• Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Apr 5, 2011
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    May 17, 2011
    60
    Blood pressures doesn't quite take charge of their joint destiny as decisively as it needs to, the cohesive chain smoking cool do their earlier albums diluted by sudden shifts in tempo and mood. [May 2011, p.104]
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    Could 'Blood Pressure' restore The Kills fortunes to their early glory days? It would seem that Hince's luck might be running out.
  3. Alternative Press
    Apr 8, 2011
    60
    A highly charged and welcome return. [May 2011, p.93]
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    60
    They do try to mix up their formula, a move that pays off when subtly employed (the reggae textures in Satellite, for instance) but fails in the big, obvious spots.
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    Blood Pressures works mostly because of how fully the duo believes in the junk they're spitting out.
  6. Apr 1, 2011
    60
    Their fourth album [...] finds them turbo-charging their sound, the familiar primeval bluesy rock combined with bigger grooves and almost Burundi-type drumming.
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    58
    In spite of some solid material and smoky performances by Mosshart, Blood Pressures does little to change that.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jun 18, 2011
    6
    Well, there are a few odd turns, but "Blood Pressures" is pretty much the same amalgam of raw, tense, amateurish delivery that's been conveyedWell, there are a few odd turns, but "Blood Pressures" is pretty much the same amalgam of raw, tense, amateurish delivery that's been conveyed throughout their career. Mosshart has undoubtedly improved her skills over the years and can perform a fairly convincing torch singer's touch ("The Last Goodbye") along with her usual tortured moans. By contrast, when Hince steps up to sing on the turgid "Wild Charms" one suggests he should concentrate solely on instrumental duties.Leaving behind the more dance oriented rhythms of "Midnight Boom", and although aiming for the carnal blues rock of "No Wow" there's a cleaner, less energised feel to the record. The cod reggae of "Satellite" sounds like it's powered by Prozac, and the resignation in Mosshart's vocal on "DNA" suggests minimal enthusiasm to the cause. She saves her best performance for "The Last Goodbye"; a melancholic piano ballad that resonates with an emotional intensity rarely found on the rest of this collection. For fans, "Blood Pressures" is a fine if sanitized version of former glories. With all the activity away from the band, one wonders if hooking up once again was more obligatory than inspirational, and may explain the tame, uninspired nature of this recording. http://hackskeptic.com Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    Blood Pressures is not their best album (I'd say that distinction goes to Midnight Boom) but for those of us who can't enough Mosshart in ourBlood Pressures is not their best album (I'd say that distinction goes to Midnight Boom) but for those of us who can't enough Mosshart in our lives, this album should fill the void until the Dead Weathers next album. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    The Kills were a band that I never listened to until I heard The Dead Weather. I don't love The Dead Weather, but I liked them enough to wantThe Kills were a band that I never listened to until I heard The Dead Weather. I don't love The Dead Weather, but I liked them enough to want to check out this other band Alison Mosshart was in. To be completely honest, a lot of the songs on this album just didn't resonate with me. There is nothing bad on the album, but not much that is particularly great for me either. The one exception would be 'The Last Goodbye' which is a simple yet emotional piano ballad that is unlike anything else on the album. Maybe I need to start at the beginning of this band's career to get into them, but this album definitely didn't get me on the bandwagon. Full Review »