Blue Record

  • Record Label: Relapse
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CarterH
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Awesome album. Not the biggest metal fan out there, I merely dabble. This album, however, remained in my car player for the better part of (coming on) two months. At points I feel like I'm listening to a Pink Floyd song, moments later I remember "Thats right! Sludge metal, not classic rock!"
  2. GabrielC
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Masterpiece!
  3. JessD
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Beautiful, epic release from start to finish and start again.
  4. MichaelG
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    One of the year's best!
  5. DustinC
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    in so many words, this is Mastodon lite. Which is still pretty freaking fantastic.
  6. JMC
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    A more contemplative record than their first, but rewarding in the long run, if not immediately in places. The interludes are forgettable, but help the overall feeling of cohesion that many felt "Red Album" lacked. Definitely a step forward for the band. Highly Recommended.
  7. JhonatanY
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down.
  8. AlexH
    Oct 19, 2009
    8
    A solid effort. An absolutely enjoyable adventure from start to finish.
  9. AndyB
    Oct 21, 2009
    8
    This is a solid album from start to finish. Swollen and Halo immediately resonates with the imagination, and Jake Leg is a creative punch to the face a la Melvins. This is a remarkable band.
  10. RyanM
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    I can't stop listening to this and Red Album. Always together, a lot of the same, but it's GOOD same. I can never listen to one album without instantly wanting to listen to the other because I crave more of their music.
  11. Scrizz
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    I don't normally vote on this site but this album deserves high praise. I was in need of an album with some punch and this album has it.
  12. MikeC
    Dec 4, 2009
    6
    Poor song-writing damages what could have a been a fine album.
  13. SteveM
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Great album. I'm wondering why Metacritic won't pick up one more review of it so it will qualify for the Best Of 2009 list? They've been sitting at 6 reviews for awhile, and there are other reviews out there that could be referenced.
  14. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    My favourite Baroness album. Defiantly give it a listen if you enjoy metal of any sorts. Every single song is amazing, I wish more artists could pump out content like this.
  15. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This album is unbelievable. I am not a big metal fan at all, I typically dislike the hardcore vocals of most bands; however, Baroness has managed to make their vocals fit in perfectly with their music along with the beautifully composed music. Listening through the album in its proper order and progression also adds to the epic nature of the album. It is one of my favorite albums ever.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Alternative Press
    90
    Blue Record truly depicts a band at the peak of their powers. [Nov 2009, p.106]
  2. I wouldn’t be surprised if there’s an overarching concept. It doesn’t matter one way or another. It’s a gallop from start to finish. Blue Record is going to be hard to top.
  3. Here, as on Red Album, they keep finding new ways to make old Black Sabbath tricks seem fresh.