Blunderbuss

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2012
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 162
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    5
    This album was quite disappointing. I know that this album was something other then what he did in The White Stripes, The Raconteurs, and The Dead Weather, but the thing is that it's just not Jack. It seems like he's trying too hard to e something different. There are some songs that are really good like "Love Interruption", "Missing Pieces", and "Sixteen Saltines", but the rest are allThis album was quite disappointing. I know that this album was something other then what he did in The White Stripes, The Raconteurs, and The Dead Weather, but the thing is that it's just not Jack. It seems like he's trying too hard to e something different. There are some songs that are really good like "Love Interruption", "Missing Pieces", and "Sixteen Saltines", but the rest are all kind of stale to me. He wants to be this old style blues musician so badly that his desperation is showing. Like I said the lyrics are good, but with his guitar skills and the subject matter you would think this album would be heavier and a slap to the face of all the White Stripe albums out there. I like the fact he wanted to try something different but he's out of his comfort zone on this one, hopefully he goes back to make something a little more heavier. Expand
  2. May 25, 2012
    6
    I was very excited when the first single for this album was unveiled and it made me look forward to this album a great deal. After hearing this album a few times, I can say that I am somewhat disappointed with the end result. While the first half of Blunderbuss is a great listen, I feel that the songs on the second half of the album aren't as memorable. I was also disappointed in thisI was very excited when the first single for this album was unveiled and it made me look forward to this album a great deal. After hearing this album a few times, I can say that I am somewhat disappointed with the end result. While the first half of Blunderbuss is a great listen, I feel that the songs on the second half of the album aren't as memorable. I was also disappointed in this album's running time as it doesn't even clock in at 40 minutes. Not a bad record, and fans of Jack White's work should give it a listen, but it's hard not to call this album out on playing it safe. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    While the songs are all decent, the album is the least creative i've seen from Jack yet. The album is the kind that can be played in order which some may enjoy but I find repulsive. It is however nice to hear bits of white stripes in there and I have found several of the songs stuck in my head for hours. However, this does not make an album.
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this album. It's Jack White finally writing songs again that speak to something, but their arrangements are so goofy at times it makes you wonder if Jack should have someone helping guide his songs. There are a couple songs that capture an energy and feeling of musical vitality, but much of the album is dull. It's clearly not meant to do anything The WhiteI really wanted to like this album. It's Jack White finally writing songs again that speak to something, but their arrangements are so goofy at times it makes you wonder if Jack should have someone helping guide his songs. There are a couple songs that capture an energy and feeling of musical vitality, but much of the album is dull. It's clearly not meant to do anything The White Stripes did, which is too bad, but this "strange Jack" doesn't quite carry the influence he could have here. Jack seems to want to make a blues or country blues album, but in some ways can't commit to that; which is a shame, because he should just do that. Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Don't get me wrong, I love my Jacky boy and there are a few solid tracks, but the album seems more like a never ending divorce ballad. I guess I just want to see Jacky happy...and to see The White Stripes together again.
  6. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    I don't understand Jack White. I don't see why he's such a legend in rock. I'm not saying this album is bad, but it's just hard to listen to the same simple guitar leads and lyrics. Every once in a while Jack produces a gem, but most of the tracks aren't memorable or fun to listen to. It's just average, in my opinion. Favorite track: Freedom at 21
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Magnet
    Jun 19, 2012
    70
    Is White's nonchalant spectrum dabbling [found throughout the album] as interesting as the myriad variables of his own quirky sound? Eh, not quite. [No.88 p.60]
  2. White's nominal solo debut is as striking sonically as any album he's ever authorized.
  3. May 10, 2012
    78
    He's written better songs and told better stories, but Blunderbuss lends rare perspective on a man who generally lets image speak for him.