Blinking Lights And Other Revelations Image

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mark Everett's diverse and epic sixth Eels album spans two CDs. It probably would never be classified as a happy album, but it does include appearances from Tom Waits, R.E.M.'s Peter Buck, and The Lovin' Spoonful's John Sebastian.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. A devastatingly beautiful collection of songs, and in some circles, it could be the best album released this year. [May 2005, p.124]
  2. Blinking Lights is an astonishing mélange of life and sound cycles, as much about the ghosts of the past as it is an optimistic hedge toward a pensioner’s age bracket Everett clearly endeavors to appreciate.
  3. Dicing with folly at every stage and coming out victorious, 'Blinking Lights...' is sprawling, galling and downright enthralling.
  4. An exquisitely produced magnum opus.
  5. Blinking Lights and Other Revelations is blessed because of -- not in spite of -- its excesses.
  6. Everett demonstrates disarming wit, tear-stained awareness and heavenly loser love.
  7. Minus the instrumentals (eight), tracks featuring guest stars (three), and songs whose only redeeming quality is their cool title (at least five, including "Son of a Bitch," "I’m Going to Stop Pretending I Didn’t Break Your Heart," and "Whatever Happened to Soy Bomb"), you’re really only left with a handful of bonafide Eels tunes.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 83
  2. Negative: 4 out of 83
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    A very ambitious record from Mr E. For the most part's it's very successful and some of it is up with his best. Like many double albums, I think this could have been a 10 out of 10 16-18 track album. Some of the stuff on here we could do without. Not much mind you, but definitely some. But Mr E is an artist in every sense and it's not a surprise that he went for a 33 tracker here. Too many highlights to mention - I would highly recommend adding this record to your collection. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews