• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Aug 27, 2013
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 1 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Flawless pop album, less generic than most of pop music nowadays, it's obvious that George Reid's production is brilliant. Diver, Your Drums Your Love and Kaleidoscope Love are highlights.
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Body Music is undoubtely one of the strongest debuts of 2013. Amazing productions and great lyrics, this album can be listened to a lot of times. Aluna's voice is bittersweet and George productions are unique as they are cathchy.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Great album. Some awesome beats mixed with Aluna's sweet voice, that just work together. Album may lack a bit of a "punch" in a sense of shaking the scene, but is otherwise a very polished pop album.
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    5
    Not what i was expecting. Very excited about this album, i loved the brilliant singles(You know you like it, you drums your love and attracting flies) but sadly the energy of alunageorge is lost in the album. It seems the singles were chosen because they were the best songs, as the rest does not grab me and comes across as average filler. Could have been much better, shame.
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    It is like an Rihanna album. There is no denying that some tracks are flawless. However it also got fillers. Especially the intro of Lost and Found is a shocker.
  6. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    Probably the best album I've heard in a long time. The mixture of textures, genres and vocals is almost immaculate in its conception. This album is worth and listen and even more so a purchase.
  7. Apr 16, 2014
    7
    While the first five or six tracks are more than good, the rest of the album as a whole functions just well, but it's still a lack of continuity or entertainment. At some point, I felt like some way all the songs were the same. Despite all this, I enjoyed the work and I think this is a great duo that make things really accurately.
  8. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    Yes, you've got something new here, it's fresh and very catchy. But in some point every track sounds the same way. However, it's listenable. Highlights: You Know You Like It
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    It’s well done, fun to listen to, and a damn sight better than 90% of other pop music right now, yet you couldn’t really describe it as essential.
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    70
    While Aluna Francis sings tart kiss-offs to foolish exes, producer George Reid keeps the digital activity as stylish and minimalist as a Helmut Lang showroom.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    At 14 tracks (19 on the deluxe), Body Music feels overlong for a debut, but she’s melodic enough to captivate even when Reid’s hissing minimalism and spastic beats start to feel warmed over.