Blinking Lights And Other Revelations

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 116

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. William
    Jul 16, 2007
    5
    Although I tried, I wasn't able to enjoy this album as much as the other Eels albums I own (Beautiful Freak, Electroshock Blue, Daisies of the Galaxy). I feel that this album is bloated and disjointed; and a bit self-indulgent at times.
  2. Jonathan
    Dec 20, 2005
    4
    I've been a fan since "Electroshock Blues," but I feel pretty ashamed of it after listening to this album. This seems like a best of album in which all of the songs have been rewritten so that they are far more boring than the originals. If this actually is E's magnus opus, I'm afraid that they are finally revealing themselves as a less than mediocre band.
  3. EthanP
    Apr 27, 2005
    5
    Points for future potential only. Apparently this is a great album. And according to one review, it's meant to have grown up with those of us who began listening to the Eels in the mid-90s. And maybe it's in the stars that I'll be more turned on by the subtlety of these CDs...but on first listen, I'm just bored and wondering how they've happened to land a Metascore of 94.
  4. MikeA
    May 11, 2005
    6
    Interesting, but... Maybe I don't get it... Some fresh melodies, some not so fresh...
  5. PaulH
    Jul 11, 2005
    6
    Overrated, but there is some good stuff here, some buried treasures. much better then the foo fighters double album, but that ain't no surprise.
  6. RobertG
    Jul 13, 2005
    6
    From all the rave reviews I was expecting a lot more. I tend to favor melancholy music bu thtis album doesn't do much for me. Gave it 6 or 7 spins and still very little has caught my attention. Underwhelming
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    A devastatingly beautiful collection of songs, and in some circles, it could be the best album released this year. [May 2005, p.124]
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    A calmer work than its harrowing semi-classic prequel, Blinking Lights... is also less startling or focussed. [May 2005, p.109]
  3. Under The Radar
    90
    Some of the best-written songs of this new century. [#9]