Bloom - Beach House
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 139

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    9
    golden from end to end, i never listening Beach House until now, and I'm shocked how good this band is, is very relaxing and simply beautiful songs, now i need checking out 2010 year album
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    Bloom is everything Beach House set out to do. They are labeled a "dream pop" band and dream pop is exactly what they deliver on their fourth studio album. It's not an improvement on their near perfect predecessor Teen Dream, but it comes pretty close. Their sound is unlike anything else and that's what really sets them apart from other bands. All In All, Bloom is a fantastic album that,Bloom is everything Beach House set out to do. They are labeled a "dream pop" band and dream pop is exactly what they deliver on their fourth studio album. It's not an improvement on their near perfect predecessor Teen Dream, but it comes pretty close. Their sound is unlike anything else and that's what really sets them apart from other bands. All In All, Bloom is a fantastic album that, sounds cliche, gets better with each repeated listen. A- Expand
  3. May 19, 2012
    9
    A wonderful, creative album again. Everything is so perfect that almost touches unreal. Just being short of competing the best albums this year which are still Perfume Genius, The Menzingers and Anais Mitchell. Critics whose scores are below 70 should just be ashamed of what they have written. "The Hours" and more-than-8 minutes long "Irene" are the highlights of the album to me.
  4. May 16, 2012
    9
    Taken as a whole, this album was consistently better than Teen Dream. The highs weren't quite as high, but the lows weren't as low. I don't understand criticism that their sound hasn't been retooled much, this time around it all sounds much bigger, more involved and deliberate.
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Beach House’s fourth album is so brilliant in both senses of the words because one lends to the other. Bloom’s sonic landscape is so irresistible, its searing nocturnal melodies pulls the listener in and fill him/her with a sense of awe I can only liken to viewing a monumental visually striking artwork. It is thus brilliant like a gem, which it figuratively is, a flawless textural musicalBeach House’s fourth album is so brilliant in both senses of the words because one lends to the other. Bloom’s sonic landscape is so irresistible, its searing nocturnal melodies pulls the listener in and fill him/her with a sense of awe I can only liken to viewing a monumental visually striking artwork. It is thus brilliant like a gem, which it figuratively is, a flawless textural musical work; and that is the origin of its creative merit, brilliance in the second sense. Bloom is the dark, esoteric twin to Teen Dream’s passionate and sensual persona, both among the greatest Dream Pop albums ever. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    Many, including myself, wondered how beach house could possibly follow up their 2010 masterpiece Teen Dream. Beach House responded to this doubt by creating their largest and most elegant record to date, Bloom, an utter masterpiece. Bloom is one of the finest records created in the 21st century. The tracks are massive in scope, starting out small and quiet, slowly building towards theirMany, including myself, wondered how beach house could possibly follow up their 2010 masterpiece Teen Dream. Beach House responded to this doubt by creating their largest and most elegant record to date, Bloom, an utter masterpiece. Bloom is one of the finest records created in the 21st century. The tracks are massive in scope, starting out small and quiet, slowly building towards their eventual greatness.

    I will attest to the fact that I generally consider lyrics to be very unimportant as, in my opinion, they are the most superficial aspect of music and are not representative of true musical talent or ability; however, I will fully admit that Bloom has some of the best lyrics and lyrical songwriting that I have heard; Victoria and Alex truly know how to write strong, meaningful songs.

    Victoria's voice on this album is absolutely incredible, she has one of the most beautiful and elegant voices in music; incredible range and a very unique timbre. She may be currently my favourite vocalist.

    I find the entire album to be incredible, however, if I would recommend for new listeners and previous beach house fans to check out Troublemaker, The Hours, Lazuli and Myth as these are the standouts IMO, however, like I said the entire album is incredible

    Already in May i think I have heard the best album of the year, Bloom, an album that is likely to be studied by musicians, critics and music theorists alike and recalled as the best work that of the 2000s/2010s dreampop movement.
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    9
    This album is pure gold. Check out Manik Music's full staff review at http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/beach-house-bloom/

    In 2010, Beach House played Merriweather Post Pavilion, opening for Vampire Weekend. Ezra Koenig and his Ivy-League gang were touring in support of Contra, and Beach House had just released their breakthrough record, Teen Dream. It was a bizarre sight, Victoria
    This album is pure gold. Check out Manik Music's full staff review at http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/beach-house-bloom/

    In 2010, Beach House played Merriweather Post Pavilion, opening for Vampire Weekend. Ezra Koenig and his Ivy-League gang were touring in support of Contra, and Beach House had just released their breakthrough record, Teen Dream. It was a bizarre sight, Victoria Legrand hunched over a keyboard with her mess of wavy hair obscuring her face, guitarist Alex Scally sitting in a chair, and a drummer and bassist all huddled together in the middle of the massive stage. It was a venue built for a band like Vampire Weekend, who stood acres apart during their performance, but Beach House looked out of place. And the audience, though they sent out plenty of applause, didnâ
    Expand
  8. May 15, 2012
    10
    The band's strongest work yet. Beach House has continually progressed dropping weak points and refining the positive points. It culminates in this masterpiece, "Bloom". It really grabs me emotionally particularly on the second half of the album. This is so much more than pretty melodies and rhythms. The entire album is meticulously crafted. It holds up to severe scrutiny. There isThe band's strongest work yet. Beach House has continually progressed dropping weak points and refining the positive points. It culminates in this masterpiece, "Bloom". It really grabs me emotionally particularly on the second half of the album. This is so much more than pretty melodies and rhythms. The entire album is meticulously crafted. It holds up to severe scrutiny. There is no fluff. It is a nearly flawless record from beginning to end. Expand
  9. May 15, 2012
    9
    I'd say the song Lazuli is really great. I was already interested in the band to begin with, and this album is bringing them closer to being one of my favorites.
  10. May 17, 2012
    9
    This album is perfect for anything-- sleeping, driving, studying, etc. It is also very timeless and ethereal, so if you enjoy getting lost in the clouds for a bit you'll love it. It's definitely a grower, I wasn't hooked until my sixth or seventh listen. For both of those reasons, it can come off a bit esoteric, but it also creates a unique musical world if you give it a chance. Each songThis album is perfect for anything-- sleeping, driving, studying, etc. It is also very timeless and ethereal, so if you enjoy getting lost in the clouds for a bit you'll love it. It's definitely a grower, I wasn't hooked until my sixth or seventh listen. For both of those reasons, it can come off a bit esoteric, but it also creates a unique musical world if you give it a chance. Each song is intricately layered with synths, guitars, percussion, and more importantly Legrand's voice making the album indefatigable (each song now has more than 20 listens). The lyrics are also shrouded in whimsy, allowing songs to affect you differently with each listen. The only reason I give the album a 9 is that I believe Beach House still hasn't made their best album yet, though this one comes close. Their sound gets increasingly deeper and yet more refined, so I'm excited to see where they go next. Bloom may overwhelm those not ready for an overdose of dream pop, but for those who allow Bloom to work its magic will not be disappointed. Expand
  11. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    Some people will dismiss dream pop as boring, unfun and a perfect alternative for a lullaby, and will use this record as a point to back up their point, but I say ****
  12. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Terrific album!!! Beach House has evolved in terms of sound: songs now have a heavy and real beat (they have a new drummer) instead of programmed beats, the sound is more complex, with more sound effects and the guitar line has more importance, with a clear and loud sound. You can't say is their best work, however. The album's second half decreases, and it doesn't show the same sound powerTerrific album!!! Beach House has evolved in terms of sound: songs now have a heavy and real beat (they have a new drummer) instead of programmed beats, the sound is more complex, with more sound effects and the guitar line has more importance, with a clear and loud sound. You can't say is their best work, however. The album's second half decreases, and it doesn't show the same sound power as the first half. Nevertheless, it's a great album and it deserves a position in Top Best Albums of 2012 Expand
  13. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Absolutely fantastic. Contrary to common criticism, this album is quite distinct from its beautiful predecessor. Of course, the Beach House "sound" is in full force on "Bloom". As always, LeGrand's haunting voice and full-bodied keyboards interact beautifully with Scally's floating, perfectly placed guitar lines. In my opinion, this trademark sound alone would be enough to make the albumAbsolutely fantastic. Contrary to common criticism, this album is quite distinct from its beautiful predecessor. Of course, the Beach House "sound" is in full force on "Bloom". As always, LeGrand's haunting voice and full-bodied keyboards interact beautifully with Scally's floating, perfectly placed guitar lines. In my opinion, this trademark sound alone would be enough to make the album satisfying -- but "Bloom" offers much more. It boasts an intensity that cannot be matched by any of the band's previous efforts, and results in some of its most captivating songs to date. One would be hard-pressed to find anything quite as powerful as the driving chords on "The Hours" or as mesmerizing as the repetitive "Irene" anywhere else in the Beach House catalog. The climactic bridges on songs like "Myth" and "Wishes" are simply euphoric. Misguided critics should stop trying to determine when Beach House will alter their sound, and pay attention to how the band has used this sound as a platform for one of the most exciting albums of 2012 so far. Expand
  14. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    !BLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOoM!
  15. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    "Bloom" has everything I loved about "Teen Dream" only it also includes real instrumentation and a bottom to the bassline. The problem I had with "Teen Dream" was that it had no "Umph!" Every drum part sounded straight out of a Casio. Maybe that was part of it's charm but for me, "Bloom" is a much more tangible album with a bit more bang for your buck.
  16. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    Absolutely their best album. Nicely addictive and flowing. I cant come up with a negative thing to say about it. A perfect 10 in my book. I already see this album being the soundtrack to my summer.
  17. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    After finishing Beach House's 2010 record "Teen Dream" I wondered what would come next. How could they make another album that lived up to the greatness "Teen Dream" had? To me, there was simply no way anyone, let alone Beach House could make another record that was as excellent as Teen Dream. However, after hearing "Myth", the first single from "Bloom", my concerns sufficed. Bloom isAfter finishing Beach House's 2010 record "Teen Dream" I wondered what would come next. How could they make another album that lived up to the greatness "Teen Dream" had? To me, there was simply no way anyone, let alone Beach House could make another record that was as excellent as Teen Dream. However, after hearing "Myth", the first single from "Bloom", my concerns sufficed. Bloom is spectacular. It is astonishingly good. It's powerful and deep and euphoric and complex and absolutely gorgeous. It has such a BIG sound that is unparalleled. It is Beach House finally in full bloom. If Teen Dream was the bud, Bloom is the flower. Anyways, while it's excellent as a whole, there are a few songs that stand out. "Myth" is a near perfect opening track. It builds and builds and then explodes into the chorus while maintaining that luscious beat. "Troublemaker" starts small and modest, but quickly expands into one of the most euphoric tracks I've heard. However, "Troublemaker" and "Myth" pale in comparison to "On the Sea". On the Sea is hands down the best song I have ever listened to in my entire life. Nothing can compare. Words cannot begin to describe how this song makes me feel. It's a perfect track. 5:32 of pure bliss. If you don't own this album, get it. It's a timeless piece of music and its treasures are something to marvel at. Expand
  18. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Beach Houses's Bloom is beautiful, and emotionally gripping. It's an album full of lush, layered dream pop anthems and harmonies. Each and every track packs it's own punch. Bloom is like watching a film, with no picture, you'll want to sit all the way through it, and building up to the album's finale, "Irene", you've sat through the best record of 2012. It's the band's finest. boldest andBeach Houses's Bloom is beautiful, and emotionally gripping. It's an album full of lush, layered dream pop anthems and harmonies. Each and every track packs it's own punch. Bloom is like watching a film, with no picture, you'll want to sit all the way through it, and building up to the album's finale, "Irene", you've sat through the best record of 2012. It's the band's finest. boldest and strongest work to date. Beach House has yet again, topped it's predecessor. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Melodies, hooks, and choruses evince Beach House's candy core, but the nonexistent separation of sound makes the Blooming disc sound as if it's filtered through a dryer vent.
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    It is a lot like Teen dream, but novelty is hardly the point: if Beach House are your type, then Bloom is unlikely to see the attraction wither. [Jun 2012, p.93]
  3. Jul 2, 2012
    60
    Bloom has continued making Beach House a Thing in indie music, a band that has a feasible future, that won't be just forgotten and left by the wayside. It's nothing to get excited about.