Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    60
    Ultimately I have two complaints about Blue Slide Park which in the grand scheme of things may be minor.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    There was opportunity on Blue Slide Park to genuinely capture some real elements of youth, and the album doesn't capitalize on the opportunity.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    50
    His obligatory jet-setter brags about high-dollar shopping sprees and b-words he's f-worded strain for credibility, not fooling anybody.
  4. May 22, 2012
    40
    Blue Slide Park ends up a charm-bereft everyman hip hop record merely ticking boxes required to shift units.
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    40
    He mostly raps on point and with confidence. But the actual words coming out of his mouth sound like they were brainstormed by a bunch of kids idling in an eighth-grade English class.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    I'm giving this a 3 purely for the solid production. Mac Miller is honestly one of the worst rappers i've heard in my life. Please name me oneI'm giving this a 3 purely for the solid production. Mac Miller is honestly one of the worst rappers i've heard in my life. Please name me one track that he has where he says anything that is slightly substantive. Its okay to make "fun" rap songs but this album is just downright terrible. The only people i can see liking this are loyal fans of his. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Nice debut from a 19 year old. I'm glad that it debut at number 1 and the second independent album to do so. Good solid production and niceNice debut from a 19 year old. I'm glad that it debut at number 1 and the second independent album to do so. Good solid production and nice lyrics. Can he do better on his second album? Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    awesome debut album! all you be hating! I love Under the Weather, Diamonds and Gold, Blue Slide Park, PA Nights, Frick Park Market, Smile Backawesome debut album! all you be hating! I love Under the Weather, Diamonds and Gold, Blue Slide Park, PA Nights, Frick Park Market, Smile Back and Missed Calls the most. Full Review »