Blood - In This Moment
Blood Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio album for the Los Angeles-based alternative metal band is its first without founding members Blake Bunze and Jeff Fabb.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 75
    In This Moment are up to some weird, wild, wonderful stuff.
  2. Sep 4, 2012
    60
    It lacks a little cohesion and substance beneath all of the surface clatter. [18 Aug 2012, p.53]
  3. 40
    Blood is a disappointing step backward from a band that showed real greatness only two years ago. [Sep 2012, p.90]
  4. 40
    It's bubbling with the trite sounds of heavy metal c. 2002.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. May 10, 2013
    10
    Unfortunately this band had kinda flew under my radar until last Oct. (2012). A friend from work, my fiance and myself heard "Blood" the title track on a local metal station and had to find out more!!! We learned the name of the band, that they had recently released a new album, and to top all off were coming close to our home city!!! Got the new release, fell in love immediately!!!! She can wail!!!! Not since Otep have I heard a chic go off the way Maria Brink does, and at the same time is a very talented singer (in the traditional way I guess you would say). Their stage presence and energy are unmatched, along with the fact that despite their recent growth in popularity, still play somewhat small, modest and IN YOUR FACE venues!!!! We enjoyed seeing them for the first time at "The Masquerade" in Atlanta, GA. I had previously been there for raves and smaller shows. They just blew it out of the water, Maria is so sexy and tantalizing on stage and the warriors behind her just straight shred!!!! I have passed on the enjoyment to every person possible. I remember seeing "Staind" in 1999 opening up for Limp Bizkit and Kid Rock and beforehand saying Staind? Who the hell is Staind?? Well that story tells itself, needless to say. Anyway, just wanted to pass on my thoughts of this great band to whom ever will listen, and if you've never partaken, give them a chance?!?!? If that's your kind of music scene, you WILL NOT regret it. I certainly haven't and plan to see them every chance I get. To Metal an all to changing (and shrinking, at least for pure, good bands!!!) genre, we salute thee!!! For some of us it is what just simply relieves the stress of the day, and for some (myself included) it has changed and saved our lives!! And definitely prevented a few more shooting sprees!!!! Support your local fuzz!!!!! Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    My first album was 'The Dream' which was quite melodic and softer in tone in comparison to Blood but a wonderful album from it's beautiful artwork to it's lyrics. True to an album you feel a central theme carries throughout the journey Maria Brink and band take you on.

    I heard a few tracks of Star Crossed Wasteland after I enjoyed The Dream, which came as quite a shock initially due to the somewhat polar opposite, harder and heavier sound. I passed on that album (but am now rethinking). At this point in my mind I essentially crossed this band off, being just happy to find one good album which is not that easy these days (amazing how much average music gets published by the labels)

    I heard a few tracks of Blood online and I was captivated!! The music has great energy, is much heavier sound than The Dream and probably closer to the bands core style. There are some fantastic rifts, beats and melodies produced with some fun and rather adult, erotic themed and inspired lyrics. Again the artwork and attention to detail of this album is brilliant and does being an album buyer and not simply digital music owner true justice.

    I've lost count of how many albums in all I own now (must not be far off 100). Blood by In This Moment certainly is a Top 5 contender for me. Love it
    Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    I have to admit, the first time I heard In This Moment I was not a fan. The vocals threw me off the most this wasn't a death metal scream, or a black metal shriek, it was completely different. After listening to the album, my mind has changed. In This Moment is a hard rock band, but what makes them different is two things: one, the much heavier instrumentals that hit like a brick, and two, the female vocals done by Maria Brink. The album is cohesive and solid, progressing well and not having too many low points. Tracks like "Adrenalize", "Scarlet", and "Comance" pick up the pace at different points and make the album viscerally loud and abrasive. If you listen to music while you work out, this is the album for you. Some tracks can be grating ("Blood" straight up gives me a headache), but overall it is a good genre if you like the genre and know what you're getting into. Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2012
    7
    In This Moment took a different avenue. A less Metal sounding, the integration of Electronic elements, even the flow of her growl has change a bit...more like Riot Grrrl approach. If you are stick in pure Heavy Metal, don't touch this. If you like adventurous Metal, try this. I'm not saying the album is a 100% solid but there is some very solid tracks. Worth it for sure! Collapse
  5. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    In This Moment dig into a dark, sedistic metal teased with electronic filler to bring forth one of their more interesting works to date. Several of the tracks feel purposeful and rarely boring or skip-worthy, such as the lead single "Blood" and the follow-up "Adrenalize". The halfway point's "Scarlet" is one of the defining moments of the album, providing brooding acoustic guitars that eventually spill into the full band bashing the group is known for. Overall the album is strong, though it's not the crowning achievement of the band's discography. I can see where In This Moment could build off of Blood and craft one of the better metal albums in recent history. The potential is definitely there. Expand