Blue Slide Park - Mac Miller
Blue Slide Park Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length album for the Pittsburgh rapper follows the release of his 2010 mixtap K.I.D.S.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    Miller's big challenge is that he follows in a long line of suburban college rappers who have thrown up whack mixtapes like they were yesterday's punch bowl, but this memorable debut steps right around that mess and suggests that the kids are not just all right, but all the way live.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    You know that breathless feeling you had when you ran from the cops after they broke up a house party? This album is that feeling in musical form.
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    75
    Miller exhausts his narrow subject matter pretty thoroughly over Blue Slide Park, but his life is so joyously carefree that it's hard to blame him for wanting to bask in it.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    60
    There was opportunity on Blue Slide Park to genuinely capture some real elements of youth, and the album doesn't capitalize on the opportunity.
  5. Jan 3, 2012
    60
    Ultimately I have two complaints about Blue Slide Park which in the grand scheme of things may be minor.
  6. Dec 13, 2011
    50
    His obligatory jet-setter brags about high-dollar shopping sprees and b-words he's f-worded strain for credibility, not fooling anybody.
  7. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    His art is 144,487 times less remarkable than his first week sales numbers would have you believe.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    Such a mint album, Mac really just likes doing what he wants, hes the king, really enjoyed his album. Yeah lyrics not as good, but for a 19Such a mint album, Mac really just likes doing what he wants, hes the king, really enjoyed his album. Yeah lyrics not as good, but for a 19 year old thats pretty dope Collapse
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    awesome debut album! all you be hating! I love Under the Weather, Diamonds and Gold, Blue Slide Park, PA Nights, Frick Park Market, Smile Backawesome debut album! all you be hating! I love Under the Weather, Diamonds and Gold, Blue Slide Park, PA Nights, Frick Park Market, Smile Back and Missed Calls the most. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    I'm giving this an 8. Mac Miller has a unique style. There are a few songs that I'm not too crazy about but the album itself is an overallI'm giving this an 8. Mac Miller has a unique style. There are a few songs that I'm not too crazy about but the album itself is an overall success. Mac Miller topped the debut charts at number one! Anything below a 7 is just being one sided. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Nice debut from a 19 year old. I'm glad that it debut at number 1 and the second independent album to do so. Good solid production and niceNice debut from a 19 year old. I'm glad that it debut at number 1 and the second independent album to do so. Good solid production and nice lyrics. Can he do better on his second album? Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2011
    7
    Bravo, on the debut album. I've been a fan for about three months and this guy has rocked my iPhone. He mostly has fun, but if he puts moreBravo, on the debut album. I've been a fan for about three months and this guy has rocked my iPhone. He mostly has fun, but if he puts more feeling in upcoming tracks he would be legendary. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2014
    6
    Mac Miller is all about being a fun-loving kid and giving off that impression, and with such a debut as "Blue Slide Park," you truly wouldMac Miller is all about being a fun-loving kid and giving off that impression, and with such a debut as "Blue Slide Park," you truly would hope he keeps that image going. Good news: he does. Bad news: he doesn't do anything else. Sure, his flow is smooth and soft, yet encapsulating over the right production, but there lies the problem; the right production. It almost feels that, throughout the album, he's missing opportunities left and right to bring back that kiddish feeling of doing things you weren't supposed to, but instead, he's skating all over the cliche lines, all of which we've heard many times before in many other more intriguing ways. This album isn't without its moments of happiness, though. "Party On Fifth Ave." is the one hit off the record that not only recalls hip-hop of old (it samples DJ Kool's "Let Me Clear My Throat"), but injects a new, fresh head-nod of a track. Oddly enough, although it has difficulties capturing manic adolescence, the 30-second instrumental "Hole in The Pocket" really hit me hard, for as I listened to it, I reminisced back into my childhood days of playing outside with friends, and wishing I had it all back. For that sole reason, I thank Mac. Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    K.I.D.S and Watching Movies with the Sound Off is much better than Blue Slide Park. Props to the production though, it is really good. As aK.I.D.S and Watching Movies with the Sound Off is much better than Blue Slide Park. Props to the production though, it is really good. As a MC, he isn't really that special. Mac sounds like he isn't finding his style here until he released Watching Movies. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews