Blak and Blu

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    60
    His guitar and voice are at their best on the likes of opening Stax stomper Ain't Messin' 'Round and the heavy soul of When My Train Pulls In, Numb, and the funky Bright Lights--his guitar crunchy and full in a way you only get with good amps and pedals.
  2. 60
    Large parts of Blak and Blu are spent crooning falsetto soul numbers or cranking out chunky rockers in the vein of the Stones and Bob Seger.
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    What remains is an adequate compilation of nostalgic sounds, largely void of Clark’s unique voice. Greater consistency would have worked wonders.
  4. Q Magazine
    Feb 12, 2013
    60
    Gary Clark, Jr merges smooth vocals with economical guitar wizardry and makes it all sound less wearyingly pub-rock by embracing the 21st century. [Mar 2013, p.95]
  5. Mojo
    Feb 6, 2013
    60
    Producers Mike Elizondo and Rob Cavallo smooth away many of the rough edges, and it's the tracks that escape the industry sander that are great. [Mar 2013, p.87]
  6. Nov 1, 2012
    60
    By trying to please all demographics here, Clark gives little sense of who he is.
  7. 60
    In a perfect world, he'd have everything necessary to run the blues flag worldwide; for now, we'll have to settle for something merely enjoyable.
  8. 60
    As is, our appetite has only been whetted and not satiated.
  9. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    Clark's talent is undeniable, but only when he's not flogging it half to death.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Solid blues with added surprises of hip hop, soul and power pop! One of my favorites to wake up the party or travelling in the car! Gary ClarkSolid blues with added surprises of hip hop, soul and power pop! One of my favorites to wake up the party or travelling in the car! Gary Clark Jr is the latest in a long line of talented and versatile guitarists in the guitar hero mode. Full Review »
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Gary Clark Jr. is amazing at what he does. That solo on "Please Come Home" is filled with so much soul I don't know how else to describe it.Gary Clark Jr. is amazing at what he does. That solo on "Please Come Home" is filled with so much soul I don't know how else to describe it. "Third Stone from the Sun / If You Love Me Like You Say" is just plain crazy. He has is own signature sound. It's kind of like how you can tell just by listening when Hendrix is playing, or Santana, or Jack White. That little lick he plays on that song (Third Stone form the Sun...) is derived from Hendrix's version but he made it his own. I like it all. There's something missing, though. I was expecting another song like "Numb" but with even more energy. Maybe Gary can create something crazy in his next album. I'd love to hear some Muddy Waters mixed with Jack White and some Hendrix flavor on a track. Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    5
    Good, not great. Some songs have enough power in them to make the album worth listening to worth while, but ultimately most songs areGood, not great. Some songs have enough power in them to make the album worth listening to worth while, but ultimately most songs are skippable. Such a contrast from song to song does not fair well to a listener looking for consistency from song to song. Ultimately, this album fell short of its potential. Full Review »