Blue Slide Park Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length album for the Pittsburgh rapper follows the release of his 2010 mixtap K.I.D.S.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    Miller's big challenge is that he follows in a long line of suburban college rappers who have thrown up whack mixtapes like they were yesterday's punch bowl, but this memorable debut steps right around that mess and suggests that the kids are not just all right, but all the way live.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    You know that breathless feeling you had when you ran from the cops after they broke up a house party? This album is that feeling in musical form.
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    75
    Miller exhausts his narrow subject matter pretty thoroughly over Blue Slide Park, but his life is so joyously carefree that it's hard to blame him for wanting to bask in it.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    There was opportunity on Blue Slide Park to genuinely capture some real elements of youth, and the album doesn't capitalize on the opportunity.
  5. Jan 3, 2012
    60
    Ultimately I have two complaints about Blue Slide Park which in the grand scheme of things may be minor.
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    50
    His obligatory jet-setter brags about high-dollar shopping sprees and b-words he's f-worded strain for credibility, not fooling anybody.
  7. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    His art is 144,487 times less remarkable than his first week sales numbers would have you believe.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    awesome debut album! all you be hating! I love Under the Weather, Diamonds and Gold, Blue Slide Park, PA Nights, Frick Park Market, Smile Backawesome debut album! all you be hating! I love Under the Weather, Diamonds and Gold, Blue Slide Park, PA Nights, Frick Park Market, Smile Back and Missed Calls the most. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Such a mint album, Mac really just likes doing what he wants, hes the king, really enjoyed his album. Yeah lyrics not as good, but for a 19Such a mint album, Mac really just likes doing what he wants, hes the king, really enjoyed his album. Yeah lyrics not as good, but for a 19 year old thats pretty dope Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Nice debut from a 19 year old. I'm glad that it debut at number 1 and the second independent album to do so. Good solid production and niceNice debut from a 19 year old. I'm glad that it debut at number 1 and the second independent album to do so. Good solid production and nice lyrics. Can he do better on his second album? Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2011
    7
    Bravo, on the debut album. I've been a fan for about three months and this guy has rocked my iPhone. He mostly has fun, but if he puts moreBravo, on the debut album. I've been a fan for about three months and this guy has rocked my iPhone. He mostly has fun, but if he puts more feeling in upcoming tracks he would be legendary. Collapse
  5. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    His flow and beats are good as they were in the past, but this album as with lots of artists like Wiz Khalifa or Big Sean, is very shallow andHis flow and beats are good as they were in the past, but this album as with lots of artists like Wiz Khalifa or Big Sean, is very shallow and present no serious points. I miss albums that have a purpose and a certain message. It seems like all he cares about are weed and partying, which aren't all the most important things in life. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2015
    7
    His flow and beats are good as they were in the past, but this album; as with lots of of artists like Wiz Khalifa or Big Sean, is very shallowHis flow and beats are good as they were in the past, but this album; as with lots of of artists like Wiz Khalifa or Big Sean, is very shallow and presents no serious points. I miss albums that have a purpose and a certain message. It seems like all he cares about are weed and partying, which aren't at all the most important things in life. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    K.I.D.S and Watching Movies with the Sound Off is much better than Blue Slide Park. Props to the production though, it is really good. As aK.I.D.S and Watching Movies with the Sound Off is much better than Blue Slide Park. Props to the production though, it is really good. As a MC, he isn't really that special. Mac sounds like he isn't finding his style here until he released Watching Movies. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews