Bloom

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: May 15, 2012
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
Buy On
  1. Jul 2, 2012
    60
    Bloom has continued making Beach House a Thing in indie music, a band that has a feasible future, that won't be just forgotten and left by the wayside. It's nothing to get excited about.
  2. May 18, 2012
    60
    Where once this cut deep, extended, it discloses itself merely as pleasant and pleasantly familiar.
  3. May 15, 2012
    60
    Bloom is in part brilliant but maddeningly safe and, ultimately, is a decidedly unsatisfying listen.
  4. May 14, 2012
    60
    An anthology of pretty but aimless ambient rock, and a starkly disappointing regression after the thoughtfulness of 2010's Teen Dream.
  5. May 14, 2012
    60
    You can have too much gauze and balm; if only Legrand and Scally could find a slightly different gear.
  6. May 10, 2012
    60
    It's beautiful, spectral, dreamy, but never makes your pulse quicken.
  7. May 10, 2012
    60
    The record tends to fade into the background and become something so indistinct that it's forgettable, even after multiple listens.
  8. May 10, 2012
    60
    Bloom is consistent in quality, and there isn't a single bad song. It just feels like they spent too much time worrying about production and not enough time songwriting.
  9. May 15, 2012
    50
    The songwriting [on Bloom] is rarely stronger [than on previous albums], never different, and more hit-and-miss than I thought Beach House were capable of. It's not their worst record, but it's already their most tired, and that should never, ever happen on a fourth LP. But at least it's pretty.
  10. Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Melodies, hooks, and choruses evince Beach House's candy core, but the nonexistent separation of sound makes the Blooming disc sound as if it's filtered through a dryer vent.
  11. 40
    Pleasantly undemanding for a few tracks, the album just seems to evaporate away halfway through, as if even its creators couldn't retain interest in it, either.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    The band's strongest work yet. Beach House has continually progressed dropping weak points and refining the positive points. It culminatesThe band's strongest work yet. Beach House has continually progressed dropping weak points and refining the positive points. It culminates in this masterpiece, "Bloom". It really grabs me emotionally particularly on the second half of the album. This is so much more than pretty melodies and rhythms. The entire album is meticulously crafted. It holds up to severe scrutiny. There is no fluff. It is a nearly flawless record from beginning to end. Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2012
    9
    Taken as a whole, this album was consistently better than Teen Dream. The highs weren't quite as high, but the lows weren't as low. I don'tTaken as a whole, this album was consistently better than Teen Dream. The highs weren't quite as high, but the lows weren't as low. I don't understand criticism that their sound hasn't been retooled much, this time around it all sounds much bigger, more involved and deliberate. Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    Many, including myself, wondered how beach house could possibly follow up their 2010 masterpiece Teen Dream. Beach House responded to thisMany, including myself, wondered how beach house could possibly follow up their 2010 masterpiece Teen Dream. Beach House responded to this doubt by creating their largest and most elegant record to date, Bloom, an utter masterpiece. Bloom is one of the finest records created in the 21st century. The tracks are massive in scope, starting out small and quiet, slowly building towards their eventual greatness.

    I will attest to the fact that I generally consider lyrics to be very unimportant as, in my opinion, they are the most superficial aspect of music and are not representative of true musical talent or ability; however, I will fully admit that Bloom has some of the best lyrics and lyrical songwriting that I have heard; Victoria and Alex truly know how to write strong, meaningful songs.

    Victoria's voice on this album is absolutely incredible, she has one of the most beautiful and elegant voices in music; incredible range and a very unique timbre. She may be currently my favourite vocalist.

    I find the entire album to be incredible, however, if I would recommend for new listeners and previous beach house fans to check out Troublemaker, The Hours, Lazuli and Myth as these are the standouts IMO, however, like I said the entire album is incredible

    Already in May i think I have heard the best album of the year, Bloom, an album that is likely to be studied by musicians, critics and music theorists alike and recalled as the best work that of the 2000s/2010s dreampop movement.
    Full Review »