BLACKsummers'night

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Jul 7, 2009
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 3 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    In my head I knew Maxwell, but this was until I heard the entire BLACK album. Anytime I ear a song of him i get something new that he try to teach me...

    This album is generous. 9 track, yes but that never will want you to miss those 22 records tracks. It is generous in terms of emotion, lyrical content, musicality and humanity. Maxwell shares it all. He crosses barriers and shows
    In my head I knew Maxwell, but this was until I heard the entire BLACK album. Anytime I ear a song of him i get something new that he try to teach me...

    This album is generous. 9 track, yes but that never will want you to miss those 22 records tracks. It is generous in terms of emotion, lyrical content, musicality and humanity. Maxwell shares it all.
    He crosses barriers and shows everyone the most vulnerable side of him. This is a more blues man Maxwell here that tells how broken he is by his previous relationships..
    During his early 20's in the 90's, he definitely was this sex symbol, now he still is but with this added fact that he his a grown man, and we can sense that.
    Every song whether you like them or not, will move you, but still you will like them but you're untitled to your opinion when it comes to which one is you favorite.
    I would say that Black is far from Urban's Hang Suite in so many levels but pretty much link to the 1st album of the soul singer. The sound is different, bold and completed with the generosity add by the sound delivered by his 10 piece band. We can hear wild blues-funk (Cold) slow jams (Stop the world) as far as ballads like the 1st single 'Pretty wings'.
    But it's quite evolved, the arrengements sounds very contemporary (Pheonix Rise) and the way the vintage feeling that occured doesn't seems fake or besides the point. It does shows a deep statement : NOWADAYS SOUL STILL EXISTS.
    The Grammy award winner let us understand that it was better for him to step away for a moment so that he could 'live life to create after' and bring us some raw material and it was WORTH waiting for so long. And still, if you don't know who Maxwell is, I would say that it is never too late. His discography justify what a lover of music he is and how his music doesn't respond to all the dictated codes of the industry and the shift that soul/rnb music is taking.

    ENJOY this album and keep you ears wide open and feel every sound of it.
    Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    Fantastic neo-soul album. Maxwell has a been away for way too long, and I'm glad he came back with something so powerful. When someone can actually make an album that you can connect with, rather than just a bunch of junk available for sale, then I remember why I love music so much.
  3. albertaa
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    This album was worth the wait. These days the public are forced to listen to music with no story, lyrics with no meaning and voices with no soul. Maxwell has definitely given us 'real music'. Music that will be remembered and appreciated for a long time.
  4. TarekM.
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, wonderful and delightly entertaining.
  5. Gabri
    Aug 11, 2009
    10
    Maxwell's voice is so deep and mature, the sound is so human and returns the listener an open heart feeling. Music that catches immediately, but with a long lasting flavour. An instant classic.
  6. allheavens
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    The devil is in the details and this album is ALL about the details. A mature, concise, emotionally delicate and beautifully crafted album sung with remarkable grace. Does anyone else think that "Cold" is a virtual master class in musical composition? Kudos to the band, all I can say about you is DAMN, blistering brass section and wicked percussions.
  7. MycroftW
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    His best one yet, so his long hiatus is forgiven. And allthough he still wears his influences (Al Green, Prince) on his sleave, I guess the best way to describe this record is as the R n B equivalent of Jeff Buckley's Grace.
  8. ashleyj
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    I love this cd, can't stop listening to it.. Love his voice. Thank you maxwell.
  9. CoolCD
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    It will be Contemporary R&B classic.
  10. daver
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    No hooks, no catchy songs, it's true. Just deep, layered and well-crafted soul of the kind that just doesn't get made anymore. One or two more songs and I'd have given it a 10. Beautiful.
  11. aresenen
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    This is what John Legend thinks he makes, but doesn't. What Prince would like to make, but can't anymore. What Marvin Gaye would have made. Maxwell proves he is the king of nu soul.
  12. JimmyP
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This cd is a well executed release. Nobody is better at groove sessions than Maxwell.
  13. Smitty
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    Maxwell is the epitome of Neo-soul. Very suave is this LP, proving the past legend who layed the foundation left room for continuance. He brings soul into today's times by way of melodic grace.
  14. michaelw
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    I cannot stop listening to this cd. I opened this with a bit of caution but was greeted with an album full of great vocals ,adult writing and a drummer who should get all the kudos available he makes this cd swing.
  15. PauloP
    Jul 18, 2009
    1
    Rubbish.
  16. Lisandthenjudge
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Great album. emotions flow and intertwine with his great voice. Amizing artist who provided great soul album this year.
  17. Alan
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent. This is his best so far, to me. The songs are not catchy but so well executed. No filler.
  18. KanethiaSmith
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    For those who can hear, this first album is absolutely magical. From the saultry "Bad Habits" to the insightful "Fistful of Tears", Maxwell is well into his own. My favorite is " Stop the World"....Lovely.
  19. De'Leacia
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    I am truley glad I got out of bed & went to walmart to get this long awaited release. 1 word is all I can think of......beautiful.
  20. M
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Maxwell is an amazing artist, performer and visionary. I have been a fan from the beginning. This album is a great comeback album that i know everyone will enjoy.
  21. NikaW.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    When all the artists of today all sound a like and are totally 'cookie cutter' with catchy beats and no substance. I am thrilled that Maxwell is back. The album is right on time!
  22. JeffM
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    What R&B is supposed to sound like from an amazingly talented artist.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    90
    It's one of the best things you'll hear all year. Bring on the next two.
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    88
    It's free of gimmicks (Hey, an R&B record without Auto-Tuned vocals!) or trendy producers (No Kanye, no Timbaland; instead, guitarist Hod David does most of the work). No wonder BLACKsummers'night walks its own confident path down the artier fringe of R&B.
  3. For all its dimensions and progress, the album is simultaneously designed to ensure that devoted fans will feel the wait was worth it.