Blackout

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 657 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 657

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaredM
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums of 2007. I've never much cared for Britney Spears and her "Music" but this album has proven me wrong. Even if she didn't write most of the tracks (A smart business woman knows when to start and better yet stop). This killer dance album floored me. It will definitely be remembered years from now, for having some of the best dance tracks of the last decade.
  2. DH
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    I think it's great! Fun and consistent. Love the album cover. The whole album has energy. Everybody lighten up.
  3. SammyJ.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Great album. Britney is back. Gimme More is hot. Piece of me the video is awesome!
  4. MarkM
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Surprising! I'm really amazed because this album is very electronic-pop and I'm loving it! I also love the personal lyrics althoguh she did not penned them nevertheless this is a bold move for more!
  5. CarlosA.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the I had to give a 10 'cause since I got the album I can't stop listening to it, I know her life's been a trouble and that she's going through a lot of things related to her kids, the way she drinks and if she's on drugs.. but the album is really good...is electropop mixed with r&b and brit did a great job, that's the reason why she sold a lot albums around the world. She is one the best sellers ever! at least in the USA. I just hope that everything is gonna be better and that she will realize that the night life and the drugs are not the best! I just hope that one day she will return to music and will do it great as she's done it before! that's why we love you Brit! get well soon! Expand
  6. angelm.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    this is a very good album, fresh, pop, dance, maybe is no the best of britney but i love it
  7. ChrisNYC
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Britney is back!!!!....The album gives awesome dance tracks from start to finsih......say what you will about her personal life, but let the music speak for itself......and it delivers, time and again!
  8. AriffM
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    I was never a fan, except for the bounciness of Toxic & the pathos of Something, I never gave much thought about Ms Britney, that is, until she shaved her head. What a great show of defiance! Can you imagine Nelly Furtado or any of the top 10 female pop performers doing the same out of some bizarre emotional self-confrontation? As for the album - if you're a fan of Ladytron-Depeche I was never a fan, except for the bounciness of Toxic & the pathos of Something, I never gave much thought about Ms Britney, that is, until she shaved her head. What a great show of defiance! Can you imagine Nelly Furtado or any of the top 10 female pop performers doing the same out of some bizarre emotional self-confrontation? As for the album - if you're a fan of Ladytron-Depeche Mode you'd be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  9. CaesarC.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Great album, Britney improved her music since In The Zone.
  10. Britney'sV.
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    Some of my best work y'all!
  11. TreyceF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I thought it really expressed how she felt. Piece of me and Why should I be sad are awesome.
  12. RyanT
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    This album is great. All the songs, that's right, all of them, are great. Very dance-like. I recommend it to anyone.
  13. ChrisG
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    It is her best album yet. The songs are funky and futuristic. All of the bizarre voice she uses like in Get Naked (I Got A Plan) and Freakshow work to her advantage. The dance club hits like Gimme More and Radar make this cd a huge success.
  14. DardoS
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    I cannot believe it. No, really. I dislike Britney's music, I usually find it way too stupid. "Blackout" is not the exception: it is probably the most stupid thing you've heard... after "Spice up your life" perhaps. But the truth is that this piece of stupid music is amazingly funny! It's not the kinda album I'm gonna listen to over and over. But you can be sure that I cannot believe it. No, really. I dislike Britney's music, I usually find it way too stupid. "Blackout" is not the exception: it is probably the most stupid thing you've heard... after "Spice up your life" perhaps. But the truth is that this piece of stupid music is amazingly funny! It's not the kinda album I'm gonna listen to over and over. But you can be sure that you can play it on a party, and it will work. Oh, and "Hot as ice" is the biggest nonsense I've heard in my life. And I just can't help lovin' it. Expand
  15. JamesKuyken
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    Awesome come back album!!!!
  16. BenceB.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Of Course, Britney's best work i think, all the song is modern, up-tempo and electric! a typically R&B/Pop disc :) i love it! BRITNEY B***h is back.
  17. MathieuO.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    And yes this album is fabulous.
  18. RobertF
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    Britney's much anticipated album doesn't fail to deliver. This album is very well produced and one can't help but be caught in the hynotic and yet playful beats that Britney's crew carve out. One needs wonder whether this is just slick production or a smart plan by the former good girl now ubiquitous star credited as executive producer. A great pop dance album with Britney's much anticipated album doesn't fail to deliver. This album is very well produced and one can't help but be caught in the hynotic and yet playful beats that Britney's crew carve out. One needs wonder whether this is just slick production or a smart plan by the former good girl now ubiquitous star credited as executive producer. A great pop dance album with many beats destined for radio and chart success. Expand
  19. H.B
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Best Britney Album ever!!!
  20. PaulinaC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Amazing!
  21. AOH
    Oct 30, 2007
    8
    Absolutely her best. Hands down the years biggest surprise.
  22. ixata
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Really... i just had to give this album a 10. its just too good. no fillers AT ALL. and my idols are tori amos and bjork. please guys.. give ratings to THIS ALBUM.. not her life or whatever that bugs you.. buy this record and enjoy.
  23. EnzoP
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Perfectly produced and sang: Spears' voice sounds amazing on beats by Danja, Bloodshy & Avant and others. Her best album so far.
  24. MB
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Britney's best album yet.
  25. BobD.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows Very well done for someone so troubled. Shows that no matter how crazy you go, if you have an ear for excellent pop, that ain't gonna leave. Standouts for me are Heaven On Earth, Freakshow, Perfect Lover and the bonus track Outta This World. Every song is good in some way though, and this album sounds AMAZING if you play it blaring loud in your car during summer with the windows down. Well done Britney, now get well soon! Expand
  26. DerekC.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    Whilst her voice isn't very deserving of praise9lets face it the nasal sound can be giot from kindergartners!!) this album is just enjotable and for once she doesn't appeaar to be fixed at the mic her voice whether good or bad is shown. Not bad!
  27. Anonymous
    Mar 21, 2009
    9
    Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Welcome back, Britney, we missed you! Blackout shocked me from start to finish. At first, I thought: "Oh, crap, another comeback album." But it's more. It's a defiant, in-your-face sucker punch to the media's gut. Full of catchy beats, unusual synth sounds, and fearlessly sexy lyrics, Blackout may just be Britney's best work yet. Piece Of Me, Gimme More, and Break The Ice are the best tracks, but Toy Soldier and Freakshow are well done, too. Expand
  28. SoniaC
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    I absolutely LOVE every song on the album!
  29. whits
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    brilliant electro pop. girl gonna WORK.
  30. gabriel!
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    her best album yet.
  31. JordanL
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Anyone who doesn't like this album has no business in dance music or having fun. Don't people GET IT? She is a DANCE artist. She does not make sappy love ballads & her voice isn't strong like Mariah or Celine's, yet people always belittle her because of that. If, say, Madonna or Kylie made an album like this, it would have gotten 5/5 stars everywhere. And people Anyone who doesn't like this album has no business in dance music or having fun. Don't people GET IT? She is a DANCE artist. She does not make sappy love ballads & her voice isn't strong like Mariah or Celine's, yet people always belittle her because of that. If, say, Madonna or Kylie made an album like this, it would have gotten 5/5 stars everywhere. And people complaining about the overproduced vocals? Are you kidding? IT IS A DANCE ALBUM, IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE ROBOTIC AND ELECTRONIC-INFLUENCED. Have you guys ever heard of DAFT PUNK?! Each song is a classic and I must say it is becoming one of my favorite albums ever. Expand
  32. MateoG.
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    I Love it! great album.
  33. JensO.
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    This album is abfab! Highlights: Gimme More, Piece of Me, Radar, Get Nacked.
  34. HeatherR
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    This CD is my far her best yet, not only does every song have an extremely catchy beat but it reflects so much on her life. I think she did a wonderful job with this anyone who disagrees obviously does not like that genre of music or is being too critical, yes she has made some bad decisions put that behind you, this was a great move on her part!
  35. CK
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    Don't want to endorse her right now, but she definitely put out a great pop album. Lots of fun.
  36. ClintM
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    buck the naysayers ... the album is choc full of songs to shake your @$$ to and beats to bob your head to. I mean, seriously, if I only bought music from artists whose personal lives I related to, I wouldn't own more than a handful of albums! the songs are well crafted for anyone w/an ear for ELECTRO-POP/DANCE music. and I'm one of those people!
  37. windsor-
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Not bad. Is a album for dance and clubbing times.
  38. Colr.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    really awesome album - sexy, dancy, well produced - brits best - love the attitude and energy.
  39. nute
    Nov 3, 2007
    8
    Hmm. never liked britney b4, but some of these songs are, i grudgingly admit, quite brilliant, and very avant garde. 'piece of me' is better and more futuristic than a lot of electronic bands (Digitilism, Underworld, etc.) which was a shock. And the song Freakshow is nearly as good as SXYLV, Lava Lava, or D.A.N.C.E. Also, reading the New York Times reveiw, I'm suprised Hmm. never liked britney b4, but some of these songs are, i grudgingly admit, quite brilliant, and very avant garde. 'piece of me' is better and more futuristic than a lot of electronic bands (Digitilism, Underworld, etc.) which was a shock. And the song Freakshow is nearly as good as SXYLV, Lava Lava, or D.A.N.C.E. Also, reading the New York Times reveiw, I'm suprised metacritic counts it as only a 40, when reads more like a 75 to me, especially with quotes like this: "That doesn Expand
  40. VictorG
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    GREAT ALBUM!
  41. ysiy.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    wow! superb! get into her beat
  42. MB
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Britney's best album yet.
  43. sandyk.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Awesome!
  44. beautifuls.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    This is one of the best album of the decade. this album is a huge hit. i feel like dancing to all the tracks.
  45. th
    Nov 6, 2007
    8
    i actually think this album is fun, different and artfully crafted to kiss off her image as a bad parent, drug addict, trainwreck and forces us to realize why we loved britney before....her music...not her voice, her music. i think this is a great way of proving she hasn't gone completely crazy!
  46. OlivierG.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    It's her best material in career! Every songs is a hit!!!
  47. JoshuaN.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Love it !
  48. LouieT.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    BLA BLA BLA . This Shit is the Hottest ALBUM EVER , if u r saying that she used Studi Tricks Thats SUPER COOL , She have ha Showed her abilities On - Hot As Ice - Heaven On Earth - An i really Dont Carfe about if Her Voice wasn't 100 Clear , BRITNEY HAVE MADE A HELL OF A COPMEBACK.
  49. SilvioP
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Mix Timberlake's FurtureSex/LoveSound and Madonna's Confessions On A Dancefloor, with Britney's Derriere... Puf! The Best Dance Album Of The Year!!!
  50. IgorL.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Funny that Britney delivered her best album when least expected. Never thought I would hear a great album from the "Oops I did it again" girl.
  51. AlexS.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Blackout rocks!! It's amazing. Britney's best album! She keeps getting better and better. She is the executive producer of blackout. She made an awesome album!
  52. mikyruggy
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This is her best album to date. Judge her for the music, not for the personal life!!!
  53. amandaw
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    hate the cover and the inside pics but love the album. loved "heaven on earth" and 'piece of me'
  54. RyanL
    Oct 31, 2007
    8
    Britney knows what she excels at and she delivers it here on Blackout. Most every song is a get out of your seat and dance groove. Those looking for personal, introspective lyrics have come to the wrong place. Maybe on the next album.
  55. KentSmith
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    So Britney needs a lot of help in her personal life?! BUT BOY DOES SHE KNOW HOW TO MAKE A POP RECORD! This album is great and touches on her paprazzi filled life and sexual growth as a person! Hight lights: "Radar", "Gimme More", "Get Naked", "Toy Soldier", "Break The Ice", "Ooh Ooh Baby", "Piece of Me"-- this album will sure get your booty dancin and having a blast!!! (but really Get So Britney needs a lot of help in her personal life?! BUT BOY DOES SHE KNOW HOW TO MAKE A POP RECORD! This album is great and touches on her paprazzi filled life and sexual growth as a person! Hight lights: "Radar", "Gimme More", "Get Naked", "Toy Soldier", "Break The Ice", "Ooh Ooh Baby", "Piece of Me"-- this album will sure get your booty dancin and having a blast!!! (but really Get Help Britney in your personal life) Expand
  56. JohannaH
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    she will always have it!!!!
  57. Jay
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    she fine. and she could sing
  58. RobertP
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I love it...every track is incredible...
  59. anonymousjones
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    metacritic needs to post more reviews - like the AP review that called it a "triumph." it is a better "all the way through" listen than futuresex/lovesounds. this has no lame ballads (except maybe the last song, but even that isn't so bad) and amazing production on basically every track. she can't sing, but she never could, so who cares about that. the producers make her voice metacritic needs to post more reviews - like the AP review that called it a "triumph." it is a better "all the way through" listen than futuresex/lovesounds. this has no lame ballads (except maybe the last song, but even that isn't so bad) and amazing production on basically every track. she can't sing, but she never could, so who cares about that. the producers make her voice do cool things, and the beats are hot. Expand
  60. HotT.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    Most critics are reviewing her personal Blackout not her professional one.This album is Great & they know it. I'm not a Britney fan but she deserves credit when it's due. This is her sexy adult debut & i love it.
  61. Joe
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Far better than it should be. A testament to Brit-Brit's puppeteers.
  62. JessicaL
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I wrote Britney off a few months ago. I wasn't going to buy her album until someone suggested it to me. I love it, shamelessly. It is that good. The beats + her voice, the oversexed lyrics, the word play from all her paparazzi coverage...LOVE it. I can't wait to listen to it again.
  63. EliotT
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Shockingly good. I was prepared to hate it and encountered a surprise. Very upbeat, very well-produced, very fun.
  64. SamJ
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    This is a great album, with great music. It is outstanding in the fact that it gets you to get up and dance. There isn't a single song that you would want to skip over. A perfect collection for getting the spirit up. no doubt a 10/10
  65. JosephA.
    Oct 31, 2007
    7
    It's a very good album and easily the best one she's put out.
  66. Mike
    Oct 30, 2007
    8
    Very well produced. Overall a really solid dance record.
  67. AjayD
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    I wasn't a Huge Fan of her, but after hearing this Album, I am her new Fan. THis album is kill people, Do not miss it, all the tracks are a Hit for me!
  68. RyanC
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Radar is awesome!!!!!! I am pretty sure it will be another #1 single too. It's good.
  69. Zacht
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    lmfao at the people who are just rating it a zero without even hearing it. I'm betting it's the Christina fans, or the Jessica fans who have flopped so hard with so much promotion while Britney' album keeps going up, up, UP on the charts with no promotion, and just a video promoting the album. Don't be mad. Britney has sold 83 million albums in her 10 year career, and lmfao at the people who are just rating it a zero without even hearing it. I'm betting it's the Christina fans, or the Jessica fans who have flopped so hard with so much promotion while Britney' album keeps going up, up, UP on the charts with no promotion, and just a video promoting the album. Don't be mad. Britney has sold 83 million albums in her 10 year career, and another 35 million singles sold worldwide. Britney has sold more than all these rejects combined! Expand
  70. maruzhahaha
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    This is a legend should sound like One of the good album welcome back Britney.
  71. MarinaS.
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    The best her album ever!!
  72. JoshuaS
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    You could stick on this album at a party and dance all the way through. It is just full of songs you wanna shake to!
  73. VictorC
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    Britney's best album yet. Very good from beginning to end.
  74. NoelL.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Very well made. i didn't expect such a good album after all that happened to her recently. nice record - from the beginning to the end
  75. JulianA
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    it's true, Ms. Spears is BACK!! Despite an displeasing performance at the 2007 VMAs her first single, "gimme more, " was an instant hit! it's catchy, it's sexy, it's fresh-- It's GREAT!! The single paved the way on what to expect from her latest production on which she received help from some of the hottest producers in the industry. The songs are all hyped-up, it's true, Ms. Spears is BACK!! Despite an displeasing performance at the 2007 VMAs her first single, "gimme more, " was an instant hit! it's catchy, it's sexy, it's fresh-- It's GREAT!! The single paved the way on what to expect from her latest production on which she received help from some of the hottest producers in the industry. The songs are all hyped-up, dance-ready jams! so if you are looking for a cd to dance to, this is IT. Expand
  76. raps.
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    if Ailleen Wournos that psycho woman made an album this is what it would sound like, its completely demented. the sound of someone thats lost their mind. im giving it a ten for its level of insanity.
  77. kd
    Nov 1, 2007
    7
    This isn't a bad pop album. It definitely beats the latest by the likes of Rihanna and Gwen Stefani, but doesn't have the continuity and enjoyability of Madonna or Nelly Furtado.
  78. DamionR.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    People have to put aside absolutely everything that is going on in Britney's life and just focus on her music right now, as it is the only thing that matters and the only thing that people have the right to make their business and critique...and her new album, "Blackout," is the best album Spears has put out to date. Her debut was cute from beginning to end, and the subsequent albums People have to put aside absolutely everything that is going on in Britney's life and just focus on her music right now, as it is the only thing that matters and the only thing that people have the right to make their business and critique...and her new album, "Blackout," is the best album Spears has put out to date. Her debut was cute from beginning to end, and the subsequent albums have produced some of the best pop singles of the last ten years, but were filled with filler. "Blackout" is her first album that is filler-free and every track is strong. From the excellent comeback single "Gimme More" (which would be doing better if people would stop playing personal tabloid and just enjoy it for what it is), to the brilliant "Piece of Me," the Gwen-Stefnesque "Toy Soldier" to one of her best recordings to date, "Heaven on Earth." Britney, I wish you all the best with your stuff, but professionally, you're return is welcomed with open arms. Masterful. Expand
  79. MarcoP.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    britney rules!
  80. PaulaD.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    I don't think that she's doing her best, but i like the album.
  81. KennyH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Despite it all.. Britney delivers one of the most greatest dance albums in history!... This will set the clubs on firee!
  82. sarahb.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Amazing. You might not like her actions but she knows how to make catchy tunes to sell albums. i need poppy dance music in my life - there is too much negativity in the world.
  83. CarlL.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Please forget all the Britney you see all over E!. She may lead a weird life, but don't they all? I could care less about any artists personal life. If they make good music...I am happy. If you continually trash someone you are no saint either. This CD is probably one of the best pop albums ever. Whoever is responsible for it. It may take me a year to get over it. Maybe then I will Please forget all the Britney you see all over E!. She may lead a weird life, but don't they all? I could care less about any artists personal life. If they make good music...I am happy. If you continually trash someone you are no saint either. This CD is probably one of the best pop albums ever. Whoever is responsible for it. It may take me a year to get over it. Maybe then I will stop listening to it. No, probably not! People take other people's lives way too seriously these days. I just need good music. So, thank you, Britney, Danja, Bloodshy & Avant, etc.!!! Expand
  84. claire
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Don't know what those losers who gave her a low score are listening to, this album rocks! You go girl
  85. TonnyA.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    I loooove it!! it's Brittie's Best Job so Far!!! it's Danceable, catchy, Grown Up, and Sexy!! 3 words : Hot as Ice!!!
  86. MagnusS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Still, and not surprisingly so, I have yet to be more amused at something than at the STUPID people in here who in doing what they do best, squabble, twist and turn the average review score by their useless voting and commenting. F First of all, let me praise all of you that can actually resent to judge an album based on it's quality and not based on the amount of drugs inhaled Still, and not surprisingly so, I have yet to be more amused at something than at the STUPID people in here who in doing what they do best, squabble, twist and turn the average review score by their useless voting and commenting. F First of all, let me praise all of you that can actually resent to judge an album based on it's quality and not based on the amount of drugs inhaled and/or injected prior to recording. Next, let me LAUGH at you useless dogs which qualify yourself to speak badly of a woman you barely know: How in earth do you know how much involvement Britney may have had in the album? If you want to squabble anymore about this and as a consequence of this give poor Britney a 0, please do this on gossipmsn. There's lots of fools like you there. As Rob B excellently states: "Her Music????" What are you people talikng(?) about. She doesn't write a thing. She's a product" I am sorry. Let me be like you. Britney's vocals are not as good as they used to be and therefore I give an 8/10 based on good, light-headed and entertaining music that will indeed rush clubs as alot of other average club music has done. Nicely produced. Expand
  87. KenW.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best Pop Album of the year. Go figure. Intresting drving rhythms & experimental (for Brit) places that she has never taken the music before. Her best. Like sitting in Jack Ruby's bar while high on Ecstasy.
  88. ChrisH
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    Considering I never really enjoyed Brittney before, I was quite taken back by the quality of production and almost cutting edge electro pop beats and sounds. Each song is with ease better than anything she has released as single before, with maybe the exception of Toxic, which was class. Who cares if its mainly producers who have made this good? Good music is good music, so lets be happy Considering I never really enjoyed Brittney before, I was quite taken back by the quality of production and almost cutting edge electro pop beats and sounds. Each song is with ease better than anything she has released as single before, with maybe the exception of Toxic, which was class. Who cares if its mainly producers who have made this good? Good music is good music, so lets be happy there is so much of it on one CD, and its from Britney Spears, weird, but true! Expand
  89. NandoG.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    Best dance album out. Loved Britney From the start but now, this is a like breathe of fresh air coming through her music. Devine
  90. KobeeH.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    An album that deserves to blasted for all 12 tracks. No denying it. Britney is on top of her game. Congratulations!
  91. AlejandroS.
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    this is her best album so far!!! Amazing and catchy songs.
  92. Patrick
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    I don't know why MetaCritic lists this album as "61". The album has got GREAT reviews, practically across the board. This album is not a disappointment, it's a party from start to finish and only ONE song "Hot As Ice" I would consider filler. Pop album of the year!
  93. alexb.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    great album! and im not a britney fan...
  94. ZaneS.
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Excellent album. "Freakshow" is like her best song yet!
  95. JayG.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    I don't know why people are making a huge deal over this album. a wonderfully produced, dance-ready album! leave it alone, stop with all of the negative comments. if you're not of fan of Britney's than just don't buy it and SHUT THE FUCK UP!! i mean please, its not like your opinion is going to influence anybody!!
  96. MikeS.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Despite her best efforts - Britney has not destroyed her career. This album is surprisingly good. Scratch that great. for what it is - you can't get much better. Fun, bubble gum pop that you can't help but dance to. "Radar" "Piece of Me" and "Gimme More" are stand outs but the best is "Toy Soldier" which should be a HUGE dance club hit.
  97. MiguelM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    It's Britney bitch! And you can't deny the fact that this album rocks! She has returned to the pop scene with her best album yet. All the songs are great and dance worthy. You will not find yourself hating any od the songs at all. Among the new group of songs, the once that stand out the most are "Toy Soldier", "Gimme More", "Piece of Me" and "Radar". This are not the only great It's Britney bitch! And you can't deny the fact that this album rocks! She has returned to the pop scene with her best album yet. All the songs are great and dance worthy. You will not find yourself hating any od the songs at all. Among the new group of songs, the once that stand out the most are "Toy Soldier", "Gimme More", "Piece of Me" and "Radar". This are not the only great songs however. All the songs will get you up from your seat and just rock out. Go Britney!!!! Expand
  98. Jessica
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    i looovvveee it. britney is da best haters deal with it :] da queen of pop always a true legend
  99. OmarC
    Oct 31, 2007
    10
    I love it.
  100. Mikey
    Jan 11, 2008
    7
    Great Album, with the exception of "Heaven On Earth"...But, Obviously, Not Her Best Work.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. The biggest failure of these songs, and the most confusing thing about this album, are the melodies.
  2. Poetry it's not. Still, there is something delightfully escapist about Blackout, a perfectly serviceable dance album abundant in the kind of bouncy electro elements that buttressed her hottest hits.
  3. For every hot, of-the-moment track, though, there's something like the nonsensical 'Hot As Ice,' which was co-penned by the thoroughly talentless T-Pain and might have worked two albums ago but just sounds retrograde here.