Blown Away

  • Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: May 1, 2012
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 11 out of 71
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2016
    0
    My brain cells are "blown away" from my head after prolonged listenings of this music selection. I follow the hawk, Carrie is a good Christian girl that advocates murdering someone that did you wrong. But that's okay, because she is not a rapper.
  2. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Sorry, Carrie Underwood trying to have a dark side? Laughable. And trying to cross over into Pop? Gotta say, just a little too much twang in there to be believable. She has a nice voice, sort of like a Barbara Mandrell, but not as entertaining - very bland.
  3. Sep 16, 2012
    2
    Just bought this album and was disappointed. I think she took 2 steps back from her previous works. I bought it because I liked her first single, Good Girl, but the rest of the songs just did not do anything at all for me. Just very bland and she doesn't seem to have evolved at all. Oh well, maybe next CD.
  4. Sep 22, 2017
    0
    Carrie Underwood, and all of the American Idol contestants, are a deterrent for music in the 21st century. Even worse, she promotes murdering an unfaithful partner as if it's a moral thing to do. All while acting like a good Christian girl. What's even more worse is that conservative Republicans (her core music fan base) look the other way and instead focus on those "thug" rappers. It'sCarrie Underwood, and all of the American Idol contestants, are a deterrent for music in the 21st century. Even worse, she promotes murdering an unfaithful partner as if it's a moral thing to do. All while acting like a good Christian girl. What's even more worse is that conservative Republicans (her core music fan base) look the other way and instead focus on those "thug" rappers. It's unfair that African Americans are held to more scrutiny, especially if they avoid singing about gang warfare. It's shown by people ignoring good R&B singers (not just Beyoncé) and propping up mediocre country/pop singers, especially the ones that come from American Idol. Hopefully, America can wise up over this. Expand
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    70
    Everything else [besides "Good in Goodbye" and "One Way Ticket"] is worth hearing, learning, and trying to love.
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    However predictable the package, there's fun to be had in these tales of bad dads, cheating husbands and cold, cold hearts, and Underwood delivers them with sweet purposefulness.
  3. May 10, 2012
    80
    This is easily Carrie's most well-rounded and confident work to date.