Blurred Lines - Robin Thicke
Blurred Lines Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length release for the R&B singer features guest appearances form 2 Chainz, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, and T.I.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    83
    As a whole, Blurred Lines is an album full of summer jams that deserve to linger long after the temperature drops.
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    Mixed with poppy tracks like "Top of the World," "Pressure" and Michael Jackson meets Hall and Oates ditty "Ain't No Hat 4 That," it's evident that Thicke has created his most fun and mainstream-friendly project yet.
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    The album finds the 36-year old singer trying to take advantage of his newfound spotlight by striving to become the full-fledged pop star he's never quite been.
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    60
    Complete with “hey hey heys” and a cowbell that ensures that even the most resistant listeners will notice the beat, Blurred Lines is music you dance to. The lyrics are the source of most of the trouble.
  5. Sep 18, 2013
    50
    What’s striking is how unambitious most of the rest of the album is, especially the half that’s produced by Mr. Thicke with his longtime production partner Pro-Jay.
  6. Jul 29, 2013
    50
    It’s an album that discourages sitting still. Too bad the icky lyrics ruin the mood.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Better than Timberlake for sure, but not his best, he gets credit for trying something new and for the most part the songs are good, theres a few songs that should've been left behind but overall as usual it's a good album especially for the summer. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    The album title song Blurred Lines is just one of those unusually catchy songs you didn't think you'd like. My ears pricked up the first time I heard this song and I have been dancing to it ever since. It's fun, addicting and naughty. What's not to love? Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    This is not by far his best album but it is quite good and enjoyable. Despite having its up and downs, forget "Give it 2 U" is on the tracklist and you will find out it is a great record. Give some credit to Robin for trying out something different. Blurred Lines will take you to the "R&B" vibe's path, if you're expecting this to sound like his previous work, you shouldn't even bother to listen to Blurred Lines. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    6
    Before I start this, I wanna brush off the title track right away, since that's beating a dead horse & I'm more interested in reviewing the rest of the album. I'll just say that in the context of the album of the same name it's not among the best tracks but it's not really a low point either. For the record even though I'm aware of his decade-long respectably successful career as an R&B crooner, this is my full-album introduction to the guy. In terms of overall quality, Blurred Lines really tends to fluctuate from track to track. One minute you've got a fun swagger-filled disco/funk tune like “Get in My Way”, then it's followed up with a piece of modern-day club vomit like “Give It 2 U” (which I really hope bombs as the 2nd single). To me, Robin Thicke is best when surrounded by organic instrumentation, writing lyrics that have some tangible level of depth, and taking full advantage of his soulful voice, particularly getting into his falsetto range.

    A perfect example of this working combination is “Ain't No Hat 4 That”, which shows some extremely catchy melodies complete with a soul-flavored horn section, while also sneaking in a message about materialism that's fun to sing along with in the chorus. Of course he can also pull off a solid light pop song like “Ooo La La”, but it's nice to know not every song in this style here is entirely like that. The last 3 tracks on the standard edition are when things start to get especially interesting in the lyrics department, those being the cheesy but sincerely sweet ballad “4 the Rest of My Life”, the interesting storytelling social commentary in “Top of the World” with a rap-like delivery is parts of the verses that somehow works, and “The Good Life”, which talks about being grateful for his past merely modest success with a steady 3/4 groove & singalong chorus that almost sounds like something out of a musical.

    But again, there are definitely some duds & tracks that make you forget what you liked about the rest of the album in the first place. There's the aforementioned “Give It 2 U”, with whining synths & painfully cliché hack pickup line guide lyrics, made worse by an embarrassingly disappointing guest verse from Kendrick Lamar. Same goes for “Take It Easy On Me”, except here at multiple points Robin also does a laughably bad Timbaland impression & says the line “I want to shop for your underwear”. And the acoustic guitar-driven (why?) “Go Stupid 4 U” is the creepiest, perviest song on the whole album, which is saying something. Rounding out the track list, “Feel Good” and the 2 bonus tracks are okay but nothing all that notable. Overall, I'm not really sure how high or low my expectations were going into Blurred Lines, but I have a feeling they were met for the most part. It's a decent pop album that's not without its awful moments, but is worth checking out for its handful of good ones.

    Top 5 tracks: Ain't No Hat 4 That, Get in My Way, Top of the World, The Good Life, 4 the Rest of My Life
    Score: 62/100
    Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2013
    5
    Although Robin Thicke's tunes (most notably the title track) are very catchy and you'll end up buying them, you'll still be remembered of the modern pop that his music is. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2013
    5
    Going in expecting something like Blurred Lines will no doubt render you disapproving of this album. I'm a longterm fan and also don't like it, so it really isn't pleasing anyone. It seems like a Justin Timberlake impersonation that bombs. I can admire that he's changing a few things up, and his personal tracks are alright, but this one is a pass compared to previous efforts. 4.8/10 Expand
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    No!!! This album is a disgrace to the music industry! Sad that this even comes under music! Robin, your career is over!! Don't even try to release more music please Expand

See all 20 User Reviews