "Why Should I Be Sad" and "Get Back" (and definitely not "Everybody" found on the deluxe edition).
  43. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Baby One More Time is her best album, just because is her debut album but this is definitely her most personal album, Britney Jean is just a waste of time... This is a truly comeback.
  44. May 14, 2014
    10
    Funny thing is that Britney recorded her (by far) best album while she was at her worst. Blackout is a really nice album and has made history in many cultures. It has those beats all over, but they're by no means generic and still really dance-able today. You hit the right spot, Ms. spears!
  45. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    After a three year hiatus amid a mental breakdown, Britney Spears proved that she was still reigning pop royalty. Each track has its own unique sound, propelled by inferior production. By far her most adventurous work to date!
  46. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    The 2007 album, Best album of Spears.
    The amazing and cool album, Gimme More, Hot As Ice and Piece Of Me are best songs of princess of pop!
    Danja is so amazing, Pharell is so cool and Timbaland is so fantastic...
    Britney is the only princess of pop
  47. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    Um grande álbum. Não é à toa que ele é considerado o melhor da carreira de Britney Spears e uma Bíblia do Pop. Muito bem produzido e com músicas conceituais, ele, se fosse lançado hoje, seria atual. Muito bom. :)
  48. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    This Is a Perfect album. Yes the Gimme More is super and Piece Of Me a big hit, Radar & Break The Ice this amazing. This Perfect. Britney 4 big hit in 1 album.
  49. DH
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    I think it's great! Fun and consistent. Love the album cover. The whole album has energy. Everybody lighten up.
  50. angelm.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    this is a very good album, fresh, pop, dance, maybe is no the best of britney but i love it
  51. ChrisNYC
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Britney is back!!!!....The album gives awesome dance tracks from start to finsih......say what you will about her personal life, but let the music speak for itself......and it delivers, time and again!
  52. AriffM
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    I was never a fan, except for the bounciness of Toxic & the pathos of Something, I never gave much thought about Ms Britney, that is, until she shaved her head. What a great show of defiance! Can you imagine Nelly Furtado or any of the top 10 female pop performers doing the same out of some bizarre emotional self-confrontation? As for the album - if you're a fan of Ladytron-Depeche I was never a fan, except for the bounciness of Toxic & the pathos of Something, I never gave much thought about Ms Britney, that is, until she shaved her head. What a great show of defiance! Can you imagine Nelly Furtado or any of the top 10 female pop performers doing the same out of some bizarre emotional self-confrontation? As for the album - if you're a fan of Ladytron-Depeche Mode you'd be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  53. CaesarC.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Great album, Britney improved her music since In The Zone.
  54. Britney'sV.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    Some of my best work y'all!
  55. RyanT
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    This album is great. All the songs, that's right, all of them, are great. Very dance-like. I recommend it to anyone.
  56. ChrisG
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    It is her best album yet. The songs are funky and futuristic. All of the bizarre voice she uses like in Get Naked (I Got A Plan) and Freakshow work to her advantage. The dance club hits like Gimme More and Radar make this cd a huge success.
  57. DardoS
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    I cannot believe it. No, really. I dislike Britney's music, I usually find it way too stupid. "Blackout" is not the exception: it is probably the most stupid thing you've heard... after "Spice up your life" perhaps. But the truth is that this piece of stupid music is amazingly funny! It's not the kinda album I'm gonna listen to over and over. But you can be sure that I cannot believe it. No, really. I dislike Britney's music, I usually find it way too stupid. "Blackout" is not the exception: it is probably the most stupid thing you've heard... after "Spice up your life" perhaps. But the truth is that this piece of stupid music is amazingly funny! It's not the kinda album I'm gonna listen to over and over. But you can be sure that you can play it on a party, and it will work. Oh, and "Hot as ice" is the biggest nonsense I've heard in my life. And I just can't help lovin' it. Expand
  58. JamesKuyken
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Awesome come back album!!!!
  59. BenceB.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Of Course, Britney's best work i think, all the song is modern, up-tempo and electric! a typically R&B/Pop disc :) i love it! BRITNEY B***h is back.
  60. MathieuO.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    And yes this album is fabulous.
  61. RobertF
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    Britney's much anticipated album doesn't fail to deliver. This album is very well produced and one can't help but be caught in the hynotic and yet playful beats that Britney's crew carve out. One needs wonder whether this is just slick production or a smart plan by the former good girl now ubiquitous star credited as executive producer. A great pop dance album with Britney's much anticipated album doesn't fail to deliver. This album is very well produced and one can't help but be caught in the hynotic and yet playful beats that Britney's crew carve out. One needs wonder whether this is just slick production or a smart plan by the former good girl now ubiquitous star credited as executive producer. A great pop dance album with many beats destined for radio and chart success. Expand
  62. PaulinaC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing!
  63. ixata
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Really... i just had to give this album a 10. its just too good. no fillers AT ALL. and my idols are tori amos and bjork. please guys.. give ratings to THIS ALBUM.. not her life or whatever that bugs you.. buy this record and enjoy.
  64. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Perfectly produced and sang: Spears' voice sounds amazing on beats by Danja, Bloodshy & Avant and others. Her best album so far.
  65. MB
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Britney's best album yet.
  66. BobD.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows down. Well done Britney, now get well soon! Expand
  67. DerekC.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    Whilst her voice isn't very deserving of praise9lets face it the nasal sound can be giot from kindergartners!!) this album is just enjotable and for once she doesn't appeaar to be fixed at the mic her voice whether good or bad is shown. Not bad!
  68. Anonymous
    Mar 21, 2009
    9
    Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Ice are the best tracks, but Toy Soldier and Freakshow are well done, too. Expand
  69. SoniaC
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    I absolutely LOVE every song on the album!
  70. whits
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    brilliant electro pop. girl gonna WORK.
  71. gabriel!
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    her best album yet.
  72. JordanL
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Anyone who doesn't like this album has no business in dance music or having fun. Don't people GET IT? She is a DANCE artist. She does not make sappy love ballads & her voice isn't strong like Mariah or Celine's, yet people always belittle her because of that. If, say, Madonna or Kylie made an album like this, it would have gotten 5/5 stars everywhere. And people Anyone who doesn't like this album has no business in dance music or having fun. Don't people GET IT? She is a DANCE artist. She does not make sappy love ballads & her voice isn't strong like Mariah or Celine's, yet people always belittle her because of that. If, say, Madonna or Kylie made an album like this, it would have gotten 5/5 stars everywhere. And people complaining about the overproduced vocals? Are you kidding? IT IS A DANCE ALBUM, IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE ROBOTIC AND ELECTRONIC-INFLUENCED. Have you guys ever heard of DAFT PUNK?! Each song is a classic and I must say it is becoming one of my favorite albums ever. Expand
  73. MateoG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    I Love it! great album.
  74. JensO.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    This album is abfab! Highlights: Gimme More, Piece of Me, Radar, Get Nacked.
  75. HeatherR
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    This CD is my far her best yet, not only does every song have an extremely catchy beat but it reflects so much on her life. I think she did a wonderful job with this anyone who disagrees obviously does not like that genre of music or is being too critical, yes she has made some bad decisions put that behind you, this was a great move on her part!
  76. CK
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Don't want to endorse her right now, but she definitely put out a great pop album. Lots of fun.
  77. ClintM
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    buck the naysayers ... the album is choc full of songs to shake your @$$ to and beats to bob your head to. I mean, seriously, if I only bought music from artists whose personal lives I related to, I wouldn't own more than a handful of albums! the songs are well crafted for anyone w/an ear for ELECTRO-POP/DANCE music. and I'm one of those people!
  78. windsor-
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Not bad. Is a album for dance and clubbing times.
  79. Colr.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    really awesome album - sexy, dancy, well produced - brits best - love the attitude and energy.
  80. nute
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    Hmm. never liked britney b4, but some of these songs are, i grudgingly admit, quite brilliant, and very avant garde. 'piece of me' is better and more futuristic than a lot of electronic bands (Digitilism, Underworld, etc.) which was a shock. And the song Freakshow is nearly as good as SXYLV, Lava Lava, or D.A.N.C.E. Also, reading the New York Times reveiw, I'm suprised Hmm. never liked britney b4, but some of these songs are, i grudgingly admit, quite brilliant, and very avant garde. 'piece of me' is better and more futuristic than a lot of electronic bands (Digitilism, Underworld, etc.) which was a shock. And the song Freakshow is nearly as good as SXYLV, Lava Lava, or D.A.N.C.E. Also, reading the New York Times reveiw, I'm suprised metacritic counts it as only a 40, when reads more like a 75 to me, especially with quotes like this: "That doesn Expand
  81. VictorG
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    GREAT ALBUM!
  82. ysiy.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    wow! superb! get into her beat
  83. MB
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Britney's best album yet.
  84. sandyk.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome!
  85. beautifuls.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best album of the decade. this album is a huge hit. i feel like dancing to all the tracks.
  86. th
    Nov 6, 2007
    8
    i actually think this album is fun, different and artfully crafted to kiss off her image as a bad parent, drug addict, trainwreck and forces us to realize why we loved britney before....her music...not her voice, her music. i think this is a great way of proving she hasn't gone completely crazy!
  87. OlivierG.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    It's her best material in career! Every songs is a hit!!!
  88. JoshuaN.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Love it !
  89. LouieT.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    BLA BLA BLA . This Shit is the Hottest ALBUM EVER , if u r saying that she used Studi Tricks Thats SUPER COOL , She have ha Showed her abilities On - Hot As Ice - Heaven On Earth - An i really Dont Carfe about if Her Voice wasn't 100 Clear , BRITNEY HAVE MADE A HELL OF A COPMEBACK.
  90. SilvioP
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Mix Timberlake's FurtureSex/LoveSound and Madonna's Confessions On A Dancefloor, with Britney's Derriere... Puf! The Best Dance Album Of The Year!!!
  91. IgorL.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Funny that Britney delivered her best album when least expected. Never thought I would hear a great album from the "Oops I did it again" girl.
  92. AlexS.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Blackout rocks!! It's amazing. Britney's best album! She keeps getting better and better. She is the executive producer of blackout. She made an awesome album!
  93. mikyruggy
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This is her best album to date. Judge her for the music, not for the personal life!!!
  94. amandaw
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    hate the cover and the inside pics but love the album. loved "heaven on earth" and 'piece of me'
  95. RyanL
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Britney knows what she excels at and she delivers it here on Blackout. Most every song is a get out of your seat and dance groove. Those looking for personal, introspective lyrics have come to the wrong place. Maybe on the next album.
  96. KentSmith
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    So Britney needs a lot of help in her personal life?! BUT BOY DOES SHE KNOW HOW TO MAKE A POP RECORD! This album is great and touches on her paprazzi filled life and sexual growth as a person! Hight lights: "Radar", "Gimme More", "Get Naked", "Toy Soldier", "Break The Ice", "Ooh Ooh Baby", "Piece of Me"-- this album will sure get your booty dancin and having a blast!!! (but really Get So Britney needs a lot of help in her personal life?! BUT BOY DOES SHE KNOW HOW TO MAKE A POP RECORD! This album is great and touches on her paprazzi filled life and sexual growth as a person! Hight lights: "Radar", "Gimme More", "Get Naked", "Toy Soldier", "Break The Ice", "Ooh Ooh Baby", "Piece of Me"-- this album will sure get your booty dancin and having a blast!!! (but really Get Help Britney in your personal life) Expand
  97. JohannaH
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    she will always have it!!!!
  98. Jay
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    she fine. and she could sing
  99. RobertP
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I love it...every track is incredible...
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. The biggest failure of these songs, and the most confusing thing about this album, are the melodies.
  2. Poetry it's not. Still, there is something delightfully escapist about Blackout, a perfectly serviceable dance album abundant in the kind of bouncy electro elements that buttressed her hottest hits.
  3. For every hot, of-the-moment track, though, there's something like the nonsensical 'Hot As Ice,' which was co-penned by the thoroughly talentless T-Pain and might have worked two albums ago but just sounds retrograde here.