Bloodsports

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    100
    Bloodsports is bleeding good.
  2. Bloodsports is effortlessly superior to its predecessor A New Morning, and averages out roughly on a level with Head Music (though more consistent in quality).
  3. Mar 15, 2013
    85
    Calling Bloodsports a comeback album almost seems to belittle just how strong a record it really is; it’s nearly as good as any they’ve put out before.
  4. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Suede sound like Suede again. [Apr 2013, p.97]
  5. 80
    The songs on Bloodsports are suitable to excite the fans (Yes, they do still exist!), enthuse the critics, engage the occasional casual listener, and elicit a shrug from the general public.
  6. 80
    Bloodsports is such an assured return, as welcome as it is unforeseen, that Suede have succeeded in rewriting what might be deemed acceptable for a band preparing to enter middle age.
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Decade-long hiatus or no decade-long hiatus, Bloodsports finds Suede in exactly its element.
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Never once do they sound desperate on Bloodsports; they sound confident, and comfortable in the knowledge that this is where they all should be.
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Even if there are only ten tracks to feast upon, it’s clear that Suede is back in force, and Brett and the boys sound cooler than ever.
  10. 80
    In a way, it’s the most honest collection of songs Anderson’s ever written.
  11. 80
    Producer Ed Buller has given the band a bigger sound that works well on the rolling U2-esque riff to “Barriers”, but parts of the album still sag under expectations.
  12. Mar 15, 2013
    80
    They've arrived at a romantic, odd, ambitious pop record that eschews musical theatricality for punchy, 40-something's take on the complexity of love from the view--and this is why it works--of one who is still, at heart, an incurable and incorrigible teenage romantic
  13. Mar 14, 2013
    80
    Suede's sixth album, 11 years after their underwhelming fifth, is a bit of a treat.
  14. Mar 14, 2013
    80
    Bloodsports is exactly what a Suede fan wants, and it also sounds remarkably less dated than anything their old rivals Oasis are up to these days.
  15. Mojo
    Mar 12, 2013
    80
    This is a galvanising return. [Apr 2013, p.96]
  16. Q Magazine
    Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Keeping hold of their past while seizing the present, Suede are still capable of taking you over. [Apr 2013, p.98]
  17. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    This is a photocopy of the original Britpop blueprint.
  18. Mar 22, 2013
    76
    Throughout Bloodsports, Suede consistently strikes the balance between decadence and elegance that marked their signature work.
  19. Mar 18, 2013
    74
    Bloodsports is the sound of a band who have rested, recouped and clawed back some of that old time vitality.
  20. Magnet
    May 10, 2013
    70
    Boasting strength, durability and psychic stability on comeback Bloodsports, Suede shows its true dramatic worth on pensive, atmospheric exhibitions. [No. 98, p.57]
  21. 70
    Bloodsports finally provides the send-off Suede’s legacy deserved 10 years ago. And, fittingly, it’s due to them thumbing their noses at the notion of growing old gracefully, and making brilliantly daft pop music instead.
  22. Mar 18, 2013
    70
    For the most part, though, Suede’s newfound maturity suits them well.
  23. Mar 13, 2013
    70
    Much of it feels like pastiche, albeit of an often very entertaining sort.
  24. Uncut
    Mar 12, 2013
    70
    It's a credible step back into the ring after years on the ropes. [Apr 2013, p.66]
  25. Mar 12, 2013
    70
    It’s a fine Suede record, a passionate and seductive creature which reminds us of how distinctive and dynamic this most underestimated band can be.
  26. Apr 2, 2013
    60
    Bloodsports is fine, pleasant even.
  27. Mar 18, 2013
    60
    The quality tails off quite dramatically, with a string of unremarkable ballads closing the album, but this is still a pleasing return to something approaching their best.
  28. Mar 14, 2013
    60
    So swings and roundabouts, then, but for all Bloodsports’ faults, it’s still pretty good.
  29. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    Suede deserve some credit for being one of the few reunited bands to actually risk their reputation by recording a new album and whilst there is nothing on 'Bloodsports' as gloriously epic as 'Stay Together' or as bat-shit crazy as 'Introducing The Band', it should be viewed as a partial success.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Amazing comeback! Emotional, elegant, dark and complex. Even better than Coming Up. Brett and co. are stronger than ever. They did it again.Amazing comeback! Emotional, elegant, dark and complex. Even better than Coming Up. Brett and co. are stronger than ever. They did it again. Support Bloodsports! Full Review »
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Great!! Best Suede album since Dog Man Star!!!!!!A sweeping album, the sleazy stomp of Hit Me and Always finds Suede in raunchy form as inGreat!! Best Suede album since Dog Man Star!!!!!!A sweeping album, the sleazy stomp of Hit Me and Always finds Suede in raunchy form as in their heyday. Full Review »
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Remarkable ballads It´s the first time I hear Suede and I like it a lot What are you not telling me ,Hit Me Faultlines, Sabotage ,etc iRemarkable ballads It´s the first time I hear Suede and I like it a lot What are you not telling me ,Hit Me Faultlines, Sabotage ,etc i also like the voice of Brett Anderson and the guitar of Bernard Butler are perfect for the songs I can imagine a duet maybe for one ballad (Adele*) I like Bloodsports A+ Full Review »