• Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 113

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    8
    A very ambitious record from Mr E. For the most part's it's very successful and some of it is up with his best. Like many double albums, I think this could have been a 10 out of 10 16-18 track album. Some of the stuff on here we could do without. Not much mind you, but definitely some. But Mr E is an artist in every sense and it's not a surprise that he went for a 33 tracker here. TooA very ambitious record from Mr E. For the most part's it's very successful and some of it is up with his best. Like many double albums, I think this could have been a 10 out of 10 16-18 track album. Some of the stuff on here we could do without. Not much mind you, but definitely some. But Mr E is an artist in every sense and it's not a surprise that he went for a 33 tracker here. Too many highlights to mention - I would highly recommend adding this record to your collection. Collapse
  2. BillyH
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    An intelligent progression and evolution of a man called E this album shine new light on the eels perspective when you listen to the album from front to back you realize that everything is going to be ok.
  3. AndrewM
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    This record could be one of the best I've ever listened to. It's much, much more melancholy than something like Souljacker. While the lyrics are possibly stronger than they have ever been, most tracks are enjoyable just listening to how it sounds. Given that E spent 7 years creating the material on this album, the album is obviously going to be long. Not "bloated". As for it This record could be one of the best I've ever listened to. It's much, much more melancholy than something like Souljacker. While the lyrics are possibly stronger than they have ever been, most tracks are enjoyable just listening to how it sounds. Given that E spent 7 years creating the material on this album, the album is obviously going to be long. Not "bloated". As for it being self-indulgent, E's music is more a form of personal therapy than material for platinum records. "Electro-Shock Blues", the last magnum opus, was in response to family tragedies. Not to sell a lot of albums. Recovery. For a large part, the people who can enjoy this album are the ones who can sit back and listen to the beauty of E emptying his head. And it's entirely worth it. Expand
  4. JeffF
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    It's one of those that, after months of spinning, you realize how deeply rich and wonderful it is..if you've experienced loss as he has, it resonates that much more.
  5. William
    Jul 16, 2007
    5
    Although I tried, I wasn't able to enjoy this album as much as the other Eels albums I own (Beautiful Freak, Electroshock Blue, Daisies of the Galaxy). I feel that this album is bloated and disjointed; and a bit self-indulgent at times.
  6. RichardH
    May 4, 2007
    10
    This sprawling double album is fantastic. I haven't heard anything by the Eels since Novocaine, so my experience with E's writing style is horribly limited, but I was struck numb by the beauty and emotion that ooze from every second of this disk. Emo bands needs to take notes on how to 'emote' without sounding like a complete jackass. I loved this album so much that This sprawling double album is fantastic. I haven't heard anything by the Eels since Novocaine, so my experience with E's writing style is horribly limited, but I was struck numb by the beauty and emotion that ooze from every second of this disk. Emo bands needs to take notes on how to 'emote' without sounding like a complete jackass. I loved this album so much that Electro-Shock Blues is now on it's way from Amazon. Highly recommended. Expand
  7. JohnF
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    I think this alblum could be an underated classic, never have I heard a singer be so emotional with his lyrics with such wonderful music to match. E I salute you, I wish I could write as well as you do. Best I'm Gonna Stop Pretending That I didn't Break Your Heart
  8. JeffV
    Jun 9, 2006
    7
    Really good music, but poorly written lyrics. When I listen to this album, I listen to it for the music, and if I sing a long to it, I sing along because it's fun. Not because they are really good. I would recommend this to people who don't care about words as much as the actual music (people like me).
  9. buzz
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    i've always like beautiful freak the best, but this one may surpass that on my personal scale...
  10. EdH
    May 13, 2006
    10
    This is one of the most amazing albums I have ever heard!!! The songs are put together very cleverly and, added to the personal experiences of E, (Mark Oliver Everet) explained in his previous abums, and the highly emotional lyrics, a masterpiece has been created.
  11. TimW
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Blinking Lights And Other Revelations is a leisurely stroll through a wonderful, mesmerising landscape. And yes, it is better than Electro-Shock Blues.
  12. NateE
    Apr 7, 2006
    9
    Call me crazy, but a good double album is probably one of my favorite things in music. I'll always take a bit of sprawl, some thematic interludes, and some genuine ambition over a more compact effort. And E makes everything interesting. I'm not sure I LIKE everything, but I don't think I have to. Far-reaching and evocative, it's an example of the best that modern music Call me crazy, but a good double album is probably one of my favorite things in music. I'll always take a bit of sprawl, some thematic interludes, and some genuine ambition over a more compact effort. And E makes everything interesting. I'm not sure I LIKE everything, but I don't think I have to. Far-reaching and evocative, it's an example of the best that modern music has to offer the soul. Expand
  13. MarkP
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Always thought "electro-shock" blues was their masterpiece but have had to reconsider. Like all double albums it takes time to sink in but patience is rewarded. Like the best of Eels music their is an ugly beauty to the songs that is haunting. This is one perfectly paced double LP that doesn't require one of those "this would've made a great single LP" conversations.
  14. PeretzD
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    what can i say? every note id mastered to perfection. E transfers emotions like no other. Best of 2005 by far.
  15. LarsG
    Jan 10, 2006
    9
    Beautiful melancolical songs.
  16. MartinF
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    A beautifully crafted record, with songs that, in their own right, gives the heart a desperatly needed refill of emotions and helps it grow!
  17. Jonathan
    Dec 20, 2005
    4
    I've been a fan since "Electroshock Blues," but I feel pretty ashamed of it after listening to this album. This seems like a best of album in which all of the songs have been rewritten so that they are far more boring than the originals. If this actually is E's magnus opus, I'm afraid that they are finally revealing themselves as a less than mediocre band.
  18. JasperB
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    Without question, BLINKING LIGHTS AND OTHER REVELATIONS is a masterpiece.
  19. RobustoG
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    Impossible to pidgeon-hole beauty in every tune.
  20. DaveM
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    I have never been a big eels fan but this in my mind is the best album of 2005. The last 2 songs are so incredible it makes it hard to listen to anything else, but the album as a whole is a masterpiece. Critics who say this is loaded with filler have no clue, every song stands on its own.
  21. MattS
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    Damn! This is the best since Electro Shock - what a cracker! For me this is the album of the year so far.
  22. DavidM
    Aug 19, 2005
    8
    A sprawling collection of consistently good but almost never great songs. Those who like E's wimp-pop sound and emotional nakedness will adore it...those who don't will find little to convert them here. Disc 2 is far better than Disc 1.
  23. AlanL
    Aug 19, 2005
    9
    Fantastic! E is one of the few artists to have the ability to attempt such a vast concept, a whole life spanning an album. Wow, the guy is a genius. He can make the mundane seem beautiful.
  24. peterg
    Jul 14, 2005
    8
    Masterpice... Railroad Man one of the best songs this century.
  25. RobertG
    Jul 13, 2005
    6
    From all the rave reviews I was expecting a lot more. I tend to favor melancholy music bu thtis album doesn't do much for me. Gave it 6 or 7 spins and still very little has caught my attention. Underwhelming
  26. PaulH
    Jul 11, 2005
    6
    Overrated, but there is some good stuff here, some buried treasures. much better then the foo fighters double album, but that ain't no surprise.
  27. DaveV
    Jul 2, 2005
    7
    I consider myself a big Eels fan, having most of their/E's CDs, but I have to add my voice to those who were underwhelmed by Blinking Lights and feel it's way overrated. If you made one CD of the best tracks from this doublet, it would rank somewhere in the middle of all Eels CDs. Maybe below the middle.
  28. AntonyH
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    This is his best album yet, it's the best cd I have bought in years and one I play from start to finish
  29. AndrewD
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    Heartbreaking in the best meaning album! Can't stop listening to it.
  30. Gnarles
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    I almost never give things a 10, but "Blinking Lights" is the kind of album that breaks rules like little twigs. Moving, witty, staggering, almost incomprehensibly ambitious, it's simply an astounding piece of work. Repeat listens are required, but it's worth the effort for the committed. Incredible, and a bracing remember of the power that pop music can hold.
  31. DarrenS
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    An absolute masterpiece, a MUST BUY, everyone on the face of the planet should hear this. out of 33 tracks - all 33 are superb, surprising and often amusing.
  32. AlanS
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    Having read a long list of rave reviews from the likes of Alternative Press , Entertainment Weekly, Drowned In Sound, et al., I decided to get and listen to Eels apparent masterpiece. So is he the next Bob Dylan? Nope, he's not. The next Bruce Springsteen? Uh uh. Maybe he's the next Leonard Cohen? No, E's is not even as good as Cohen. His vocals kind of remind me of Leonard Having read a long list of rave reviews from the likes of Alternative Press , Entertainment Weekly, Drowned In Sound, et al., I decided to get and listen to Eels apparent masterpiece. So is he the next Bob Dylan? Nope, he's not. The next Bruce Springsteen? Uh uh. Maybe he's the next Leonard Cohen? No, E's is not even as good as Cohen. His vocals kind of remind me of Leonard Cohen; they both can't sing. But as for the music on "Blinking Lights...", BORING! I decided to give the album a 1 instead of a 0 because one of the songs is pretty good. If only i could remember which of the approximately 30 songs (90 plus minutes) is the song I liked... Expand
  33. jeffm
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    the ballads are the best songs here. they seem to act as tears by proxy, leaving me cleansed afterward.
  34. MarcD
    Jun 5, 2005
    8
    'Beautiful Freak' is a classic that still stand the test of time. This new release...not quite there. But, it certainly will bring a smile/tear to a fan of the Eels.
  35. ThomasS
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Pop music doesn't get better then this. His third masterpiece after Daisies and Electro-shock. I also love the 'Eels with strings' tour.
  36. DaveT
    Jun 3, 2005
    7
    Bought the album because of all the 10's on metacritic. Disc one is not good. His voice sounds like Springteen on valium and instrumentals are boring. Disc two is pretty good though, peppy, fun, good music all around....kindof Wilcoish, Beckish. The dude has talent, but I think he needs to hire a good producer.
  37. KristofM
    May 29, 2005
    10
    Great album from a brilliant artist. Except for maybe Antony and the Johnsons and Arcade Fire, my album of the year so far!
  38. matta
    May 26, 2005
    8
    This is a pretty amazing album. If it wasn't double, and didn't have such an intriguing premise/unifying theme, that filler here(which is sometimes abundant) would get pretty annoying, but instead it adds to the experience. Truly great stuff to listen to when you're depressed (track favorite-Railroad Man).
  39. RobertV
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Incredibly moving, profound indie-pop/folk album, E is a rare gift to the music world. Favorite tunes on the album-"Lick your boots", "Old Shit, New Shit", "Blinking Lights (For You), (For Me)", "Losing Streak".
  40. PeterG
    May 20, 2005
    9
    Great songs & instrumentals even if the best of them borrow heavily from Van Morrison, Paul Westerberg and, yes, Outkast. I've also heard that Soybomb tune somewhere before but can't place it.
  41. Charlie
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Absolute crap....and I bought it on your sites recommendation. The whole album is just pure self indulgence on the singers inner life and bears no resemblance to reality
  42. DaveF
    May 15, 2005
    9
    I've been patiently waiting for a *great* Eels, and this one blows Electro-Shock all to hell. I nearly flipped out when I heard "Losing Streak" and "The Other Shoe". Who would have thought such a somber guy could pull off forceful, wide-eyed, optimistic pop tunes with gravity and grace? Blinking Lights is full of wonderous, flat-out-stunners and is short on (but not completely absent I've been patiently waiting for a *great* Eels, and this one blows Electro-Shock all to hell. I nearly flipped out when I heard "Losing Streak" and "The Other Shoe". Who would have thought such a somber guy could pull off forceful, wide-eyed, optimistic pop tunes with gravity and grace? Blinking Lights is full of wonderous, flat-out-stunners and is short on (but not completely absent of) filler. Expand
  43. justinw
    May 14, 2005
    10
    being that the last two albums were average at best blinking lights sets to your cd player or ipod or whatever you are using what the radio can not do enjoy some interesting keyboard playing and masterful play of pop music . besides the fact that the 20 to 30 dollars is worth every penny to see e live this album brings him back to where he belongs as america premiere songwriter and being that the last two albums were average at best blinking lights sets to your cd player or ipod or whatever you are using what the radio can not do enjoy some interesting keyboard playing and masterful play of pop music . besides the fact that the 20 to 30 dollars is worth every penny to see e live this album brings him back to where he belongs as america premiere songwriter and eccentric musician a perfect ten for those of us who like vision in their music he belongs Expand
  44. MikeA
    May 11, 2005
    6
    Interesting, but... Maybe I don't get it... Some fresh melodies, some not so fresh...
  45. GuyE
    May 10, 2005
    8
    There's one perfect album here - too much one dimensional filler on the second album, it could have been 25 minutes shorter. But the good bits - sublime! Nods to Eno, The Doors, Velvets (Beck goes without saying, oops!) and Tindersticks. The first album is so directed, flowing and captivating. Worth the entrance price on its own - and without the second album could have scored a 10. There's one perfect album here - too much one dimensional filler on the second album, it could have been 25 minutes shorter. But the good bits - sublime! Nods to Eno, The Doors, Velvets (Beck goes without saying, oops!) and Tindersticks. The first album is so directed, flowing and captivating. Worth the entrance price on its own - and without the second album could have scored a 10. Hmm, go on then, call it a 10 anyway. Expand
  46. RobertC
    May 9, 2005
    10
    The kind of album that reminds you what music can be. Far from the anodyne nonsense that fills most radios, we fine E: a man with plenty to tell us and its worth listening to every lyric and note. Surprisingly joyful at times, this album is a tour de force.
  47. BryanS
    May 8, 2005
    8
    I have been a fan of the Eels for a few years now, but, after that long, it has become apparent that, on a song-to-song basis, the Eels are very hit-or-miss. Take old Souljacker for example; you have a stunning, sugar-sweet track like "Fresh Feeling," on the same album as a bland, cliche-filled ear-bleeder like "Dog Faced Boy." Blinking Lights, I am glad to report, has very few of these I have been a fan of the Eels for a few years now, but, after that long, it has become apparent that, on a song-to-song basis, the Eels are very hit-or-miss. Take old Souljacker for example; you have a stunning, sugar-sweet track like "Fresh Feeling," on the same album as a bland, cliche-filled ear-bleeder like "Dog Faced Boy." Blinking Lights, I am glad to report, has very few of these shoddy fillers. And even when they do emerge, it is almost always the fault of E's lyrics rather than the music. He has never been the most talented of lyricists and, while he does step it up a notch on this album, his lyrics still fall short of the mark on many tracks. Not enough to make one cringe, but enough to leave something to be desired. An excellent album when viewed all-around, and a very enjoyable listen. Expand
  48. ReneeH
    May 6, 2005
    10
    This is my favorite band of all time, producing their best work yet. Sublimtely beautiful and heart-rending.
  49. Bat
    May 6, 2005
    10
    Is a strange, hypnotic and full of gems album. It's the first Eeels album that i truly love and one of the best album i heard this year. It's just unbelieable touchy: funny at times, shocking or plain sad.
  50. AriGunnarT
    May 6, 2005
    10
    utterly amazing... jaw droppingly brilliant
  51. DaveJ
    May 5, 2005
    10
    A beautiful album.....this really is a stunner
  52. JasonL
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Beautiful Album. I will be listening for years to come.... This is probably his best.
  53. DavisW
    May 4, 2005
    9
    E captures the best elements of his past albums and gives us 2 discs of it. Simply beautiful.
  54. JoeB
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Simply stunning. It has been a long time since I have heard a double CD with such excellent material throughout. Way to go, E! It is music like this that makes life worth living.
  55. donq
    May 3, 2005
    3
    everett's not an important songwriter; he's from the post-grunge era and has been a one-hit wonder with "novacaine for the soul"... he's since trying to gain notoriety.
  56. DerekC
    May 2, 2005
    10
    One of the most beautiful albums of the last 20 years.
  57. JamieS
    May 1, 2005
    10
    just so much better than all the other completely average rubbish that gets released. and from first listen it might even be the best eels album, which is a pretty extreme thing to say. just GREAT. and no real filler. certainly better than the 2 bright albums put together Jamie
  58. RyanH
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    This album is one of the best I hae ever heard. E really put his heart into this one. There are the usualy downer eels songs and there are a lot of happy ones on this one to.
  59. chrisb
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    Simply astonishing.
  60. LaurensH
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    Great Album!
  61. JustinK
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    This is the masterpiece among masterpieces. I'm going fetal!
  62. MarcoB
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    Great!
  63. LloydM
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    I never really understood the appeal of the Eels before i heard this album. I always kinda lumped them in with the overly mainstream side of indie. Its truely a beautiful record.
  64. JackR
    Apr 28, 2005
    9
    One of our greatest American songwriters.
  65. RobertR
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    An absolutely stunning album from a true craftsman. It amazes me that anyone could rate it a "O". I guess it makes sense from someone who uses such phrases as "biggity blows". Did you get that from 50 cent album?
  66. BuckC
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Album of the year.
  67. PecanPie
    Apr 28, 2005
    8
    33 songs? A more focused 16-18 song effort would have been better....definitely some great songs here, though.
  68. BrandonS
    Apr 28, 2005
    7
    It's great to see that Eels are finally getting the critical acclaim they deserve, and I'm glad that E is showing no signs of letting up. This is an excellent album, but suffers only from the fact that it doesn't quite feel new. Stepping back to the electro-shock blues (still his masterpiece) and daisies of the galaxy sound, I don't have that feeling of forward motion It's great to see that Eels are finally getting the critical acclaim they deserve, and I'm glad that E is showing no signs of letting up. This is an excellent album, but suffers only from the fact that it doesn't quite feel new. Stepping back to the electro-shock blues (still his masterpiece) and daisies of the galaxy sound, I don't have that feeling of forward motion that I got from each of the previous albums as they came out. I adore this band, but for the songs to focus again and again on the same two subjects (death and coming to terms) might result in some stagnation. So, a great double album, but not really a step forward. Expand
  69. NikP
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    Stunning album. A mix between Electro-shock Blues & Daisies OF The Galaxy. E's most personal album for a wile. Stand out tracks Hey Man Ugly Love Going Fetal
  70. SamO
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Beautiful and Melodic, experimental and eclectic. takes a few listens to really grow and appreciate the complexity and variety. A wonderful solid production! Highly enjoyable listening material and a real sonic exploration.
  71. EthanP
    Apr 27, 2005
    5
    Points for future potential only. Apparently this is a great album. And according to one review, it's meant to have grown up with those of us who began listening to the Eels in the mid-90s. And maybe it's in the stars that I'll be more turned on by the subtlety of these CDs...but on first listen, I'm just bored and wondering how they've happened to land a Metascore of 94.
  72. DAVE
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    This album is absolutely amazing. I would give anything to see the live show with an orchestra.
  73. BillA
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    Damn impressive album from E. I hadn't thought he'd be able to beat the emotional masterpiece of Electro-Shock Blues, but he has. A much-needed return to form after the travesty of Shootenanny!
  74. kyle
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Amazing, I never thought another Eels album could come close to Electro-Shock Blues, but it appears I was wrong.
  75. JeffS
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Just a beautiful record. Puts to shame the majority of what is being released nowadays.
  76. MathijsB
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    The Best Eels-album!
  77. EddieB
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Double album of Eels goodness! This album gets in your head and doesn't leave, but in a good way. Lots of great cameos on this as well...thanks E!
  78. EelsM
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Seriously people, what is wrong! This record bliggity blows. Can't believe what this world is coming to.
  79. eelpie
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Spanning the spectrum of emotions from suicidal to merely downbeat, via some cracking beatbox pop tunes, the depth of this album is awesome. E is in fine, fine voice throughout. Transcends the sum of its many, many wonderous parts.
  80. MelS
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    A masterpiece. An album about the small things in life that make it worth living. I don't know if there'll be a better album this year.
  81. PaulPaul
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    The best one.
  82. ChickenSupreme
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    This album climbs right up to the self-deprecating heights set by 'Beautiful Freak' and 'Electoshock Blues', blended with the beautiful positivity of 'Daisies Of The Galaxy to create a wholly wondrous double-disc release.
  83. KellyWalrus
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    I somehow got an advanced copy of this in a used CD store and was surprised at how much better it is from their (or rather E's) last two albums. None of these songs seem like filler, so imagine 33 songs of pop perfection and you will have "Blinking Lights...".
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. A devastatingly beautiful collection of songs, and in some circles, it could be the best album released this year. [May 2005, p.124]
  2. A calmer work than its harrowing semi-classic prequel, Blinking Lights... is also less startling or focussed. [May 2005, p.109]
  3. Some of the best-written songs of this new century. [#9]