Blackout

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 671 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 671

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    Blackout se consolidou, definitivamente, como um dos maiores álbuns da música pop atual. Não apenas por sua excelente produção, mas principalmente pelo tom sarcástico e debochado que preenche boa parte da obra.
    É um disco que imprime perfeitamente a relação de Spears com a mídia durante todos os acontecimentos que a assombravam na época. Apesar da pouca participação de Britney em sua
    Blackout se consolidou, definitivamente, como um dos maiores álbuns da música pop atual. Não apenas por sua excelente produção, mas principalmente pelo tom sarcástico e debochado que preenche boa parte da obra.
    É um disco que imprime perfeitamente a relação de Spears com a mídia durante todos os acontecimentos que a assombravam na época. Apesar da pouca participação de Britney em sua produção, este é com certeza o trabalho mais autêntico de toda a sua carreira.
    Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2017
    10
    Com certeza o melhor álbum da carreira de Britney Spears. Mesmo em uma época conturbada de sua vida, Britney conseguiu entregar um material de altíssima qualidade. Blackout foi inspiração de álbuns pop de outros artistas.
  3. Jan 28, 2017
    5
    É um bom album, mas não é tudo isso, tem otimas musicas como Gimme More, Piece Of Me, Break The Ice e Everybody, mas eu ainda continuo preferindo Circus, In The Zone, Femme Fatale, Britney, Glory etc...
  4. Dec 7, 2016
    9
    The best album of her career so far? Absolutely.
    This and Kylie Minogue's 'X' are two of best examples how good and understated modern electro-pop can and should be. Much like 'X', the producers are very much in control here, but Britney's distinctiveness shines through. It's one of those beautiful records that after maybe 10 spins suddenly makes sense. You realise how well structured and
    The best album of her career so far? Absolutely.
    This and Kylie Minogue's 'X' are two of best examples how good and understated modern electro-pop can and should be. Much like 'X', the producers are very much in control here, but Britney's distinctiveness shines through. It's one of those beautiful records that after maybe 10 spins suddenly makes sense. You realise how well structured and expertly produced it really is. Not all pop albums need to be loud to big and exciting.
    Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2016
    6
    Much like In The Zone, this is a consistent and generally interesting record, but NOT the pop bible, and NOT even close to a great record. Very good: Break the Ice, Heaven on Earth. Good: Most of the rest.
  6. Oct 29, 2016
    3
    Sinceramente no se que le ven, es malo, y aunque tiene momentos de gloria, no me gusta casi, solo los singles y uno que otra cancion se salvan, no me gusto para nada
  7. Sep 10, 2016
    9
    It's Britney **** This is a great album that truly makes history in pop industry. It really express herself in that moment and adds an originality that few artists are capable of. Even though she abuses of the autotune, she still rules this industry.
  8. Aug 30, 2016
    9
    It's Britney **** that says it all... there's something magical about it that you listen to it in 2016 and it still sounds fresh and avant-guard, No other Britney album will reach the standards this one set!
  9. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    One of the worst albums of the year thus far. It shows absolutely no artistic growth, the lyrics are elementary, and the vocals are non-existent. All in all, a terrible album. Collapse
  10. Aug 30, 2016
    1
    Spears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't getSpears' sophomore album, which was critically one of her best, and featured the self-titled single that everyone and their mothers know. The album is headlined by such songs as Oops...I did it again, Stronger, and Lucky, with each one reaching the top 15 in the US Billboard 100 charts. Though those songs were popular, and I think they are catchy, the album does have its flaws. (I can't get no) Satisfaction is a word-for-word cover of the original Rolling Stones song, and it just comes off as awful personally. Also, the last track on the album, Dear Diary, is very, very stupid, in my opinion. Buy it to relive some nostalgia, but be aware this is the early 2000's, and bubblegum pop is just as cheesy as you thought it was. Collapse Expand
  11. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    Como em 1999, Novamente Britney revoluciona o Pop, desta vez ela trás o Electropop em uma forma sexual a la poli dance aonde todas as musicas te fazem querer dançar até o sol raiar, todas as musicas estão bem pessoais e bem profissional.
  12. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    I really love this album is my favoriteeeee from britney, i think she make the pop better and she always save the pp with her music's e reallyyy loooove
  13. Jul 15, 2016
    7
    I prefer to have emotion in my music, but seeing as this is Britney Spears, and that entails dance tracks that makes you want to hit the club . . . I will make an exception.

    Highlights (for me) are "Gimme More" ("It's Britney, B**ch), "Break the Ice" ("So you warming up yet?"), "Get Naked (I Got A Plan)" ("If ya like what ya see, end your curiosity"), "Freakshow" ("But if they wanna
    I prefer to have emotion in my music, but seeing as this is Britney Spears, and that entails dance tracks that makes you want to hit the club . . . I will make an exception.

    Highlights (for me) are "Gimme More" ("It's Britney, B**ch), "Break the Ice" ("So you warming up yet?"), "Get Naked (I Got A Plan)" ("If ya like what ya see, end your curiosity"), "Freakshow" ("But if they wanna look, we can give 'em a encore"), "Toy Soldier" ("This time I need a soldier, a really bad ass soldier"), "Ooh Ooh Baby" ("Your voice is like music to my ears, whisper softly and the world just dissapears"), and "Get Back" ("If you can't take it then get back").
    Expand
  14. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    its Blackout !! the Best album of 2007 And Britney Best Work to Date no one can come close to this album it was Perfect and i still play this album to this day such a classic album 100100.
  15. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    Her bestllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllm
  16. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    Simply put, her most bold, edgy and dark work yet, he employs a wide spectrum of glorious synths and goes from an electronic, processed vocoder effect on some songs, to showcasing her amazing vocals effortlessly on others, like Gimme More.
  17. Jan 30, 2016
    9
    Excellent album, Bible de la pop, cet album expérimental est un des meilleurs albums de Britney. Un mélange de sons et d'ambiance qui vous feront danser ou rêver.

    Point négatif: le choix du 1er single ainsi que les deux pistes qui clôturent l'album.
  18. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    One of the best and most innovative albums of all time. With hit songs like Gimme More and Piece Of Me, Ms. Spears proves that even at her lowest, she can still end up making some of the most exhilarating club bangerz.
  19. Apr 24, 2015
    6
    Track by track review:
    1. Gimme More 7.5/10
    2. Piece of Me 6.5/10 3. Radar 10/10 4. Break the Ice 10/10 5. Heaven on Earth 7.5/10 6. Get Naked (I Got a Plan) 10/10 7. Freakshow 1.5/10 8. Toy Soldier 1/10 9. Hot as Ice 10/10 10. Ooh Ooh Baby 9.5/10 11. Perfect Lover 5/10 12. Why Should I Be Sad 2/10 Highlights: Radar, Get Naked (I Got a Plan) Potential singles: Gimme More,
    Track by track review:
    1. Gimme More 7.5/10
    2. Piece of Me 6.5/10
    3. Radar 10/10
    4. Break the Ice 10/10
    5. Heaven on Earth 7.5/10
    6. Get Naked (I Got a Plan) 10/10
    7. Freakshow 1.5/10
    8. Toy Soldier 1/10
    9. Hot as Ice 10/10
    10. Ooh Ooh Baby 9.5/10
    11. Perfect Lover 5/10
    12. Why Should I Be Sad 2/10

    Highlights: Radar, Get Naked (I Got a Plan)
    Potential singles: Gimme More, Piece of Me, Radar, Break the Ice
    Expand
  20. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    Depois de um período conturbado em sua carreira, Britney volta 4 anos depois do seu último lançamento, ”In The Zone”. Entre este período, Britney Spears simplesmente casou, separou, teve filhos e passou por um momento delicado em sua carreira: teve toda sua vida exposta e era constante flagrada se envolvendo em polêmicas e muita confusão. Spears nos traz muito mais que nós poderíamosDepois de um período conturbado em sua carreira, Britney volta 4 anos depois do seu último lançamento, ”In The Zone”. Entre este período, Britney Spears simplesmente casou, separou, teve filhos e passou por um momento delicado em sua carreira: teve toda sua vida exposta e era constante flagrada se envolvendo em polêmicas e muita confusão. Spears nos traz muito mais que nós poderíamos esperar para o seu retorno. Essencialmente com produção de Danja e Bloodshy & Avant, ”Blackout” traz o seu material mais maduro até então, um álbum coeso do começo ao fim; diferente do que vinha a acontecer em sua vida, ”Blackout” vem com mais acertos que erros.
    No fim dos anos 90, Britney Spears surgiu como um estouro teen, ao lado de seus amigos do ”Clube do Mickey”, Justin Timberlake de N*Sync e Christina Aguilera. A faixa ”Baby One MOre Time”, que traçou o topo dos Estados Unidos por 2 semanas e o seu disco homônimo vendeu mais 25 milhões de cópias ao redor do planeta, mas agora em 2007, Britney traz como carro chefe, ”Gimme More”, com o forte bordão ”It’s Britney **** uma faixa dance urbana que a distancia ainda mais a cantora do universo teen que a consagrou e aproxima Britney das divas pop Kylie Minogue e Madonna. Em ”Piece of Me”, Britney diz que é o sonho americano desde seus 17 anos e faz uma crítica aos paparazzis que a todo momento estão a clicando atrás de uma nova manchete nos tablóides e as pessoas que por este movito, julgam-lhe cosntantemente: ”Não vejo problema em trabalhar e ser mãe (…) vocês querem um pedaço de mim?”. Em ”Radar”, Britney tem o homem dos seus sonhos em sua mira, em ”Break The Ice”, melhor faixa do disco e em ”Get (Naked I Got A Plan)”, Spears também tem o desejo de conquistar e entrar em sintonia com seu parceiro (”Eu nunca me senti assim, você deixou o meu coração bater feito um sintetizador” / ”Nós somos adultos agora, eu faço você descongelar… Vamos pegar fogo.” – canta Britney em ”Break The Ice”). ”Heaven on Earth” nos traz direto ao ótimo ”Confessions on A Dance Floor” de Madonna, com uma inspiração na era disco de Donna Summer e Giorgio Moroder.A única faixa assinada por Britney Spears, ”Freakshow”, Britney simplesmente diz que quer sacodir o bumbum na pista de dança e deixar as garotas morrendo de inveja, a faixa traz uma novidade conhecida hoje como ”dubstep”, recurso eletrônico que seria ainda mais ampliado em popularidade em sua faixa número 1 de 2011, ”Hold It Against Me” e pelo multi-Grammy winner Skrillex. O álbum passa pelas não tão ótimas ”Toy Soldier”, ”Hot As Ice”, ”Ooh Ooh Baby” e melhora em ”Perfect Lover” e ”Why Should I Be Sad”, a última assinada por Pharrell Williams e The Neptunes, que nos remete a ótima ”Boys” de seu disco anterior.
    Não é a toa que ”Blackout” é um dos discos mais influentes dos últimos anos, em um mundo ainda pre-Lady Gaga, Britney Spears representa o pop dos anos 2000 com muita ousadia e se reafirma como uma mulher agora mãe, talvez mais madura e eternamente como a princesa do pop.
    Expand
  21. Oct 22, 2014
    10
    This Is a Perfect album. Yes the Gimme More is super and Piece Of Me a big hit, Radar & Break The Ice this amazing. This Perfect. Britney 4 big hit in 1 album.
  22. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    Um grande álbum. Não é à toa que ele é considerado o melhor da carreira de Britney Spears e uma Bíblia do Pop. Muito bem produzido e com músicas conceituais, ele, se fosse lançado hoje, seria atual. Muito bom. :)
  23. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    Blackout, considerado o melhor álbum de Britney pela maioria dos fãs, é sim, o melhor álbum dela, e talvez um dos melhores álbuns pop da década de 2000. É um CD que revolucionou a música pop, principalmente a faixa "Freakshow", que "inventou" o dubstep, e se ele não existisse, a música pop não seria como ela é hoje. Todas as faixas são boas, não tem como escolher uma melhor.
  24. Aug 2, 2014
    10
    The 2007 album, Best album of Spears.
    The amazing and cool album, Gimme More, Hot As Ice and Piece Of Me are best songs of princess of pop!
    Danja is so amazing, Pharell is so cool and Timbaland is so fantastic...
    Britney is the only princess of pop
  25. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    After a three year hiatus amid a mental breakdown, Britney Spears proved that she was still reigning pop royalty. Each track has its own unique sound, propelled by inferior production. By far her most adventurous work to date!
  26. May 14, 2014
    10
    Funny thing is that Britney recorded her (by far) best album while she was at her worst. Blackout is a really nice album and has made history in many cultures. It has those beats all over, but they're by no means generic and still really dance-able today. You hit the right spot, Ms. spears!
  27. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Baby One More Time is her best album, just because is her debut album but this is definitely her most personal album, Britney Jean is just a waste of time... This is a truly comeback.
  28. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever best album ever
  29. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    This is pretty fantastic for a Britney Spears record. Through her then personal struggles she managed to put out an original and classic dance album in which any of the tracks could be a hit single. Download: Every track except "Hot as Ice", "Why Should I Be Sad" and "Get Back" (and definitely not "Everybody" found on the deluxe edition).
  30. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    I could list why every song on this album is just pure perfection, but it would take too long. "Blackout" is widely regarded as the most influential pop album in recent times, and rightfully so. Absolute perfection.
  31. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    best Britney album so far, followed by Femme Fatale and then Circus. Blackout is so sick, deep, new, I love it. congratulations to producers! Still waiting for something like this again from Britney
  32. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Un album inteligente y sexy que ha logrado ser la inspiración para muchos artistas, es una obra maestra en donde Britney se escucha relajada y donde se le puede escuchar divertida en cada track
  33. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Her Best Album Up To 2007!
  34. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    Britney at her best.
    I love this album. Not a single track in Blackout disappoints me. She got there first before everyone else jumped on the electro-dance wagon in 2011. Futuristic, sexy, under-rated.
    My album of 2007.
  35. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    the world's biggest pop star has released one of her best records. out passing her In The Zone era, Blackout takes you into a world of fame, money, sex and glamour as Britney sings hits like Gimme More featuring Danja and lovey dovey ones like Ooh Ooh Baby alongside the amazing Piece Of Me and Toy Soldier
  36. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Probably the best album that Britney Spears will ever produce. It's the only of her records that lacks a bit of the shallow and empty touch that In The Zone exceeded and Femme Fatale sums up in voice effects and over-production.
  37. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    Only time would be able to tell how much this would become the decade-to-come's most influential album. Considering what Britney did before and what she has done after this, Blackout certainly puts itself apart from her other productions, for only one reason: its darkness. Different from the easy-going, glowing "Circus", Blackout has deeper tracks with melodies that are catchy and yetOnly time would be able to tell how much this would become the decade-to-come's most influential album. Considering what Britney did before and what she has done after this, Blackout certainly puts itself apart from her other productions, for only one reason: its darkness. Different from the easy-going, glowing "Circus", Blackout has deeper tracks with melodies that are catchy and yet continue to have quality. Certainly influenced by a dark/struggle period in her life, Britney was able to create (since she is the executive producer of it) a cohesive and creative album. "Gimme More", "Freakshow", "Piece of Me" and "Heaven on Earth" are amazing. Incredible work. Expand
  38. Jul 14, 2012
    1
    His worst album for sure, processed voice, songs stressful, sickening beats, the only good song of this album may be "Break the Ice". There's a lot of poor songs in this record.
  39. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt her best cd released as of 2012. An it is one the top cd's released in 07. The production is just amazing. On pretty much every track Britney sounds so invested and/or engaged. A great thing to hear, excluding In The Zone, Britney had a tendency to sound like she wasn't really connecting with songs off previous albums. On this album though she sounds like she is having funWithout a doubt her best cd released as of 2012. An it is one the top cd's released in 07. The production is just amazing. On pretty much every track Britney sounds so invested and/or engaged. A great thing to hear, excluding In The Zone, Britney had a tendency to sound like she wasn't really connecting with songs off previous albums. On this album though she sounds like she is having fun and enjoying her time in the recording studio. The album would have sold millions had it been properly promoted and had Britney been in better health. Because at the end of the day it really is that amazing. Expand
  40. May 29, 2012
    9
    Britney's Best Album (Up To 2007)
    Amazing Tracks And Vocals!
    Love Every Song..
    90% A-
  41. May 16, 2012
    10
    Simply, one of the best pop albums of the millennium. Every song on that album is a masterpiece!
    "It's Britney **** is enough to make the album the most memorable one in history.
  42. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    "Blackout" is, without a doubt, Britney's best album. It was released during the roughest time of her live, and when her image was very damaged because of her erratic behaviour (in fact, "Blackout" is the only Britney album that hasn't reached the number 1 spot on the Billboard 200 list). However that shouldn't have affected anyone's vision of the album, and "Blackout" is the most cohesive"Blackout" is, without a doubt, Britney's best album. It was released during the roughest time of her live, and when her image was very damaged because of her erratic behaviour (in fact, "Blackout" is the only Britney album that hasn't reached the number 1 spot on the Billboard 200 list). However that shouldn't have affected anyone's vision of the album, and "Blackout" is the most cohesive and meaningful album that she has ever done and, judging by her later efforts, that she will ever do. She didn't do any writing for the album (and she has never been a very productive writer), but the songs really fit her story, so she must have some good choosing skills, or very good writers working for her. The whole album is a statement, and a very effective one. It opens with "Gimme More" and the iconic "It's Britney, **** and is followed by "Piece of Me", one of her best songs ever. It is really sad that her situation was so out of control that she couldn't properly promote or perform these songs, because most of them were extremely mainstream and hits waiting to happen, and not every album has that and maintains it's quality. It is ironic how Britney could deliver her best album in her worst moment, making it to be her most ignored record. Some may say that it's overrated. I don't think it is, at all. I think she couldn't give it the attention it deserved. Highlights: Get Naked (I Got a Plan), Piece of Me, Radar, Hot as Ice Expand
  43. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Her second best album, Heaven On Earth is epic!
  44. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    Not the best album of Britney Spears had the ability to earn top marks in both the critics and admirers of the critique of pseudo-singer (not the fans, for their opinion should not be taken into account). From there we see the level of artist. No more comments.
  45. Feb 24, 2012
    3
    This album will sway neither the faithful nor the unbelievers from their positions along the borders of her stalled momentum.
  46. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Very Solid Good Album!
    The Best Songs In My Opinion Are:
    Gimme More, Piece Of Me, Break The Ice, Freakshow, And Oooh Oooh Baby!
    My Favorite Song Is Get Naked (I Got A Plan)!
  47. Oct 28, 2011
    3
    This album is grossly overrated. It sounds like everything Timbaland and co. were doing around the same time, only much, much worse. Generic beats, shallow lyrics, poor vocals... this is one you'll want to pass on.
  48. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is pop music at its best. Britney went through hard times before and during the recording of this album, but the outcome is nothing less than spectacular. Definitely one of the best albums of the 00s.
  49. Sep 19, 2011
    7
    Even if it's hardly Britney's effort, Blackout is a surprising comeback packed with cleverly produced, club-ready dance tracks that are heavily influenced by the electropop and synthpop genres ("Freakshow" has a striking dubstep influence) and about as catchy as the flu in December.
  50. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    "Blackout" has re-defined the pop music. Since its release, the culture hasn't been the same. One of the best albums released by Britney Spears. Be sure to check "Heaven on Earth" and "Freakshow" on this album.
  51. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This album is the best one by Britney. It signs her return to the music world. The album contains really good dance tracks like Get Naked (I Got a Plan), Piece Of Me and Gimme More. This album has got Britney's touch. This album launched the music in a new planet: the Electro Music.
  52. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    A famous magazine considers this the fourth best album of the decade 2000-2009. It was recorded in & out of the rehab and you can actually hear that Britney wasn't in the best conditions to record, but she still made the best comeback & amazing dance tracks. "Freakshow" features elements of dubstep, too.
  53. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    A somethat surprising album that delivers more than you might actually expected, with loud, sexy, electronica beats as well as some Timbaland style corkers thrown into the mix you can't help but like this album for what it is, pop music. But that's all this album is, it offers little else, nothing that pushes the boat out, nothing overly memorable and sadly the only things that have beenA somethat surprising album that delivers more than you might actually expected, with loud, sexy, electronica beats as well as some Timbaland style corkers thrown into the mix you can't help but like this album for what it is, pop music. But that's all this album is, it offers little else, nothing that pushes the boat out, nothing overly memorable and sadly the only things that have been pushed to their limits is auto tuning and backing vocalists (Robyn for example), which i'm aware is used with most artists, but at some point a limit should be reached. Expand
  54. Jun 12, 2011
    5
    I never liked her but this album is her best by far. Catchy chorus and beat. Of course after you have to consider she probably didn't write a single word or contribute in any way to this album but after all it's Britney Spears.
  55. May 23, 2011
    10
    Blackout is the pop electronic album of the decade. Its a masterpeice and its a real shame that people can't enjoy it because of the credibility that Britney seems to have nowadays.
  56. May 23, 2011
    9
    So much about Britney's actual "blackout". This version of her public life is splendid enough to make me hug it for the rest of my musically-inclined life. Its her best album since her debut and deserves more credit. As she sang in "Why Should I Be Sad?", "it's time for me to move along/it's time for me to get along". Thats the good news of promise and improvement and while she's at it,So much about Britney's actual "blackout". This version of her public life is splendid enough to make me hug it for the rest of my musically-inclined life. Its her best album since her debut and deserves more credit. As she sang in "Why Should I Be Sad?", "it's time for me to move along/it's time for me to get along". Thats the good news of promise and improvement and while she's at it, there's always Blackout to celebrate a high point in her career. Expand
  57. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    THIS IS SO OUTTA THIS WORLD THE BEST BRITNEY ALBUM EVER AND FEMME FETALE IS SO GOOD TOO!!!!!! the songs so amazing were Perfect Lover, Piece of Me, Toy Soldier and Gimme gimme more gimme more!!!!!!
  58. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Ok I'm looking at Britney's past albums to see how people reviewed them and I'm really confused. People are giving Femme Fatale great reviews, but Blackout has almost 50 negative reviews? That's just not right. I'll keep this short. Blackout forever changed the playing field for pop music. I can play it from start to finish without skipping a single song. This is the Britney that I love.Ok I'm looking at Britney's past albums to see how people reviewed them and I'm really confused. People are giving Femme Fatale great reviews, but Blackout has almost 50 negative reviews? That's just not right. I'll keep this short. Blackout forever changed the playing field for pop music. I can play it from start to finish without skipping a single song. This is the Britney that I love. Ahead of its time, but it's a uniquely Britney album. It's Britney, **** Expand
  59. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    On paper, a Britney Spears album without the help of writer Max Martin is a recipe for disaster. Yet despite the absence of the Swede, and the fact that Britney was fat, barmy and bald during the lead up to this record, Blackout does not suck. In fact, to date it's the only Spears album worth listening to in its entirety. Many of the tracks have the tendency to sneak up and surprise; sheOn paper, a Britney Spears album without the help of writer Max Martin is a recipe for disaster. Yet despite the absence of the Swede, and the fact that Britney was fat, barmy and bald during the lead up to this record, Blackout does not suck. In fact, to date it's the only Spears album worth listening to in its entirety. Many of the tracks have the tendency to sneak up and surprise; she sounds sexy on "Ooh Ooh Baby" without being gross, cool on "Gimme More" without trying too hard, and pissed off on "Piece of Me" without caring a whole lot. Somewhat of a minor miracle! Expand
  60. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    First, I found it irritating, forgettable, and boring. Different from her previous work. As I listen to it again, I realized that it is entertaining and danceable. Futuristic at its best and shows that Britney will always hire the best. So, the album is Britney's best for me.
  61. Sep 13, 2010
    8
    Britney's comeback album definitely was great but lacked some of what her previous albums had. On "In The Zone" Britney did a song with Madonna and it was the best. Black out is good Standout tracks: "Gimme More" "Why Should I Be Sad" and "Piece of Me"
  62. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    i think this is her best job, in her worst moment, gimme more (single) is powerful and had the "it's britney B***h" that become in a unforgetting line
  63. MarinaS.
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    The best her album ever!!
  64. JoshuaS
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    You could stick on this album at a party and dance all the way through. It is just full of songs you wanna shake to!
  65. VictorC
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    Britney's best album yet. Very good from beginning to end.
  66. J.M
    Mar 24, 2009
    8
    Overall there are a lot of great tracks on the album, but when listening you get the feeling she just doesn't care about the music anymore.
  67. Anonymous
    Mar 21, 2009
    9
    Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Ice are the best tracks, but Toy Soldier and Freakshow are well done, too. Expand
  68. maruzhahaha
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    This is a legend should sound like One of the good album welcome back Britney.
  69. BetoA
    Nov 17, 2008
    0
    Bad!! If I wolud have heard it before I wouldn't have bought it!!
  70. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Perfectly produced and sang: Spears' voice sounds amazing on beats by Danja, Bloodshy & Avant and others. Her best album so far.
  71. CarlosA.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the world. She is one the best sellers ever! at least in the USA. I just hope that everything is gonna be better and that she will realize that the night life and the drugs are not the best! I just hope that one day she will return to music and will do it great as she's done it before! that's why we love you Brit! get well soon! Expand
  72. DerekC.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    Whilst her voice isn't very deserving of praise9lets face it the nasal sound can be giot from kindergartners!!) this album is just enjotable and for once she doesn't appeaar to be fixed at the mic her voice whether good or bad is shown. Not bad!
  73. BobD.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows down. Well done Britney, now get well soon! Expand
  74. ixata
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Really... i just had to give this album a 10. its just too good. no fillers AT ALL. and my idols are tori amos and bjork. please guys.. give ratings to THIS ALBUM.. not her life or whatever that bugs you.. buy this record and enjoy.
  75. JaredM
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums of 2007. I've never much cared for Britney Spears and her "Music" but this album has proven me wrong. Even if she didn't write most of the tracks (A smart business woman knows when to start and better yet stop). This killer dance album floored me. It will definitely be remembered years from now, for having some of the best dance tracks of the last decade.
  76. Zacht
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    lmfao at the people who are just rating it a zero without even hearing it. I'm betting it's the Christina fans, or the Jessica fans who have flopped so hard with so much promotion while Britney' album keeps going up, up, UP on the charts with no promotion, and just a video promoting the album. Don't be mad. Britney has sold 83 million albums in her 10 year career, and lmfao at the people who are just rating it a zero without even hearing it. I'm betting it's the Christina fans, or the Jessica fans who have flopped so hard with so much promotion while Britney' album keeps going up, up, UP on the charts with no promotion, and just a video promoting the album. Don't be mad. Britney has sold 83 million albums in her 10 year career, and another 35 million singles sold worldwide. Britney has sold more than all these rejects combined! Expand
  77. kellyj
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    The people who keep doubting Britney just keep on getting pushed further in the mud by her ever growing incredible dance music. That are also memorable. Britney is a legend, and not just in the joking kind of way like people on Livedaily keep saying about Crustina. Blackout is amazing. Gimme More, Piece of Me, Radar, Break the Ice, Heave on Earth, Get Naked, Freakshow, Toy Soldier, Ooh The people who keep doubting Britney just keep on getting pushed further in the mud by her ever growing incredible dance music. That are also memorable. Britney is a legend, and not just in the joking kind of way like people on Livedaily keep saying about Crustina. Blackout is amazing. Gimme More, Piece of Me, Radar, Break the Ice, Heave on Earth, Get Naked, Freakshow, Toy Soldier, Ooh Ooh Baby, Perfect Lover, and Why Should I be Sad are all A+ tracks from an A+ artist. Expand
  78. ScottB
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    Unlike her previous albums, this one doesn't contain those songs that make you instantly want to skip to the next track. While it still sounds like all the talent is in the producer's twiddling the knobs, they did a very good job of twiddlin' this time around. This same disc could have been made with studio musicians with no discernible difference in its sound, but for pure Unlike her previous albums, this one doesn't contain those songs that make you instantly want to skip to the next track. While it still sounds like all the talent is in the producer's twiddling the knobs, they did a very good job of twiddlin' this time around. This same disc could have been made with studio musicians with no discernible difference in its sound, but for pure pop its on the upper end of listenable. I never thought I'd say that about a Britney album. Expand
  79. RyanC
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Radar is awesome!!!!!! I am pretty sure it will be another #1 single too. It's good.
  80. Mikey
    Jan 11, 2008
    7
    Great Album, with the exception of "Heaven On Earth"...But, Obviously, Not Her Best Work.
  81. Noctiluca
    Jan 8, 2008
    6
    The usual Britney fare is here. There's high-production and the myriad of maestros do their job, but the lyrics remain completely insipid (save for one track). It's designed for a bubbly audience that laps up anything with a consistent thump-thump, for people who could care less that what she's saying makes no sense, that the music is a bandwagon approach to what's The usual Britney fare is here. There's high-production and the myriad of maestros do their job, but the lyrics remain completely insipid (save for one track). It's designed for a bubbly audience that laps up anything with a consistent thump-thump, for people who could care less that what she's saying makes no sense, that the music is a bandwagon approach to what's "hot" at the moment, or -- most importantly -- that she didn't write any of it herself. Britney is interchangeable, as anybody could do her job, leaving her in the status of a guilty pleasure. It's more an ode to producer's talents than anything. Check it out if you're into music with a glossy sheen, but if you want pop with substance go elsewhere. Expand
  82. MB
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Britney's best album yet.
  83. AjayD
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    I wasn't a Huge Fan of her, but after hearing this Album, I am her new Fan. THis album is kill people, Do not miss it, all the tracks are a Hit for me!
  84. Amy
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I can't stand this girls music BUT this CD blew me away ! WOW !!!
  85. BeccaR
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Britney is awesome and will always be awesome. Ive been listening to her ever since baby one more time came out and this album is even more amazing than all of her other work. Everyone out there hating on her needs to get a life and chill the fuck out. She'll grow out of this awful post-divorce funk and her hair will grow back. This album will bring Britney back! GO BRIT!!!!!
  86. SammyJ.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Great album. Britney is back. Gimme More is hot. Piece of me the video is awesome!
  87. AlexS.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Blackout rocks!! It's amazing. Britney's best album! She keeps getting better and better. She is the executive producer of blackout. She made an awesome album!
  88. VictorG
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    GREAT ALBUM!
  89. PaulinaC.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Amazing!
  90. SilvioP
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Mix Timberlake's FurtureSex/LoveSound and Madonna's Confessions On A Dancefloor, with Britney's Derriere... Puf! The Best Dance Album Of The Year!!!
  91. ZaneS.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Excellent album. "Freakshow" is like her best song yet!
  92. JoshuaN.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Love it !
  93. ChrisG
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    It is her best album yet. The songs are funky and futuristic. All of the bizarre voice she uses like in Get Naked (I Got A Plan) and Freakshow work to her advantage. The dance club hits like Gimme More and Radar make this cd a huge success.
  94. MikeS.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Despite her best efforts - Britney has not destroyed her career. This album is surprisingly good. Scratch that great. for what it is - you can't get much better. Fun, bubble gum pop that you can't help but dance to. "Radar" "Piece of Me" and "Gimme More" are stand outs but the best is "Toy Soldier" which should be a HUGE dance club hit.
  95. IgorL.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Funny that Britney delivered her best album when least expected. Never thought I would hear a great album from the "Oops I did it again" girl.
  96. JayG.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    I don't know why people are making a huge deal over this album. a wonderfully produced, dance-ready album! leave it alone, stop with all of the negative comments. if you're not of fan of Britney's than just don't buy it and SHUT THE FUCK UP!! i mean please, its not like your opinion is going to influence anybody!!
  97. LouieT.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    BLA BLA BLA . This Shit is the Hottest ALBUM EVER , if u r saying that she used Studi Tricks Thats SUPER COOL , She have ha Showed her abilities On - Hot As Ice - Heaven On Earth - An i really Dont Carfe about if Her Voice wasn't 100 Clear , BRITNEY HAVE MADE A HELL OF A COPMEBACK.
  98. ChrisH
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    Considering I never really enjoyed Brittney before, I was quite taken back by the quality of production and almost cutting edge electro pop beats and sounds. Each song is with ease better than anything she has released as single before, with maybe the exception of Toxic, which was class. Who cares if its mainly producers who have made this good? Good music is good music, so lets be happy Considering I never really enjoyed Brittney before, I was quite taken back by the quality of production and almost cutting edge electro pop beats and sounds. Each song is with ease better than anything she has released as single before, with maybe the exception of Toxic, which was class. Who cares if its mainly producers who have made this good? Good music is good music, so lets be happy there is so much of it on one CD, and its from Britney Spears, weird, but true! Expand
  99. KenW.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best Pop Album of the year. Go figure. Intresting drving rhythms & experimental (for Brit) places that she has never taken the music before. Her best. Like sitting in Jack Ruby's bar while high on Ecstasy.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. The biggest failure of these songs, and the most confusing thing about this album, are the melodies.
  2. Poetry it's not. Still, there is something delightfully escapist about Blackout, a perfectly serviceable dance album abundant in the kind of bouncy electro elements that buttressed her hottest hits.
  3. For every hot, of-the-moment track, though, there's something like the nonsensical 'Hot As Ice,' which was co-penned by the thoroughly talentless T-Pain and might have worked two albums ago but just sounds retrograde here.