Bloom - Beach House
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. May 14, 2012
    100
    This is an album that is simply, in the most awe-inspired sense of the term, absolutely golden from end to end – a real treasure and an utter delight to experience every time you play it.
  2. Countering the depressive undertow, that form is both a spiritual triumph and the aural equivalent of Jesus and Mary Chain frosting a birthday cake.
  3. May 15, 2012
    91
    With Bloom, they have mastered their sultry formula.
  4. May 14, 2012
    91
    "Bloom" is also what these 10 songs do, each one starting with the sizzle of a lit fuse and at some fine moment exploding like a firework in slow motion.
  5. 90
    Bloom culminates six years and three albums of anticipatory ache with subtlety and meticulous song placement that unfolds if you let it.
  6. May 14, 2012
    90
    In 2006, it seemed like Beach House couldn't outlive Beach House. In 2012, Bloom is the bar to clear.
  7. When a flower blooms, it changes shape and appearance but not its biological essence; similarly, for all its subtle differences, Bloom avoids shedding the bittersweet swells that have become the duo's stock-and-trade.
  8. May 15, 2012
    86
    If Beach House's last record was a teen dream, this is an adult version: Bloom is a matured, ethereal journey.
  9. Jun 1, 2012
    82
    The style of songwriting is remarkably similar to that found on Teen Dream. Yet neither suffers much for it.
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    The band's strongest work yet. Beach House has continually progressed dropping weak points and refining the positive points. It culminates in this masterpiece, "Bloom". It really grabs me emotionally particularly on the second half of the album. This is so much more than pretty melodies and rhythms. The entire album is meticulously crafted. It holds up to severe scrutiny. There is no fluff. It is a nearly flawless record from beginning to end. Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2012
    9
    Taken as a whole, this album was consistently better than Teen Dream. The highs weren't quite as high, but the lows weren't as low. I don't understand criticism that their sound hasn't been retooled much, this time around it all sounds much bigger, more involved and deliberate. Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    Many, including myself, wondered how beach house could possibly follow up their 2010 masterpiece Teen Dream. Beach House responded to this doubt by creating their largest and most elegant record to date, Bloom, an utter masterpiece. Bloom is one of the finest records created in the 21st century. The tracks are massive in scope, starting out small and quiet, slowly building towards their eventual greatness.

    I will attest to the fact that I generally consider lyrics to be very unimportant as, in my opinion, they are the most superficial aspect of music and are not representative of true musical talent or ability; however, I will fully admit that Bloom has some of the best lyrics and lyrical songwriting that I have heard; Victoria and Alex truly know how to write strong, meaningful songs.

    Victoria's voice on this album is absolutely incredible, she has one of the most beautiful and elegant voices in music; incredible range and a very unique timbre. She may be currently my favourite vocalist.

    I find the entire album to be incredible, however, if I would recommend for new listeners and previous beach house fans to check out Troublemaker, The Hours, Lazuli and Myth as these are the standouts IMO, however, like I said the entire album is incredible

    Already in May i think I have heard the best album of the year, Bloom, an album that is likely to be studied by musicians, critics and music theorists alike and recalled as the best work that of the 2000s/2010s dreampop movement.
    Full Review »