Bloodsports Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: The London Suede
  • Summary: The first release from the Britpop band in 11 years was produced by Ed Buller.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    100
    Bloodsports is bleeding good.
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    Decade-long hiatus or no decade-long hiatus, Bloodsports finds Suede in exactly its element.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    This is a galvanising return. [Apr 2013, p.96]
  4. 80
    Suede sound like Suede again. [Apr 2013, p.97]
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    76
    Throughout Bloodsports, Suede consistently strikes the balance between decadence and elegance that marked their signature work.
  6. 70
    Bloodsports finally provides the send-off Suede’s legacy deserved 10 years ago. And, fittingly, it’s due to them thumbing their noses at the notion of growing old gracefully, and making brilliantly daft pop music instead.
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    Suede deserve some credit for being one of the few reunited bands to actually risk their reputation by recording a new album and whilst there is nothing on 'Bloodsports' as gloriously epic as 'Stay Together' or as bat-shit crazy as 'Introducing The Band', it should be viewed as a partial success.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Amazing comeback! Emotional, elegant, dark and complex. Even better than Coming Up. Brett and co. are stronger than ever. They did it again. Support Bloodsports! Collapse
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Remarkable ballads It´s the first time I hear Suede and I like it a lot What are you not telling me ,Hit Me Faultlines, Sabotage ,etc i also like the voice of Brett Anderson and the guitar of Bernard Butler are perfect for the songs I can imagine a duet maybe for one ballad (Adele*) I like Bloodsports A+ Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Comeback Suede! Great pop record with two different emotions. Maybe It's their best record since Dog Man Star. With Neil Codling's participation on rhythm guitar part, the record finally sounds like the original four-piece. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Great!! Best Suede album since Dog Man Star!!!!!!A sweeping album, the sleazy stomp of Hit Me and Always finds Suede in raunchy form as in their heyday. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    A wonderful comeback! Brett Anderson showing that he is the force behind the band. I really hope that this is not merely for the nostalgic ones like myself, but, instead, many new funs will appear. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Great album. most of their songs could find a place in their former works, even in the Anderson-Butler era. I'm enjoying "For the Strangers", "Hit Me" and "Sometimes I Feel..." specially. Good to have Suede back again. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2014
    7
    I was the biggest Suede fan for so many years back in the mid 90's. I was astounded to hear that they were back together and recording. I was desperately hoping for the entire lineup to be back together (ie bernard butler) so they could make an album of the quality of the self titled, or the followup Dog Man Star.
    Turns out (unsurprisingly) that Bernard is still staying away, but regardless the album they have put out is quite good. Its not as good as the first two albums i mentioned, but it lacks the poly-drug use stupidity that littered their last couple of album (bar A New Morning, which ironically was horrid due to being an album written by a recovering junkie).
    So - i really wanted to love this, but instead just like it. Its not exactly the same as prior material, but its certainly not the artistic left-turn of the DMS era. All in all, a reasonable effort, give or take the occasional touch of male menopause, and some bad studio work (hear the harsh digital clipping on some of the dynamic peaks?). I'd be surprised if this didn't make a heap of old fans reasonably satisfied, but would be even more surprised if it wins over more than a few new fans.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews